Find companies:
AIMCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
95 reviews

AIMCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opionion
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Edgewater, NJDecember 17, 2013
Pros: no room for advancement
Cons: great working environment
They should promote from with in instead of hiring friend of friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable if everyone pulls their own weight
Leasing Manager (Current Employee), PhiladelphiaDecember 16, 2013
My experience with Aimco is good on the corporate end. They train you to be abetter employee and person, but fail to recognize issues on the site level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beginning of my career
Sr. Property Manager (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILDecember 14, 2013
Pros: good training program
Cons: advancement opportunities-but would have to move
Great company to grow and learn with-opportunities galore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great company but how the times have changed
Leasing (Current Employee), ChicagoDecember 11, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: 35 hour max work week, bonus structure, management, proper training
Aimco used to be a great company to work for. They provided training and made you feel that you had a say in what direction your career went. In the last several years they have done a complete about face. They have hired several community and regional managers that have been "let go" by other property management companies. And it doesn't take you long – more... to figure out why. It is now a very "cliquey" environment. If your not in the club don't expect: proper training, if any, for your opinion to matter, regardless of experience, any advancement opportunity.

Aimco has also restructured their bonus program several times in the last few years. Going from commission, to an individual bonus, to now a property bonus. This means your bonus is based on the entire property income. So if a water heater or AC unit blows it will affect your bonus. If you ever get one...this too blows.

You are expected to have a hand in the entire running of the property. From marketing to selling to resident retention. This is probably the best part of the job. It gives you an opportunity to really get to know the people in the community. Well it was, you are now instructed to not answer the phones and just check messages several times a day. If a resident does happen to get through you are to have no personal conversation with them. This from a company that a few years ago wanted to people to feel like they had "come home to Aimco". Not the kind of home I would look forward to going to at the end of a long day.
For a while Aimco had a solid footing in the market, supplying homes that people were proud of and a company that felt like you had a say in the future of it and the future of your career. However when sitting in a sales meeting recently I was told that our duty was to answer to our stockholders and that residents came after that it made me realize that employees definitely rank much lower on the list with this company. This is also proven by the reduction in hours to 35 hours a week max, and if you go over your told you will be written up. Even if that boiler blows you figure out how to get it done in 35 hours. Just google Aimco and wage lawsuit before you consider attaching your reputation with this companies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties & responsibilities are:
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 6, 2013
•Register arriving guests and assign rooms.
•Process group arrivals & departures.
•Take, cancel & change room reservations.
•Process telephone calls.
•Provide information on hotel facilities & services.
•Provide general information about points of interest in
the area.
•Provide information about services available in the
community.
•Arrange services – more... required for guests with special needs.
•Process wake-up calls.
•Process guests' departures, calculate charges & receive
payments.
•Balance cash & complete balance sheets, cash reports &
related forms.
•Maintain occupancy statistics.
•Customer service oriented.
•Follow emergency & safety procedures.
•Work with minimal supervision.
•Clerical duties (i.e. faxing, filing, photocopying).
•Perform light housekeeping & cleaning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Company
Property Manager (Former Employee), Rock Hill SCNovember 26, 2013
Pros: great company
Cons: sad to have to evict people from their homes
Taking applications, moving people in and out of the property. I learned many things here and management was great. Co-workers were good and did a good job. Hardest part of the job was having to put people out and most enjoyable part of the job was moving people in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Commercial Leasing Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 20, 2013
I really enjoyed my employment at Aimco, I would still be there if life didnt force me to move!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company. I miss working for them
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 31, 2013
Pros: great training, compensation
Cons: high turnover at the corporate level
This was my first leasing job. They provided excellent training for 2 weeks and the commission structure was really great.
I had an awesome property manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Receptionist (Former Employee), Los AngelesOctober 30, 2013
Worked here under a year- nothing out of the ordinary. I dont have any complaints about this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
Community Manager (Current Employee), Columbia, MDOctober 29, 2013
I have learned that great team produce excellent results. The most enjoyable time is working with a great team of people to accomplish out finanical goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Alexandria VirginiaOctober 23, 2013
from the time i come in i have 30 to 60 recertifications as well as answer emails, return calls, do home visits, send out notices.i get along well with my co workers the hardest part of the job is not being able to get maintenance issues handled for my tenants in a timely manner the most enjoyable part is being of service to my residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly experienced and Likes to share my knowledge with co-works
Leasing Agent (Former Employee), Mesa, AZOctober 14, 2013
Pros: self started
Cons: benifits
A day at work starts out by getting in 15 minutes early to be prepared for the day..

