Affinity Health Plan Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun a meeting new people
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 29, 2015
It was fun meeting different nationality, however there were no room to grow within the company. Also management was not helpful showing how to use the new software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away as fast as you can if you get called to work here !!!!!
Representative (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 22, 2015
They are the worst no one takes their insurance anyway.. it really a bad place to work!!! No room for advancement unless you do what they want you to which is become a yes oerson with no regard for their members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most friendly work environment ever
Full Time Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 15, 2015
Pros: Friendly work place
Cons: Benefits/Pay
By far, the most friendly work environment I've work in. The benefits could be much better though. To have to pay for health insurance when you are working for a health insurance company is kind of ironic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company - depending on which department you work
Credentialing Network (Former Employee), BronxJuly 8, 2015
Pros: Great people from other departments
Cons: Too much gossip, bad manners, and haters
It is a good place to work; however, the department I worked for was only interested in production. Supervisor doesn't care about treating people with respect. Hardest part of the job was team work. Every person only care about their own work. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting wonderful people from other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Medical Management Intake Coordinator (Former Employee), bronx nyJuly 7, 2015
Pros: free food almost every day
Cons: travel
A typical day at affinity health plan is daily changes always have to talk to management about the new changes co works are great to work with the hardest part of the job is the daily changes the best part about the job is helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political and frustrating place to work
Present Employee (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 15, 2015
Pros: co-workers
Cons: Management, Salary, no bonuses
this place is probably the worst environment that I have ever worked at. Nothing but politics and drama. There are no incentives such as raises or bonuses and there is more work than there are people to do the work. Management does not care at all about there employees and will get rid of you if you resist or show any opposition to their foolishness. Only thing that is positive about this company are co-workers. DON"T WAIST YOUR TIME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Insurance Important Part Of Our Countrys Mission
Field Marketer / Recertification Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 9, 2015
Pros: Create own hours
Cons: Not being able to implement various sales tactics
Seeing the importance of health insurance today , and how I was essentially part of the foundation of managed care. Knowing this gave me all the more tools to actively market its services particularly to those individuals who were uninsured.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day of work
Facilitator Enroller (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMay 27, 2015
Excellence place to work.nice environment, good co workers, I leanrned new skills, good training programs in Health care area. I love to help people, my reward is when customer call me back and thanks me for my job well done. and no only that, i get good referrals from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Intake Coordinator/Medical Management Coordinator (Current Employee), Bronx, NYApril 29, 2015
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: poor management
Overall working at Affinity has been a good experience. I have been under a great amount of pressure working here, but this has made me a better work. All the experiences that I have encountered at Affinity health plans have given me the opportunity to always think constructively in my every day work functions..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient work place
Assisting client with Medicaid (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 15, 2015
It was a very interesting enviornment. I learned alot on the job. It was a very positive experience for me. I learned alot about medicaid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work place, very disorganized unprofessional management
Administrative Assistant/ Credentialing Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 3, 2015
Pros: Learning Experience
Cons: Everything
Affinity Health Plan is a joke. Is not what you know is who you know. Some executives and management have no idea how to manage a team. NOT professional. Unprepared. Supervisors and Directors have no experience as upper management. Too much Gossip too much Politics. unprepared and unprofessional supervisors pick on minor things. Management more concern on what the other person is doing than – more... on the work. NO RESPECT FOR EMPLOYEES AS EMPLOYEES OR HUMAN BEINGS. Disorganized. Lack of communication. Mostly everyone that works at Affinity knows someone. Lack of training. Certain VP of a department Does not have a BA/BS, has associates Degree. what a shame the type of people running such a big company with so much potential. Administrative/Executive Assistants have more education then Executives. Very sad to know.

Affinity Health Plan Sucks!! Stay Away.

Lack of Judgement on executive team. Favoritism.

Garbage!!! Run from this place is TERRIBLE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Health Care Facilitator (Former Employee), Bronx, NYApril 1, 2015
• Oversight of Medicare, Medicaid and commercial insurance billing
• Review discharge summaries for proper coding
• Completed charity care and federal aid billing
• Supervise billing and coding processes
• Manage collection of Workers Comp and No Fault
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN Case Manager
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 7, 2015
Pros: employees, flexibility, understanding managers
Cons: terrible training
This is a wonderful company. Co-workers are easy to work with. Upper Management is lexible and understanding. Unfortunately there isnt new hire process/training in place.It is a swim or sink enviornment but many employees are willing to swim with you so that you wont sink.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an enjoyable workplace.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 30, 2015
Pros: full kitchen & lunch access
Cons: very stressful work
The part of my job that was must enjoyable was being able to assist customers with their problems. To know that at the end of the conversation, that person's problem was resolved and he or she was relieved and worry free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it's good, it's good, when its bad..Leave.
See it All (Current Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 9, 2015
Pros: salary, great benefits, 403b, tuition reimbursement, promotions, clean office, parking, training, fun work enviiornment
Cons: ill equipped managers, unnecessary meetings, territorial managers, high stress environment, human resource department is a joke.
Executive Leadership- WAS A+, a change in leadership occurred on Jan 1st, this year to be determined.

Senior Leadership- Very hard working and do the brunt of the work and gets hit first in the trenches. Very high stress environment for them as they handle all the craziness while Executive Leadership lays back and takes the credit.

Management- Some managers are great others need a crash course in – more... advanced interpersonal skills.

Supervisors- Are mostly a joke and do not know how to supervise their own life rather a whole team. The good ones navigate the waters to where you need to go teaching you teamwork, camaraderie, and time management without throwing you under the bus.

General Employees- So many different walks of life, you will make long friendships and great networking in the health insurance field.

Members- The members are the highlight of the company who deal with our day to day craziness and still stick with us to the end. Props to them!

Easiest Part of the Job- Getting to work, doing your job, keeping your nose clean and minding your business.

Hardest Part of the Job- Getting sucked into the day to day melodramas, dealing with managers personalities, and knowing you will never receive a 4.0 review no matter how HARD you work that entire year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fine place if you want to get by on solely nepotism.
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 31, 2014
Pros: close to home.
Cons: cannot advance professionally unless you are part of the right clique in the company.
Its a good job for someone who is just getting their feet web in the workplace. If you are looking to advance professionally, this is not the place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a greatplace to work
Claims Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), bronx nyDecember 23, 2014
Pros: learn alot
Cons: learn alot
a typical day would be to process medical claims, appeals, customer service task,
management assigned duties to answer customer service calls, special projects working on the spreadsheet,
i have learned alot , co-workers are always helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very fair employer...
Community Program Manager (Current Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 12, 2014
Favoritism and nepotism is rampant at this company...Management is unqualified. Some of the people there are great and hardworking. The company needs to be taken over by a more professional and corporate entity. The executive team needs to be overhauled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing their best to change
Analyst (Current Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 19, 2014
Pros: small
Cons: corporate culture slow to change
You are what you make of it, but the organization is moving forward and forging ahead with Lean Six Sigma methodologies, new headquarters and new ways of thinking.

Change is slow, but it is happening.

Hoping for the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic management team
Regional Manager Broker Relations (Current Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 17, 2014
Great support team- proficient and effective
It is a challenging environment on the cutting edge of the industry
Claim this company page
Headquarters
2500 Halsey St.
Bronx NY, United States 10461
Revenue
$25M to $100M (USD)
Employees
501 to 1,000
Industry
Links
Affinity Health Plan website