Find companies:
Air Force National Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
114 reviews

Air Force National Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cyber Transport Systems Specialist (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: hr lunch break, leave days
Cons: drill weekends
Low preessure, productive environment.
Detailed Structure
Tasks set aside for each day to be completed
hardest part could be working together with the team
co-workers are usually friendly and well rounded
Mondays Off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idaho Air National Guard
Aviation Fuels Manager (Former Employee), Boise, IDSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: good pay, benefits and people.
Cons: just to say the military is all
I mainly worked on the flight line refueling the aircraft of many types. Worked in the lab obtaining fuel samples from trucks and fuel storage running the necessary test on them. Recorded the results in the computers data base. Was in charge of the accounting department for over 12 years, it was very complex system and environment. Mainly dealt with – more... billing sales and receipts, obtaining the correct information and where it should go, and clearing all rejects when information was not correct. Verifying issue against the billing. Setting up schedules for receipt and making sure proper amount was received. Reconciled accounts on a daily basis, monthly and yearly. My final job was being in charge of bulk storage. I would maintain fuel levels and rotate product if necessary. Set up for receipts and obtain samples when needed. Would do maintenance and up keep in the storage facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Aircraft Crew Chief (Current Employee), Topeka ksSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: knowledgeable people
Cons: weather conditions
Work with great people and learn a lot about airplanes. Great work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging environment
Client Systems Technician/SatComm Maintainer (Current Employee), Greeley, COSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: paid lunches, free benefits (health, dental, etc...) paid 1 hour work outs
Productive and challenging work environment that had a perfect balance between work and personal life. It also was very well set with salary versus work completed. The people are driven and friendly and are very willing to lend a hand if needed. My days would consist of attending briefs to be informed on what is going on during the rest of the week – more... as well as the rest of any specific day. The tasks would be completed on time when possible or would be troubleshot until fixed. I enjoy the work and the people, but orders will be ending in October and I therefore am looking for outside employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard
IT Plans and Projects Manager (Current Employee), Buckley AFB, COSeptember 8, 2014
The Air National Guard has a culture of working hard while also taking care of its people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive work enviroment
Client Systems Technician (Current Employee), Honolulu, HawaiiSeptember 4, 2014
Typical day at work would be what the supervisors have planned that could range from stacking pallets to computer based training that needs to be done. Learning here is pretty interesting because I would tag along with my supervisor and he would show me all the new things that were not taught at tech school. He would explain what the problem is which – more... he would try to show me all of the ways the problem can be fixed from software to hardware related. My co-workers here are pretty awesome in a way that makes me feel like its a very family oriented group but when it comes to work everybody knows what to do and if someone has no clue then we try to help each other out. The hardest part of this job is basically trying to keep up with the all new updates from Java and waiting to see which applications are going to be affected and how to solve it. Compared to the enjoyable part is just meet new people from other units that we go to or they come by that have IT problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World wide travel
Aircraft Mechanic and Propeller Shop Supervisor (Former Employee), Moffett Federal Airfield, CAAugust 27, 2014
I got the opportunity to work and fly on multi-million dollar military aircraft.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far so good.
Spectrum Operations Manager (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 24, 2014
I've just retrained into the Spectrum Operations Management Career field last year. I wanted a change and so far I have to pass my 5 level test in order to get to more opportunities in this career field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!!
Knowledge Operations Manager (Former Employee), East Granby, CTJuly 21, 2014
Pros: many pros, got to meet new people...
Cons: not many
Much opportunity for growth, both personally, and careerwise...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Fire Protection Specialist (Former Employee), Topeka, KSJune 24, 2014
Learned alot. I learned who I was, how to manage others and to be a team player/leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Forces Staff Sergeant
Top Airman (Former Employee), Newington, NHJune 17, 2014
The military life is not for everyone but if it is for you then the Air Force is gthe way to go. Their careers can lead you to multiple rewarding careers in the civilian sector.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people
Vehicle Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Port Hueneme, CAJune 7, 2014
Pros: being one of many protecting our country
Cons: as with most jobs, things you have to do even though you may not like it.