I always need to take notes and ask questions if needed

I look forward to a manager who is willing to share there knowledge with others.And is always available when needed

I will help my co-works in training them on the knowledge that I have available for them

Is – more... when a manger will not help with needed information needed to do the job up to the standards the company sets

I have to say I take joy in knowing that I helped someone out who thought there was no hope of getting things back on track – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Resident Relations Specialist (Current Employee), alexandria, vaOctober 9, 2013
AIMCO is a great place to work. I have learned a great deal from working here. My days are extremely busy and, thus, go by very fast. My managers are all people who I look up to as examples of what I want to grow in this field to be like. I love the fact that nothing is ever the same in this field- everyday, it's a new situation & not mundane. I have – more... been in this field for a few years now and I cannot say there is anything I do not like about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a caree place, but good stepping stone
Leasing Consultant (Current Employee), Plano, TXSeptember 29, 2013
Average company to work for. Good place to get a temporary job at, but not good for long time careers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company based on greed
leasing consultant (Former Employee), orlando, flSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: ok hourly rate
Cons: unprofessional co-worker and managers, micro-managed
the property was a dump and highly over priced. the staff, including managers were rude and unprofessional to residents and prospects. DO NOT work there if they want you to be a temp. you will not ever be able to type up a lease (so why are you titled a leasing consultant), are not able to get bonuses-for the apt you lease, and will not be able to process – more... payments. so basically you get them the money and you get nothing in return except a bunch of grief. it's not worth it. i hated the property and the company, but i was happy because i definitely learned what to look for in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Professional Services Coordinator (Current Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: quality and career oriented.
I get to work with families, seniors, and the disabled population that are low income. I am the liaison for them and the community opportunities for them. I am happy working here, but I know that I can further expand what I have accomplished here by moving on to another company and enhance my skills as I also contribute to the new company's goals. AIMCO – more... has been great at providing growth opportunities, and as a company overall. However, I have done everything I can here. I know for a fact that I have more to learn. Growth requires change and I am ready for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not friendly employees
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), plainsboro NJSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: discount on rent if live in communities
Cons: low pay long hours
long work hours and not enough pay no benefits because they only hire as temps!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty
Community Manager (Former Employee), IllinoisAugust 28, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: to long to list
This company have no loyalty to their employees or their residents.
They will use you to do all their dirty work for them and when your done you will be out of there. I should have read all the bad reviews before going to this company. They nickel and dime the residents then send out emails to the employees to tell the residents about all the new charges – more... that they will now pay for, then when all the complaints come in about the company changes they will blame the office then fire them. STAY AWAY!!! you was warned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Bad Experience & Work Environment
Leasing (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 22, 2013
Cons: some co-workers
Very under appreciated for your hard work and dedication. If you are knowledgeable in your responsibilities they treat you horribly. Leadership exudes "do as I say, not as I do" mentality along with gossip and lies about the team members who actually care about their business and want it to improve. Those great people are marked as problem employees – more... instead of heroes. Worse company ever. The true example of political bull in the work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced Company and Smooth Operations
Leasing Consultant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 20, 2013
Pros: organized, healthcare, very professional
Cons: low compensation
We were trained for a week before starting the job, and knew exactly was was expected. We worked very closely with upper management to ensure success. The company was very large, and had several managers who visited and emailed each office weekly. The company was successful due to a very organized business plan. It was a great company to work for due – more... to required professionalism of each employee, and the overall success of the company. The job was high paced with high expectations, but the positive managers made it very enjoyable. – less

About AIMCO

AIMCO Properties' aim is true. The company is the operating arm of multifamily real estate giant Apartment Investment and Management – Read more