Aerojet Rocketdyne Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
QUALITY ENGINEER III (Former Employee) –  Stennis Space Center, MSFebruary 6, 2018
All the people at Stennis Space Center are Great to work with and have so many good times with them an have a lot of good friends and wanting to get back to work to mentor and teach the young ones.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a great place to work
Lane Assembler (Former Employee) –  East Camden, ARFebruary 6, 2018
I loved Areojet reason is they treated their workers with respect and showed dignity. I would still be working there if i did not have to relocate.great place.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary positions
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  New MexicoFebruary 6, 2018
It was a very enjoyable job i liked it personally. Has its downs though its really demanding, and work seems to pile on you a lack of employees. I would say the pay is great for a small town.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer
Component Product Engineer (Project Engineer) (Former Employee) –  Canoga Park, CAFebruary 5, 2018
Aerojet tends to hire lots a of contractors rather than direct hires which makes it difficult to determine if you will get hired full-time. The people at the company are great. I had a great time while working there.
Cons
Need more direct hiring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud as a Space Shuttle team member
Material Specialist (Former Employee) –  Canoga Park, CAJanuary 24, 2018
It was a good place to work. It had good job security until the Space Shuttle program had ended in 2011. Company did not have enough other programs to retain the lay off Space Shuttle program employees. Great to meet and hear US astronauts' Space Shuttle mission presentations and felt pride and connection to the only Manned Flight space program.
Pros
Proud as a Space Shuttle team member
Cons
Did not have enough programs to retain Space Shuttle team member employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immense technical wealth
Associate Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Canoga Park, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Aerojet Rocketdyne is a company with some really incredible people who have been around aerospace for a very long time and have a huge amount of advanced, specialized knowledge.
Pros
Great experience, great day-to-day
Cons
Ponderous, miserly upper management system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly, supportive people.
Senior Facilities Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Fast paced work environment with friendly, professional, knowledgeable staffs. Every project is unique which makes the job more interesting and challenging but could be difficult at times.
Pros
9/80 work schedule meaning 3-day weekend every other week.
Cons
Sacramento headquarter is closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aerojet was an excellent place to work for the experience and the knowledge gaine
Manager of Pricing & Estimating (Former Employee) –  Azusa, CAJanuary 10, 2018
I was a supervisor but also worked on the major, complex proposals. I converted the pricing from the mainframe to ProPricer which improved the submitted product, reduced the labor expended on the proposals and shortened the time to submit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management.
WA Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAJanuary 9, 2018
My manager literally said he wanted to go get icecream instead of doing my annual review. Who does that? I didnt stay here long after that. i would not recommend this. everyone is close and if your not apart of their "clique" your not really talked to or involved in anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downward spiral
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Stennis Space Center, MSJanuary 1, 2018
Most of the people there have been there they’re whole career and don’t know anything else. The schedule (4x10’s) is nice but the management is whistling past the graveyard, they’re about to be overtaken by blue origin or spacex and don’t know how to course correct. They don’t pay most of the people well so all the profits must be going straight to California because they aren’t in Mississippi. They cut benefits often so be sure you now what you’re getting into. The management is a mixed bag, most of the competent ones don’t have any idea about current technology trends and that’s why they’re falling behind. They have an inflated view of their EHS program thinking that VPP means a whole lot. Stay away.
Pros
4 day work schedule
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CADecember 27, 2017
Loved working here. Working on cutting edge technology at the world leaders in liquid rocket propulsion. The wealth of knowledge from employees working there for 30+ years was immense. Intimidating at first, but all my superiors were extremely helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging.
Senior Facilities Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 22, 2017
Challenging projects, great co-workers, fair practices, competitive salary, reasonable benefits. I would like to stay for as long as I can but the company is relocating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always drama.
Assembler II (Former Employee) –  Camden, ARDecember 20, 2017
Always worked hard and fast to be out of work for a couple of weeks. Someone was always complaining about the hours. Very untrusting environment and co-worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning environment fun coworkers
Factory Assembler (Former Employee) –  East Camden, ARDecember 8, 2017
I made friends learned alot and had fun. reccomend this job to anyone check them out keep your head down do your job and everyone will love you thanks for reading.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workout facility with shower
Material Handler/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CADecember 1, 2017
Enjoyed my time there and the valuable experience I achieved and I'm at the stage in my career that I'd be a ideal talents in Logistics to quickly adapt
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Un known layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is not conducive for career development
Manager (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, VAOctober 30, 2017
Lack of honest information from management causes undue uncertainty and stress for employees. Leadership is not cohesive or focused on employees' needs to understand change, only on the bottom line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good comapny
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 27, 2017
Good company in the Sacramento area. Have been in the area for decades. Most employees have been there many many years. Nice area around the company near Nimbus dam.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible company
Sr. Production Scheduler-Analyst (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WAOctober 24, 2017
Great product line, enjoyed being there. Being part of a company making history every day realizing the past history and accomplishments was extremely motivating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people - not great upper management!
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  VirginiaOctober 19, 2017
Great people at the local level with a large number of staff over 20 years there, but since the company has been bought (again) the upper management is too far removed from the "real business" of AR. Poor management, low appreciation and value for their employees from top level. Very top heavy organization.
Pros
pd week off between Christmas & New Years in lieu of some fed holidays
Cons
poor upper management - completely out of touch with those doing the real work of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping The Space Program
AP Specialist, Apollo Professional Svc (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CASeptember 29, 2017
Working at Aerojet was a great experience. Just knowing we had a hand in the space program made it more than worth it. It's really a great place to work.
Pros
Fun Job
Cons
No Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aerojet Rocketdyne. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 163 reviews
542
455
333
220
113

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture