Find companies:
Air Methods Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Air Methods Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this company
Technician (Former Employee), Englewood, COSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: lots of job openings at numerous locations across the country.
Cons: petty, vindictive, soulless bureuacracy, huge potential liability exposure for pilots & techs. many more cons too numerous to list...
I worked for this company as an Aircraft Technician for about 3 years.
The Technicians are treated like slaves and abused. This companies answer to nearly every problem they encounter or create themselves starts with three words, "have the mechanics...________" (fill in the blank).

I saw this company waste literally millions on bad management decisions – more... yet they will make your life miserable if you need something to do your job. As a Technician you will find yourself ever increasingly doing tasks that have nothing to do with your core and most critical duties.

I can safely say I was one of their better employees and I corrected many issues with their aircraft and it's documentation while I worked there. The aircraft under my care were left in better condition than I found them. That's a fact. The first day on the job I determined the helicopter was not technically airworthy as I found it. The point is I did a good job for them as an employee, definitely above average with a significantly higher than average productivity percentage.
When I voluntarily resigned from the company in good standing, they treated me like a jilted bride and sought to harm me anyway they could, savagely dismissing my work record and contributions as well as the circumstances (personal, family) that caused me to resign.

They made significant deductions from my final pay that were essentially unjust and illegal but I could not afford to hire a lawyer to fight this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here.
IT tech (Former Employee), Englewood, COJune 17, 2014
This company is not worth the time. Poor management, no raises, revolving door with employees, Stay away from here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great CoWorkers, Poor Management
Flight Paramedic (Former Employee), Missouri/IllinoisMay 16, 2014
Pros: fellow med staff, pilots, safety
Cons: management, bottom dollar philosophy
The people for the most part were great to work with. However, management wasn't the best at all. I have had better managers at fast food restaurants in high school. Definite favoritism and bottom dollar began to outweigh the patient outcome. Of the 12 people from my base I was employed at (including pilots), 3 still work at the particular base. Wasn't – more... my "dream job" anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace
Self-Pay Collections/ Customer Service (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMay 14, 2014
typical day at work was busy, and demanding. Collections between all employees to equal 100 Thousand dollars each day. Management was very demanding. Co-workers were amazing, the office environment would have been completely different if it wasn't for the office staff. Hardest part of the job was trying to collect payments from families that just lost – more... loved ones. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to assist people with payments and closing accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We do great work saving patients
HUMAN RESOURCES GENERALIST III (Current Employee), Englewood, COMarch 25, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Typical day consist of handling employee relations issues. I enjoy assisting manager with making the right decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a pilot, great place to work
PIC - Transport medical staff and patients (Current Employee), South CarolinaMarch 3, 2014
Pros: challenging work environment, safe focused, good pilot management
Cons: poor leadership on medical side
Air Methods is a great place to work. Great safety conscious work environment, and on the pilot side, management is great with minor flaws here and there, but that is anywhere you go, and Air Methods has the fewest of those issues out of anywhere I have worked. On the medical side, I do not have nearly as many good things to say. The medical staff I – more... worked with were great at most bases I worked at, but the upper management from base managers up were many times lacking. I saw many medical crews being treated extremely poorly from miserable management, management lying for no reason just to make it hard for medical crews and to cause unneeded stress and drama. This may have only been an issue within my state, as I did not see as much of it in other states I worked, but very disappointed that with the medical management within my state, and that they were allowed to keep their jobs, even after many complaints were filed on them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and a great product-terribly mismanaged
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee), Englewood, CONovember 27, 2013
Pros: great people, great product
Cons: ineffectual management
I enjoyed working at Air Methods because of the talented, can-do individuals working there. The product is top-notch and the core business, of configuring custom helicopter interiors for air ambulances is very inspiring, knowing that the aircraft will be used to save lives.
However; the culture is one where friendships and politics are valued above – more... all and if you're not in the "club" you're punished. Working hours are enforced subjectively, and drawing attention to improper practices is viewed as an impediment to pushing product out the door. The Quality Manager has attempted to bring attention to the areas in which improvement is needed, yet there is no sense of urgency by senior management to correct the improper or wasteful practices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change of pace, different enviroment
Planner Coordinator/Tooling Administrator (Current Employee), Englewood, CoAugust 15, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: low wages
Middle Management not very knowledgeable about daily operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Base environment a productive one
Field Mechanic (Former Employee), Saint Joseph, MOJuly 27, 2013
My day started by checking in with the crew (medical and Aviation) to find out any issues that may have been encountered over night or the weekend. I then checked the aircraft, aircraft records and inspection sheets to make sure the aircraft had no upcoming inspections or tracked the next inspections due. I ensured the aircraft was clean and airworthy – more... at the beginning of each day. I ensured base maintenance work area, storage area, base consumables were clean and not expired. The company management has a goal to be safe and a culture of safety, but has a limited supporting effort for mechanic's. I had great personal relationships with all persons at the base. There was no problem we could not solve among ourselves. The hardest part of the job of the job was getting the support of the management in performing some tasks. The most enjoyable part of the job was the relationships formed and cooperation between the medical crew and the pilots at the base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experiance
