Find companies:
Aetna
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
318 reviews

Aetna Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work envirnment and wonderful co-workers
Switchboard Operator (Former Employee), Hartford, CTFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: availabilty to do overtime that was wonderful
Cons: callers from cst would call and the corporate office would be closed.
a typical day of work consisted of a minimum of 200 calls a day per rep which were calls that have been either misdirected or calls that required a transfer to an escalated team. What I have learned at this job as well as any of my other jobs is the key to working any sort of phone either switchboard or call center is listening, Management and I really – more... got alone very well I have been called upon to either supervise or train other reps and that was due to there were no management in office, my supervisor worked from home but if she needed to check on someone or ask a question she would call on me. My co-workers were great to get along with I have never had an issue with any of them. The hardest part of this job was when I would receive an irate caller and I just had to wait til the caller has finished and take all information down and offer them a call back within 24hrs and I had to do that only when it was after hours and there was nothing that I could do. I enjoyed our wonderful gatherings on holidays, birthdays or promotions. We all got together and ate and just enjoyed each others company we were a small group of 8 in office and maybe 6 at home not counting management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with yearly compensation review and flexible work schedules available
Care Management Nurse Manager (Former Employee), Blue Bell, PAFebruary 11, 2014
Good company to work for with yearly compensation review and flexible work schedules available. Leadership is innovative and encourages employees to do the same. Talent development is a value. Employees and leadership work hard. Like any fortune 50+ companies change is a constant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Aetna
Sr. Application Developer (Current Employee), Telecommuter and in Hartford OfficeFebruary 10, 2014
Aetna has a varying level of diversity. The Home Office building itself is very nice and up to date. There are Coffee kiosks open all day, an onsite store, pharmacy, several ATMs and a Health Center.

Due to outsourcing and acquisitions, every 6 weeks to 6 months layoffs are potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professionl
Financial Consultant (Current Employee), Hartford, CTFebruary 10, 2014
A very productive and professional enviroment with extensive resources especially for having a good work balance daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health and fun
Assisting providers (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: very felxable
Cons: no overtime
I help providers with claims and benefits for members like what covered and if they have meet their deductible and out of pocket.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work
Billing consultant (Former Employee), Hartford, CTFebruary 6, 2014
Job security is not reliable as many companies choose to outsource over seas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with friendly employees
Underwriting Intern (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: few annoying employyes
Job was spent at a cubicle but was surrounded by very friendly people. would highly recommend this company to others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coventry Purchased by Aetna
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management communication
Job security is low.

Great people working at Coventry. Very open-minded folks, hard working, logical.

Since Aetna bought Coventry, current environment is uncertain. . Have not had much contact with Aetna employees. Aetna seems to randomly lay off people fairly regularly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
QA Business Consultant (Former Employee), Hartford, CTFebruary 2, 2014
My job as a QA Business Consultant was challenging as well as enjoyable.
Always working in a stressful environment meeting target deadlines.
Methodologies and processes were always changing.
Co-workers were always willing to pitch in and help when needed, we worked well as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 30, 2014
A fun place to work I enjoyed working in healthcare. This is a very good company to work for. I left the company because I had a baby.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at home position was wonderful
Claim Benefit Specialist (Former Employee), New Albany, OHJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: work at home jobs
Cons: reconfiguration that resulted in hundreds of us loosing our jobs
Aetna was overall a good company to work for. The added benefit of having Work at Home Positions helped with not having the added expenses of commuting to work daily and having the opportunity to work at home took away the micromanaging that most companies attempt to do to their employees which is detremental to an employees self confidence. The hardest – more... part of the job was some of the metrics that were set for us as processors to reach while using a system that experienced issues and hindered our performance at times. The most enjoyable part of the job was the fellow coworkers and how everyone reached out to eachother to assist with problems or questions on certain claim processing/state legislation that was not worded the best for interpretation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Disability claims processor (Current Employee), South Portland, MEJanuary 30, 2014
Friendly people, busy most of the day so no down time. Friendly atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer service (Current Employee), Fresno CaliforniaJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: m-f, cafe, secure parking lots
Really great company to work for employees are friendly / diverse. Professional workplace great managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Clerical Support (Former Employee), Indpls, INJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: no recognition for work quality, no opportunity for promotions
Management was poor. Promotions opportunities did not exist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time Patient Advocate
Health Advocate Nurse (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: m-f, no weekends or holidays
Cons: poor health benefits for employees
I worked at Aetna for a short period only due to a family issue. But the time I was there I enjoyed learning opportunity to learn healthcare in the insurance industry. It was full time M-F no weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the Employee Club President set up trips etc
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Blue Bell, PA/ worked from homeJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: able to work with no interruptions
Cons: none/
I was able to work from home, which was a great advantage to the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Productivety
Inbound Queue Associate (Current Employee), Newark, DEJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: working with a great team
Cons: feeling rushed to meet metrics
Answering the phones in the queue, building cases for prior authorization via fax, phone, web based portal.

The hardest part of the job for me is maintaining the required volume to meet metrics. I believe quality is more important than quantity and some cases take more time as every one is unique

The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with – more... the medical provider. I educate them on our process. I find it satisfying that I am part of the process that helps the patients get the medical care they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Intake Analyst (Former Employee), portland oregonJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: 15 min breaks and holiday theme potlucks
Cons: was a temp job for me
A typical day at work would start out by checking my email and making sure that I have read all emails from supervisor or company. I would look at my task list to see what work I would be doing and how much work I have for the day. (it would update every five min) everyone at work was so helpful and nice. management was there when you needed them but – more... wasn't over the shoulder which was great. you worked independently and that's what I really liked about the job. my co workers we awesome I loved coming in to work and seeing my co workers. the hardest part of the job was that there wasn't enough o.t, to go around. the enjoyable part of the job was that co workers would ask if anyone would help with their big task list and when people are available they would take from peoples list and help out, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart, hard working people
Head of Product, Nascent Businesses (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 16, 2014
Overall, great place to work. Some issues with long-term company roadmap.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service for all
Administrative Specialist I (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 15, 2014
Visit member assist queue and distinguish priority for day. Learned different hardships of our members and gained insight of provider care and agendas for potential new patients. Most difficult was hearing those hardship cases for adults and children and finding a provider to meet there needs accordingly. Best part of position was the positive updates – more... I received for cases I worked in past months. – less

About Aetna

Aetna is about more than just doing a job. This is our opportunity to re-shape health care for America and across the globe. – Read more