AFL Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Technical Operator (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCDecember 9, 2016
This was a different job. Swing Shifts. I didnt like those at all. Once your body gets used to being on third shift it was time to go back on 1st.
Pros
Pay
Cons
breaks, and long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician, CNC, Machine operator, Forklift and supervisor
Supervisor, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 21, 2016
• Responsible for keeping the machine running, repaired machinery when needed
• Produce's machined parts by programming, setting up, and operating a computer numerical control (CNC) machine; maintaining quality and safety standards; keeping records; maintaining equipment and supplies.
• Transport packages from point A to point B in the shipping and receiving area
• Accomplishes staff job results by coaching, counseling, and disciplining employees; planning, monitoring, and appraising job results; conducting training; implementing enforcing systems, policies, and procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Football Player (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 14, 2016
Organizational and productive person that does what needs to be done to get things taken care of. This job was a very good one because it helped me work on my people skills and it was an eye opener of what hard work and determination can lead to.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCAugust 19, 2016
They don't care about the people, they harassment is very real would not advise anyone to go there they don't give raise.
Cons
Don't want to give raise, to much work for one person
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee) –  Duncan, SCJuly 7, 2016
Great group of people to work with. Very community oriented company.

Compensation is lower than other companies in the area. Empowering employees is also another issue.
Pros
Great employees
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plumbers union
Foreman on Hudson Condo (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 19, 2016
Like all unions there are upsides and downsides and alot of politics in between,
Training and then training new apprentices to become plumbers.. Management I never had to work with , on construction sites,
Co workers were all good plumbers who adhered to union laws and work ethics
,Most enjoyable part of the job was overtime which is doubble time that would be $120 an hour and I worked like a dog for it,,
Hardest part of teh job were the lay offs and the months of no work so you hadtos ave when the moneywas good so you could survive when you were layed off
Pros
Being aprofessional
Cons
Layoff and politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Lead Tech-L4 (Former Employee) –  all usaApril 19, 2016
This is a fast pace work enviroment, that requires talent individual efort Knowledge, expertise is a must, you work alone and are expected to perform very Profecional. high productivity accuracy and lots of travel.
Pros
who you know
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment varies from job to job
Customer Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Duncan, SCApril 12, 2016
AFL has many different divisions and buildings. Different divisions is like working in a completely different company. Some are so quiet you feel like you have to whisper on the phone and others are very noisy.

AFL definitely doesn't go above and beyond to make their employees feel appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work.
OEM Consultant (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 16, 2015
Conference call for morning production meeting to reviewing action place. Met with shipping and receiving for shipment updates. Review
problem shipment and correction action group meeting. Communicate with design engineering with any question the customer need to have addressed. The hardest part of the job addressing system downtime. The most enjoyable part of my job is the people I work with .
Pros
Everyone is working towards the same goal.
Cons
So much paper work that slow the process down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payable, Reconciliations, Fixed Assets
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC / Landover, MDJuly 22, 2015
I learned a lot at this position. I handled Accounts Payable, Reconciliations, and Fixed Assets for many years. The lack of advancement and trust was a downside to this position.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management, Trust, Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was unsteady
Tech II (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 18, 2015
Working for AFL as a Tech II although I was a full time employee, if they didn't have work for you sit at home without pay. I had to travel to job sites using my POV without being reimbursed any place with 50 miles.
Pros
None
Cons
No upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Campaign environmen
Campaign Intern (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALMay 27, 2015
It was an impressive campaign to work on. The people and the office environment were a positive experience. We were working for a good cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AFL Networks Great Company
Telecommunications Designer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 4, 2015
Money and Management is great, good place to work. Benefits are low. The have flexible hours.Most of co-workers are friendly. My boss is nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One the best on hands learning expeirences offered
ATT Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 12, 2015
• Responsible for LTE Integration on Ericsson 6000 series cabinet
• Installation of RRUW’s
• Responsible for DUW replacements
• Responsible for DC power termination
• Responsible for radio cable termination
• Responsible for T1 troubleshooting
• Responsible for NEA Testing
• Responsible for Data Testing
• Responsible for sector by sector 3 & 4 call testing
• Responsible for E Node B close out packages
• Responsible for RBS software updates on newly installed hardware
• 1st & 2nd carrier Smart laptop Integration 6000 & 3000 series cabinets
• 1st & 2nd carrier Manual Integration 6000 & 3000 series cabinets
• Responsible for pick up & delivery of hardware
• Responsible for training new employees
Pros
Wont you dont know you will learn
Cons
communication can be sketchy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellebt Experience
Quality Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCJanuary 13, 2015
Continually learning new thing. How to handle the decision making process under pressure. The management teams work together to accomplish the goal at hand. Everyone works together to help one another professionally and personally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge
Telecom Tech (Current Employee) –  Homewood, ALJanuary 7, 2015
Management was great
Didn't like the hours
Co-workers are amazing train you very well
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Job Security/Advancement and Management.
Administrative Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Duncan, SCDecember 3, 2014
I spend most of my days updating and creating excel spreadsheets. I also use Oracle to place sale orders from Customers. I update and create bids for our Customers. Since I have been here, I have learned how to use Oracle BI system and become more efficient in Access. I have the best management team and the co-workers are friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecom Company
Quality Auditor and Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDNovember 13, 2014
In charge of quality compliance for the Lucent installation team encompassing the entire state of Pennsylvania. Also, installed telecommunication systems including fiber optic cable, AC/DC power plants, routers, 5ESS, system bays etc. This was primarily in Pennsylvania but also in Maryland and New Jersey
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment and Training Specialist
Employment and Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Wisconsin Rapids, WIOctober 21, 2014
A typical day included meeting with clients to review their needs.
Pros
Working with people from various back grounds to make a difference in their lives
Cons
Not knowing whether there would be funds to continue the program
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tech
Contractor (Current Employee) –  GreensboroSeptember 4, 2014
Excellent communication company to work for. This company is located through out the United States.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 18Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AFL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

72%
18 ratings
Add your rating