After School Matters Employee Reviews

Showing all 273 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Student Mentor/ Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 21, 2017
It was a great time working with students to help them better understand the meaning of high school rules and how the system works. Always good at keeping us updated with what was next for the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Mentor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 21, 2017
It enhanced my leadership skills as well as people skills. A great learning experience and very helpful. It's a great start for teenage workers like myself to start off in the working field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for an after high school job
MIKVA CHALLENGE (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 18, 2017
It was a great experience. I learned so much working a long side an alderman. I talked to many people of my community. I truly recommend it for any young person trying learn.
Pros
Great hours and good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and sociable
poet/writer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 9, 2017
Being an employee of a Poetry program through After School Matters was very exciting and sociable. I usually met new people and got to perform some of my poems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Junior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 8, 2017
The employees were so great. They helped me develop financial skills and decision making skills. Throughout my experience i learned what high school life would be like and me being in high school now everything was expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Employment History/ Volunteering (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 7, 2017
After School Matters helped teenagers have an oppurtinty to learn how to work for money. They sign up for jobs they actually interest them such as dance, painting, or even sports.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice People and Flexible Working Environment
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 7, 2017
The After School Matters program helped me become a better adult and more positive role model for the younger generation. I was involved with a digital media program which I absolutely loved.
Pros
Free Lunch And Mentoring Programs
Cons
Some Mean Supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Powerful experience changing the lives of inner city youth
Camp Counselor/ Youth Instructor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2017
I was able to impact the lives of many youth on Chicago's south side. It was a great feeling knowing that I made a difference in a child's life. I'm grateful for the opportunity and would work for ASM again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
choreographer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 3, 2017
place is for kids. not for someone who is seeking a full on job just for internship only. Adults probably shouldn't look for a job within this probably not a fulltime one at that lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok
Farming Agriculture (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 3, 2017
I just didn't like the fact that we get paid so long apart. They pay us very month. We only work 3 days a week. They pay us $8.25 an hour. And they only give us 8 hours a week.
Pros
Great Experience
Cons
Not enough hours, or enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical workday
Jewelry Designer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 27, 2017
Typically, we had to be at work before 2 p.m, otherwise we were docked pay. After our supervisor arrived, we received our orders for the week and got to work making jewelry that fit the criteria given to us. We took a 30 minute break around 4:30, where we had the chance to get up, eat, stretch our legs and go to the bathroom, then at 5:00 we went back to work until 6:00 when we clocked out.
Cons
Crammed work space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working space with diverse people
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 18, 2017
Working with After School Matters was a great learning experience for me. I learned how to work with people of different cultures. It taught me how to make sure you satisfy each customer.
Pros
Free lunch, free transportation
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After School Matters
Artist/Designer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 18, 2017
A typical day at work would be joining your other peers to complete a given task or challenge. Over the years I've worked with After School Matters, it helped me build more character skills as well communication skills. The workplace was calm and comfortable. The hardest part of the job was transportation. The most enjoyable part of the job is opening up to other teens throughout the city to get to know them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Writer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 17, 2017
Great experience being able to work with the disable, I learned that books can be helpful to more than just helping build a kids imagination but also helps adults to still have an imagination. The hardest part about the book was actually creating the book itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poetry performance
Poetry Writer (Former Employee) –  66 E RandolphApril 17, 2017
I Had a very hard time Comming Up with my poetry write because it takes time to write poetry more like writing something that u feel or something that makes Since.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Time limits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and comfortable environment and experienced instructor
Advanced Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 16, 2017
A typical day at work was quite energizing and intreging. I learned about computer programming and how it can impact the less fortunate communicating.
Pros
Free lunch, cost efficient supplies, and friendly environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2017
I really enjoyed working with kids, the hours was great, so was the other co-workers. I met new people while I was working here. This program really had open me alot especially since I was so shy and quiet now I'm so outgoing.
Pros
Free water breaks
Cons
Short 5 mins breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun after school work
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 5, 2017
• Helping Kids With There HomeWork
• Teaching Them From Doing Right From Wrong
* Teaching How To Respect Others In & Outside Of School
Great work place culture
Alot of respect trust and responsibility
Pros
Yes
Cons
20min breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative asm
mentor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 3, 2017
Always had fun in this program . Always had children busy and having fun while in a safe environment . Always enforced safety precautions and food procedures . Best job to have if you love dealing with kids
Pros
music
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with your friends from school
Hair Techniques (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 2, 2017
It's great for someone who wants to be a Hair Stylist and convenient for people that go to YWLCS. It's also a nice first job for high school students.
Pros
Free lunch, convenient, nice co-workers
Cons
Not enough money, boss can be annoying at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at After School Matters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 273 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

After School Matters Reviews by Location