Find companies:
Aetna
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
275 reviews

Aetna Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Human Resources - Administrative Specialist 3 (Current Employee), Downers Grove, ILNovember 15, 2013
Pros: good company
Support staff with Human Resources Department. Fast paced, customer service orientated environment for employee services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Clerical Duties (Former Employee), Blue Bell, PANovember 11, 2013
Pros: company picnics
Cons: short breaks
I been there a very long time 15 years I learn a lot I did data entry, scanning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most patient information handling next to a doctors office.
Provider Health Services Rep (Former Employee), High Point, NCNovember 5, 2013
I have knowledge of HIPAA, Protected Health Information (PHI) and the related transaction guidelines. A typical work day would include me doing any and/or all of the following: researched medical procedures to verify if covered under Member’s plan and reworked medical claims, payment discrepancies within established service level agreements. I maintained – more... accuracy and production standards while ensuring high Quality Customer Care. And I used applicable system tools and resources to assist and educate Medical Providers on patient’s benefit information. The hardest part was implementation of changes, such as new equipment and or systems. Other than that I liked my contribution within the company. It was the motivation for me to persue my degree in a career in the administrative /clerical level of the medical field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and great people.
Supervisor of cross functional team (Former Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 30, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no always enough support
A typical involved working on multiple data bases and using gap analysis and Microsoft access and excel to find issues that need to be addressed, Created reports, presentations and updated projects tracker as I lead multiple groups across multiple areas to fix any gaps found. Measuring of large amounts of data to find issues and monitoring people to – more... help identify the reason for issues and then managing the process to fix the issue along with system testing of the fix. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Network Account Manager (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 29, 2013
Great place to work with a family.
Negotiate/re-negotiate and execute physician and/or facility contracts in accordance with company goals
• Responsible for understanding and managing medical costs and initiating appropriate action
• Develop and maintain relationships with physician and business leadership of key physician groups, hospitals and integrated – more... health delivery systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aetna
Sr. Billing Consultant (Current Employee), Work from homeOctober 29, 2013
Stable company with great diversity and benefits package. I enjoy learning new things and having a chance to deal directly with customers to solve their issues. I also enjoy working with my co workers and working as a team to achieve our goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work very career oriented
Case Management Coordinator (Former Employee), Little Rock, AROctober 28, 2013
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: short breaks
I basically spoke with different provider building case for different need. Management was great, I enjoyed my co-worker they taught me a lot about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits. Great Work / Life Balance
Senior Claims Benefit Specialist (Current Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 27, 2013
Pros: great work / life balance
Cons: job security in the health care insurance industry is hit and miss after aca.
The benefits Aetna provides it's employees should be much better considering we are a Health Insurance company. The high deductible plans are really nothing more than catastrophic coverage. To be fair, they do provide excellent wellness (routine check-up) coverage as should every company that is interested in keeping health care costs to a minimum.

