AEGON Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok company
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXAugust 8, 2017
I worked at Aegon full-time (More than 3 years)
Pros
You will be recognized for your work and efforts
Cons
in 1 year they laid off their employees 5 times,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice company
Annuities Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLMay 18, 2017
I really enjoyed working at Aegon, and I am actually applying to work there again. They have good pay, great benefits and a positive work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly qualified employees
Vice President, Financial Institutions (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAApril 23, 2017
Great group of people. Lots of reorganization underway. restructuring could last a few more years with changes in the future. Good company for benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Global Exposure
Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 11, 2017
AEGON has multiple locations throughout the US and across the globe. So it's very normal to work with team members in Plano, TX, UK, and the Netherlands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager Operations
Operations Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAOctober 24, 2016
I managed 40 to 50 people in two separate departments. This involved working on performance, procedures, budget, schedules and management meetings.

Due to financial restraints multiple managers were layed off in the spring 2009.
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Cons
Large corporation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Intermediate Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAApril 19, 2016
Great place to work. You get to learn a lot about investments and how money works. Can easily balance work and personal life.
Pros
Great benefits and pay. Great work-life balance
Cons
Can be siloed and if you are in a position that does not require a financial background, there is a steep learning curve
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company Regional office
Financial Reporting - Health Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 18, 2016
Learned a lot about insurance accounting. Given lots of opportunties to grow my career. I started as a accountant, promoted to manager and sernior manager.
Pros
Enjoyed working at UNUM
Cons
Office closed and moved to Portland. ME
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging
Agency Manager (Current Employee) –  Covina and 4 monre branchesDecember 28, 2015
performance based training on daily basis.
product training
field training.
recruiting, selection, training, and performance management.

my core competency is training. this is my passion.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
24/7 availability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed the years I worked for them.
Lead Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAOctober 23, 2015
answering phones, data entry, customer call backs, working close with other department to resolve issues. Hardest part was the amount of calls some days but over all it was a great job
Pros
support of management
Cons
amount of calls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Experience - My Fave Boss!
Case Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAApril 20, 2015
I learned a lot from this job. I had scads of opportunities to learn from the best and brightest in the insurance biz about what makes the business work, as well as picking up some good investment strategies and tips for a successful sales career.
Pros
Free Gym, benefits, great management team, pizza parties!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my time there
Financial Systems Accounting Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 11, 2015
The culture and atmosphere at Aegon was awesome when I worked there. A good mix of younger people and older management that created a fun place to work. Although I have heard things aren't quite as rosy since I left.
Pros
Benefits, culture
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aegon
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 19, 2014
Typical Day at Work:
- discuss investment opportunities with supervisor
- discuss clients I have talked to about their financial background
- discuss future clients
- discuss strategies on how to approach clients

What I learned:
- investment opportunities
- dealing with clients
- communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Creative
IT SENIOR PROGRAM ANALYST / TEAM LEAD (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 22, 2014
Limited controls on processes, but this allowed for creative solutions. Management was supportive and liked ownership.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Limited Mobility within Division
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  plano texasMay 29, 2013
I loved this place while I was there, Great building, cafeteria, game room(PING PONG TABLE!!) and we got to drink beer on company approved lunches at work!! I hate I left.
Pros
Building, company lunches, game room
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CAD Technician (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAMay 28, 2013
I have very few complaints about this company. They care about the employees. Pay was good. Co-workers were very personable. I wish I had never left. I'll always regret it!
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self made manager, and salesperson with training
Pre-Licensing & Insurance, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAMay 15, 2013
Very much enjoyed meeting people of all walks and careers, from high end to low. Fun and friendly, advancing quite fast.
Pros
High chance of advancement in management
Cons
commission based business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
LICENSED LIFE AND HEALTH INSUARNACE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAMarch 11, 2013
Sales oriented

Customer Service

Great enviroment

co workers were friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Benefit Representative-40 hrs week (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAMarch 8, 2013
I was a CSR in new business w/Transamerica and even though I was fired for attendance issues which were personal I still say AEGON was great. They have good compensation and benefits with healthy raises. Their culture and values are positive and management is good. They promote many programs for a healthy work/life balance.
Pros
compensation and culture/values
Cons
it's so big-easy to get lost in the crowd
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sarbanes Oxley implementation success
Transamerica Worksite Marketing (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARFebruary 5, 2013
Compliancew review of business processes (accounting routines) to ensure all controls were in place. Ensure each quarter/year end the proper reporting certifications were completed and published. Worked with managers to eliminate any financial weaknesses and put proper controls in place.

Great management team that worked hard to ensure all Compliance issues were settled for success of the business.
Pros
great team of workers and managers that understood compliance and helped make it a success.
Cons
there were no cons, great team and company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you like working 75 hours per week
Technology Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAJanuary 19, 2013
Long hours, little managment support, no corporate culture, not very well organized
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
horrible hours and managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AEGON. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 93 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7