Ø Parts Expediter/Update Publications (Former Employee), denver coJuly 9, 2013
Pros: learned a lot
Cons: just didnt work out
get parts from one warehouse and drop them off at the shop that ordered them. helped with any and everything I could on the aircrafts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Employer, Good Benefits, paid training
Field Mechanic (Current Employee), Somerset, KYApril 28, 2013
Company is not afraid to provide manufacturer training, health insurance,vision and dental good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air medical profession
Flight Paramedic (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: working on a helicopter, respect from peers in the medical field.
Cons: underpaid and working long hours and holidays/weekends.
Typical day at work can be very slow and boring due to no flight requests, or it can be heavy paced and unrelenting intensity. You really just never know what you'll be walking into. Management is very fluid (lots of turnoever). Co-workers are typically very Type A personalities. Hardest part of job is dealing with the very long hours, working nights – more... and weekends and holidays. Being exhausted from a lack of sleep and a constantly disrupted circadian rhythm is also a major drawback. The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction of knowing you have helped someone during a terrible crisis. Unfortunately the compensation is not comensurate to the work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started off great but things change
Mechanic (Former Employee), MissouriFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: fellow mechanics are great.
Cons: poor management.
I was hired about 4 years ago and things were great at first. I was the fixed wing mechanic and lead for 5 bases. Learned alot of helicopter and even went to 4 tech schools. Then everything changed. Both regional and area managers were fired. Work was added week after week until I couldn't keep up. Supposed to be one aircraft - one mechanic. Many days – more... I had 2 to 5 to track or repair in one form or another. When I complained I was terminated for being unprofessional. If you relocate for a job here. Rent – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean shop, corporate building and friendly atmosphere
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee), Englewood, COFebruary 9, 2013
Air Methods is the leader in medical helicopter evacuation services with over 400 aircraft. It's corporate headquaters are located on the north side of Centennial Airport, but there are bases from Alaska to Key West, Fl. The work is fast paced, but friendly in the 145 maintenance shop. I have learned to be involved in all of the day to day details of – more... the shops and the company. The hardest part of the job has been learning the system which I use everyday. Once I learned it, it has been more enjoyable with less problems. The Co-workers are friendly and are willing to work through problems that may come up through out the day or week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nostalgic experience of military aviation without the uniforms
Relief aircraft maintenance technician (Former Employee), Based out of Birmingham ALJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: new aircraft and supportive tech and supply lines.
Cons: too many arm chair mechanics.
The personnel at the corporate office were very helpful and supportive. The reality of the job was a lot of ex-military mechanics worrying about someone knowing more than they did. The site I worked at a coupe against me by the lead mechanic and his buddy at another location resulrted in my termination from the the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manageable Workplace
Material Handling Specialist (Current Employee), Englewood, CONovember 20, 2012
Pros: great hours, holidays and weekends off.
Cons: no benefits, underpaid, unprofessional people in workplace.
I have a good understanding of production control. I learned how to successfully be a Material Handling Specialist. The management can be very unprofessional at times as well as some of the co-workers. I do not feel that there is a strong management leading Air Methods. The hardest part of the job is not getting the benefits you deserve after working – more... for the company for over a year. The work place has a lot of confusion and misunderstanding due to lack of training and communication. Although the corporation has its downfalls I enjoy the work and feel that I am very good at what I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile working environment, low wage, uneducated management
Collection specialist (Former Employee), PBSOctober 24, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: lowest wage since i was 18, uneducated management.
The management here is ridiculous as the majority of supervisors and managers have little to no education (you only need a high school diploma and work here for 15 years to be a supervisor). Hence, there are a lot of them playing favorites and forming their own clan. Management would not take your productivity and performance into account, you just – more... have to be friends with them. They know how to take advantage of our economy and unemployment rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security. Poor management choices
Flight Nurse/Marketing and Public Relations (Former Employee), Niceville, FLAugust 15, 2012
AMC started out as a good company to work for; however, as time went on they became more concerned about the bottom line than patient care. They are trying to replace all of their twin engine helicopters with singles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Productive negative environment
Full-time employee (Current Employee), Centennial, COJune 3, 2012
Pros: location and benefits
Cons: environment/management
Management by fear managing style along with micromanaging exempt employees as well as proven favortism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unoraganized, but friendly atmosphere
Avionics Technician (Current Employee), Denver, COApril 12, 2012
Avionics installations on medical helicopters and all that goes with that. Very few opportunites to move up and compensation for lead positions is laughable. Co-workers are easy to get along with and very friendly. The hardest part about the job is that they do not have much organization or listen to ideas to help organize. The most enjoyable is that – more... you work as many hours as you want low or high. – less

About Air Methods Corporation

Air Methods has built its reputation on a commitment to quality patient care and safety in aviation operations. Since 1980, we – Read more

Air Methods Corporation Photos