I met a tremendous amount of people that were driven and well accomplished. Great place to network whether inside the Guard or as a civilian looking for employment. Also if you want a leadership role, there's opportunity to do so and expand your abilities and leadership skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force Reserve Review
Security Forces (Current Employee), Boise, IDJune 5, 2014
Pros: service to country and benefits such as military discounts to some local restaurants
Cons: health insurance provided out of pocket
Good place to work if you want to serve your country and have a full time career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Military Policemen in the Air National Guard
Military Policemen (Current Employee), Fresno, CAJune 4, 2014
Pros: the pride you take in your work, self image, skills obtain, co workers, learning many things.
Cons: you can become complacent
A typical day for me is starting by arming up with my m-4 in the pre hour of my starting shift. Once i have had my guard mount which pass on's from my supervisor or any one else I head out to my post or job task for the day. Each day I have a different post. Throughout my 8 hour shift i will conduct security checks, check authorization of personal going – more... in and out of the base, check authorization of restricted areas, ensure the safety and security of military personal and military equipment, stay aware of everything that is happening on the base, respond to any emergencies, complete any task that are giving to me and most of all have fun but yet be positive and at all times be professional.
I have learned many things that cannot be writing down. I could go on forever but to summarize it up. I have learned how to be a military policemen in all aspects, a better supervisor as well as a follower. I have learned how to be a better worker and person. I have honed some of my thinking and learning skills such as dedication and being open minded.
I myself am supervisor so overall i think it is good. I myself along with many others are always learning how to be better but overall we ensure the job gets done and yet the moral of our subordinates is high. One thing is that we are always trying to help each other.
My co-workers are great people to work with. They share the same type of dedication. We have our own ways of thinking so in a way its good because you learn a different way to view something. My co workers can come to me for help and wisdom and as I can go to them.
The hardest part of the job is to avoid becoming complacent. My job consist of some daily routing task. When conducting those, one can come complacent.
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with different people and interacting with my different type of people everyday.Also, the realization of responsibility you have comes with joy and pride. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Weapons Armament Specialist (Current Employee), aurora, coJune 4, 2014
Great Organization to work for. A wonderful branch of the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding job
Aeromedical Evacuation Technician (Current Employee), New Castle, DEJune 3, 2014
Pros: great people, education, deployment
Cons: not enough deployment opportunities
Air Force is extremely big on education. I'm going to go back to college and recieve my bachelor in nursing. I wanted to be a part of an organization that was dedicated to helping people and the community. It's a second family and we truly do look out for one another. The most enjoyable part of my job is traveling and educational training that helps – more... me be more proficient in my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job out of high school
Senior Airman - Armed Security Forces (Former Employee), New Castle, DEMay 21, 2014
Pros: nice place, a lot of family time
Cons: long hours
Fun job, It could be really boring at times. The people on base for the most part were really fun to be around. The job was fun and travel was always available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace that requires great attention to detail
Air Force Firefighter (Current Employee), Saint Joseph, MOMay 13, 2014
Pros: plenty of food, excellent time to bond
Cons: lack of sleep, never take time off
A typical day at work would be reporting one weekend a month and two weeks out of the summer at 0800. We have role call, then make sure the trucks are checked out and ready to go. After trucks are checked out we go over whatever training is assigned for that day, and whatever medical requirements or CBT's (Computer based training) each individual has – more... to get done. I work with excellent people. All are extremely squared away individuals, with my Chief and Supervisors leading the way. The hardest part of my job would be staying alert 100% of the time. We never know when we will get called out to an incident, it could be 7:30pm or 4:30am, we always have to be ready. The most enjoyable part of the job is spending quality time with the guys and hearing the stories they share about their careers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivated and professional work place.
Electrician/Airman (Current Employee), McConnell AFB, KSMay 6, 2014
Pros: the pride of being in the service.
Cons: can't complain
A well goal driven job/career where not only you get the opportunity to serve but also get a chance on creating a better/brighter future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Opportunities.
Mission Intelligence Coordinator (MIC) (Current Employee), Southern CaliforniaApril 30, 2014
The Air National Guard gave me not only a steady paycheck but also very valuable training and job skills. I am continually given opportunities to excel in my career and skills. Although the Guard does not always offer guaranteed work, I have yet to run into that problem. They are flexible and helpful in my schooling, which is free thanks to the GI Bill. – more... I highly recommend the Air National Guard if you want to stay in the military but still have a full-time civilian job. – less

1 2 3 4 5

Air Force National Guard Photos