Aetna – more... provides it's employees with an excellent Work / Life balance. Flex-time and Teleworker opportunities proved very helpful when I was busy getting my children thru grade school. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aetna
Disease Management, RN (Former Employee), middletownOctober 27, 2013
Pros: great work relionshios
Cons: teams not working together
management had multiple changes and therefore inconsistency
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At work
Health care agent (Current Employee), High point ncOctober 24, 2013
Members call to under there benefit and I provide the understanding they expect by breaking down how their courage works
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work palce
Care Coordinator/Prior Authorization Rep. (Current Employee), Indianapolis, InOctober 19, 2013
Pros: allowed you to work alone
Aetna was a great place to work. To give employees incentive to meet or exceed goals we created a Wheel of Fame. Those that met or exceeded goals were allowed the opportunity to spin the wheel to win a prize consisting of a free lunch, a half a day of PTO added to your bank, free jeans day and much more.It was nice because they allowed you to work at – more... your pace and management had an open door policy and they communicated changes as they were going to happen, not after the fact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many meetings, many folks to accomplish one thing
support (Current Employee), MissouriOctober 18, 2013
Pros: lots of jobs to choose from
Cons: large company
enjoyed the fast-paced projects
worked with variety of individuals with variety of background, interesting
not always easy to get things done
untapped potential of employees since there are so many people on one project; get lost in the crowd
hardest part of job - who to contact
enjoyable - fast paced
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work overall
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Norristown, PAOctober 15, 2013
good knowledge and this was a okay place to work. compensation is ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
HIPAA Compliance Officer (Current Employee), Gastonia, NCOctober 12, 2013
Pros: i enjoy the work as the hipaa compliance officer, investigation, and reporting
Cons: not enough time devoted to hipaa
I am the "go-to" person for HIPAA related issues. I perform a dual role as the HIPAA Compliance Officer and a Sr. Customer Communications Specialist
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this conpany will lerge you in with all these great things, but beware., make sure they explain your full job description.
claims specialist (Current Employee), orlandoOctober 11, 2013
Ok so I was hired by this company only two months ago. First I was so excited to be working for such a big company like Aetna. Boy was I wrong. I was hired as a Claims benefit specialist. Sounds fancy right. Well its really not. Its completely different from the job discription. They will change your title as soon as they make everything sound so good – more... and put you where they need you more. In my case I was put in the department that everone was dropping like flies. I have seen 4 people leave in my department alreadt and I will be #6. The manager is horrible. Not professional, no knowldege to anything in health care. My biggest problem was that I was trained for about to weeks in a room full of managers and others that did not do what I did. Then they wanted to throw me on the phones to help pts. Smh. I used to work from home taking calls from 7-4pm at my previous job. Why would I want to take a step back to take calls from 10-7pm. Beware and ask lots of questions during your interview especially about the time u will work. Because they won't tell you until you sign your agreement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Project Manager (Former Employee), Hartford, CTOctober 11, 2013
fair company to work for
great management
coworkers are friendly
learned how to be a team player and work individually
learned to be a forward thinker
hardest part of job is that its a huge company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Technician Prior Authorizxation - Medicaid Business Unit
Pharmacy Prior Authorization Technician (Current Employee), Phoenix, AzOctober 8, 2013
Working for Aetna Pharmacy PA has furthered my knowledge of the Medicaid business including PNT, formularies, regulations etc. Work life balance at Aetna is perfect and it is a great company to work for. I found it very enjoyable working up the prior authorizations and reviewing clinicals and documenting for the pharmacists so they can make a decision – more... without having to scan through pages of notes. It also pleases me when I am able to really help someone get their medication or at least solve a problem with something. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aetna
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLOctober 8, 2013
Pros: time off the phone for meetings and birthday celebrations.
Cons: lunch was only 30 minutes
Assisted customers in ordering their medications, bill balance and any other issues related to MOD. I've learned the importance of having compassion toward all of my customers and the power of will to help them out no matter what the situation was. I also learned how to work with various systems; such as Oracle, ASD, Home Prod, and Citrix. Working at – more... Aetna, I had the opportunity to meet a lot of great people. My coworkers were very friendly and fun to be around, which made the work environment a better place. I would say that the hardest part of my job was knowing that I had a solution regarding an issue, but it was mandatory to call the escalated line in order for the issue to be approved, which may take up to 10-15 minutes. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that my customers were satisfied and happy with the service I have provided them with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
HR Benefits Review Specialist/Analyst (Former Employee), Columbia, SCOctober 6, 2013
It was an OK work environment and was a learning experience.

The company as an hold was interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Aetna
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 30, 2013
Clock in answer calls.... get additional training when something new is being implemented..... have team meetings with team lead.... celebrate accomplishments and birthdays.... the most enjoyable part is that everyone knows everyone and everyone is nice and sociable

About Aetna

Aetna is about more than just doing a job. This is our opportunity to re-shape health care for America and across the globe. – Read more