Ahold USA Employee Reviews

Found 48 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged leadership
Specialist (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 23, 2017
Very inconsistent over the past decade with multiple restructuring and an uninformative team leading the way with zero labor for stores and a lack of understanding between corporate and stores.
Pros
people in the stores who want to do the right thing
Cons
leadership in the main office that handcuffs operations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Deal Verification/Audit Recovery (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJune 21, 2017
It is a good place to work. During period close you are very busy. Management is very supportive of you learning new task as well as going back to school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a direct employee of Ahold
Sr. Manager of Analytics (Current Employee) –  Quincy, MAJune 20, 2017
I'm not a direct employee of Ahold, so cannot comment. I am a third party contractor and therefore have little insight into this company's internal practices. Sorry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJune 19, 2017
Like the company. They treat their employees well. Love the open floor concept. This is a forward moving company. The building is also very clean and colorful!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MAC Risk Mgmt
Former WC Examiner (Former Employee) –  Quincy MAJune 16, 2017
I learned a lot working with Ahold. I was grateful for the knowledge and have moved on. MAC Risk was the seed to my adjusting career. Many adjusters have come and gone and so have I.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group,teamwork
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, NYMay 29, 2017
I enjoyed the culture,excellent teamwork,good programs for you to get promoted fasteri loved working for my managers,most enjoyable part is after work get togethers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A drama filled workplace with limited growth
Funds Payment and Audit Research Administrator (Former Employee) –  Quincy, MAMay 22, 2017
Drama filled, limited room for growth, poor management. Compensation is very minimum. they have food tasting and you get some free stuff which is probably the only advantage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing enviorment
Category Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAMarch 31, 2017
Solid performed within their industry.
Senior management very much involved.
Strong, solid support teams.
May opportunities for advancement
Many great contributions to communities and charities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work I just need better opportunities
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 31, 2017
A whole USA is a great place to work for but I am just looking for better opportunities for myself I've been there for 16 years and I just need something new I will miss the employees and the customers .
Pros
Great place
Cons
I'm going to miss the people but I have to improve myself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned
Corporate Category Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAFebruary 23, 2017
Ahold was a great company to work with but I did not like living up in Pa. I learned a lot more there than I have anywhere I guess because It was a larger company to work for. Management was a little difficult because I worked for one person there at the office, but then worked with the Directors in each division. It was a large company and I liked working with them but did not like living up in Pa.
Pros
What I learned
Cons
Did not like living in the area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in Information Technology with really savvy people
Assistant to Vice President (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJanuary 19, 2017
Because I was the "go to" person in IT, I built up a great rapport with the 65 associates in our department.

I would have liked to see more opportunity for hourly associates, including offering classes, and advancement.
Pros
No time to get bored - always something to do.
Cons
Some members of management treated hourly employees as "servants".
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, good pay
Pharmacist at Martins (Current Employee) –  Altoona, PAJanuary 1, 2017
Ahold is a good company to work for. Days are long though and are open every holiday except Christmas and thanksgiving, at least for now. Weekend hours are long.
Pros
Good benefits, good pay
Cons
Work holidays, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, busy job, oppurtunities
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Martinsburg, WVDecember 31, 2016
Ahold has many benefits for fulltime and special offers
Workplace was decent
Coworkers were great.
Fastpaced
Dealing with customers was ok recommend patience though
Pros
Fast paced, benefits, oppurtnities
Cons
Customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive and organized place to work.
Senior Analyst, Space Management (Former Employee) –  Quincy, MADecember 20, 2016
On a typical day I would check with each of the vendor associates to review progress on specific tasks and then check email. Later would attend department meeting or one on one with manager. Later I Management was very involved and committed to regular improvements in process.
Co-workers were quite congenial and ready to adjust with constant changes.
What was hard was trying to prepare for constant change of direction for the department and company.
The best part of the job was the people both inside and outside. There were many different personalities and most were positive and productive.
Pros
Great people and atmosphere
Cons
Too far away from family, out of state.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, flexibility
Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Landover, MDOctober 12, 2016
Good place to work. Management is flexible, they expect results but don't watch the clock. Job gives a good feeling of satisfaction. Work hours Are flexible and I can work from home or from the field.
Pros
Healthcare, bonus, flexibly
Cons
No feelings of job security, difficult to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
American Sales (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, NYSeptember 7, 2016
Fast pace environment
Inputting, logistics
Good management
Fun co-workers
Getting the loads out on time
Getting good feedback of a job well done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJuly 15, 2016
Wonderful place to work. The pay & people are great. You gain a lot of knowledge & experience. There is so much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment and employee focused.
Manager, Company Intranet (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PANovember 1, 2015
The organization is supportive and focused on three key concepts:
1. Creating a better place to work.
2. Creating a better place to shop.
3. Being a better neighbor.

These ideologies were the foundation of an ongoing successful culture for employees, customers, and their communities.
Pros
Great Culture, incredible benefits, and solid work experience.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ahold USA (parent company of Stop & Shop Corporation)
Legal Assistant - Real Estate Law Dept (Former Employee) –  Quincy, MAOctober 22, 2015
I was employed at the Stop & Shop Support Headquarters, in the Real Estate Law Department, with daily interface with the Real Estate Development staff and executives. I assisted the Vice President of Real Estate Law and 4 other attorneys that created, negotiated and executed numerous commercial real estate leases and licenses where Stop and Shop is either the Landlord or the Tenant in hundreds of locations over 9 U.S. states. and multiple store banners.

I learned and grew personally and professionally in the areas of Commercial Real Estate and Law (generally) and the world of grocery stores.
Pros
Excellent Benefits and People
Cons
History of Layoffs (about every 5 years)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Customer Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Landover, MDOctober 5, 2015
A typical day for me was checking my calls early in the morning, going to client location, resolve client's computer problem. Management and co-workers were a joy to work with, and ill have to said the most enjoyable part of my day was going out and meeting an eclectic group of clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ahold USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 50 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7