Find companies:
AIM Specialty Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

AIM Specialty Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine if you are 1-2 levels removed from senior management
mid-level management (Current Employee), illinoisMay 7, 2014
Truly dysfunctional senior management team, with one or two bright spots. Run for the hills if you think you can get anything pushed through this group.

On a positive note - most of the people below the senior management level are amazing and fantastic people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Sr. Technical Manager of Development (Current Employee), Deerfield ILApril 16, 2014
fun place to work. Innovative.
good co-workers.

With over 35 million members covered across 50 states, D.C. and US territories. AIM is a national leader in specialty benefits management. Through an innovative approach, AIM promotes the appropriate, safe and cost effective use of clinical services including: radiology, cardiology, oncology, specialty – more... drugs, and sleep medicine. For over 20 years, AIM has helped clients and their members realize proven results through its solutions while maintaining superior service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, hard-working, team players, informative
BENEFITS REFERRAL SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Deerfield, ILApril 14, 2014
A typical day involves handling clients calls from physicians, member and health insurance companies from all over the U.S. I have learned more about diagnosis, ICD-9 codes, and patient demographics here than in any other benefits job previous. There are team assignments given throughout the month with different task to preform and goals to meet as – more... well.

Everyone plays as a team but can handle individual work as well. This job involves problem solving, quick -thinking, alertness, and outstanding customer service at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but not a lot of advancement
Clinical Utilization Management Specialist (Current Employee), Westchester, ILFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: benefits and stability
Cons: not as many advancement opportunities
Great benefits and stable environment, but not a lot of room to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Referral Specialist (Current Employee), Westchester, ILNovember 19, 2013
This has been a great place to work. Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with various paths to advancement
Health Care Customer Service (Referral Specialist) (Current Employee), Westchester, ILOctober 22, 2013
Pros: great benefits, pay is ok ( if your out of school), health club reimbursement, bonuses, and light call volume
Cons: the breaks can be longer and lunches can be higher (30 min break), have to meet a lot of performance metrics to keep job
I typical take on average about 60 calls a day; while a 3rd of those calls are pre-authorization. The other calls taken are typical members that cannot get pre-authorization, changing facilities of services, and addressing customer inquries. Your knowledge will be tested periodically with various exams to test you knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company, typical corporate " your just a number feeling"
Front Desk Receptionist /Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Deerfield, ILSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: depending on your position, they pay fairly well and the benefits are pretty good
Cons: unless you are in a high powered position, there isn't much challenge or "team working"
Initially the company was a nice place to work for. The employees were friendly and helpful to each other. The work was interesting and kept me busy, which is something that is important. The company was bought out by a major company involved in health insurance and other projects pertaining to healthcare. After the acquisition of the AIM things changed – more... greatly within the company. Little by little employees were leaving and new lines of business were being incorporated. Departments were be phased out and people were losing jobs. The overall management became rather cold and didn't seem to care as much about the people as was once the case. Job structures changed greatly. Many employees were losing interest in the direction the company was taking. The benefits were pretty standard, insurance, sick days, holidays, personal days that type of thing. They also had a quarterly bonus program that all employees did get some benefit from. The overall moral was not the same upbeat kind of place. The work was typical administrative assistant type work. Not a lot of challenge . Can't say that I really hated the place, but it was disappointing to see it take the direction it did from when I initially joined the company. Change is always good, but when it is so drastic and the structure of the company completely changes, much of it without warning, it becomes the type of place that you go to each day just because you need a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work.
Net Developer (Current Employee), Deerfield, ILAugust 2, 2013
Great environment to work.
Great Managers to work with.
Great Colleagues to work with.
Having great time working with development team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here and see how you like it
Referral Specialist I-Clinical Operations (Current Employee), Westchester, ILJune 11, 2013
Pros: benefits, educational assistance
Cons: management and micromanagement
While I have enjoyed some success here at AIM, I feel the work culture has severely changed due to being acquired by a corporation. A typical day at my job? 8 and a half hours a day authorizing medical exams for doctors offices. I've used medical terminology that will help me in my degree in Psychology. While I believe management has been effective – more... in the past, the recent changes has made our positions unbearable to come to, to say the least. Most of my coworkers have been stressed out by the constant micromanagement we go through on a daily basis, but some are just downright immature and are hanging onto a high school mentality which has no place in a workplace. The hardest part of my job is sitting through some verbal abuse from callers who are just as ignorant when they call us to get medical exams authorized. The most enjoyable part, is some of the downtime between calls I have to work on my class work or reading. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good entry level company
Compliance Department (Current Employee), ILOctober 26, 2012
Pros: wonderful co-workers
Cons: limited to non-existent altitude.
I cam to AIM looking for a change and I definitely found it. I had never worked in a call center environment before and I excelled pretty quickly. But it seems theirs not much room for advancement and politics play heavy into what positions are held. Theirs only few people in this company that were promoted based on merit, that I know of. Overall, it's – more... a great place to be and your co-workers are like family, but theirs definitely a glass ceiling in this organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and flexible workplace
Claims Examiner 2 (Former Employee), Deerfield, ILSeptember 7, 2012
Thanks to several perks of the dept I was working in, I was able to learn and grow as an employee and professional. The management team I worked under was amazing and always willing to help whenever possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at AIM
Operations Expert, Team Lead (Former Employee), Chicago, IlJuly 23, 2012
Pros: a great place to work
Cons: no complaints
Work was stress free. Family oriented. Ability to work independently as well as in a team. Management kept us informed. Co-workers are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun Work place
System Performance QA Lead (Current Employee), Deerfield, IL USAApril 7, 2013
Very challenging, interesting and know what I am working on business/technology.
Get an opportunity to work and learn various QA technologies and tools.
Management given opportunity to work Agile Software Development process, automation and performance test tools like Test Partner, QTP, Silk performer and Quality center.
Nice people around IT and/or – more... Non IT.
hardest part - if the dependent resources not available and some thing required from to perform my job and will be delayed will effect time lines.
Production releases and working to meet the release timelines are more enjoyable. – less