Airgas Employee Reviews

Found 450 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning
Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 2, 2017
You can be fired for forgetting to completely cone off your truck under every circumstance. Management doesn't care as much if customers run out of product, just don't forget your cones and to wheel chock the right side of the truck. They will drive around and spy on you to see if you're doing that. They will hid behind trees and buildings and take pictures, to see if you forget one cone. If this sounds unrealistic, just ask any Airgas driver anywhere. I'm not a disgruntled employee. I just want to make sure that people know the truth before they apply for employment.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes16No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you really need a new job.
Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILApril 27, 2017
It's a strange place to work .. the hours aren't bad . But they arent honest about the work you'll do.. they want you to be safe at all times , but then ask you to break there safety rules .. they say things like " there a really good customer and spend alot of money with us so just deal with it " .. there is no job security at all .. and don't bother trying to advance you can put in for a job and not even get an interview with your own boss.. it's a joke ..
Pros
The hours
Cons
No lunch breaks, no respect for your work, or as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe work environment
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAApril 27, 2017
I have a feeling that my experience was unique to the plant I worked at, but they didn't value safe work practices, and the manager was all about looking safe while getting as much work done as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting position with great training
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INApril 20, 2017
Lots of training but once that was done I feel that they put me in a position that I could not thrive in. Branch level there is a lot of butting of heads that makes me not want to be there. Overall not a bad place to work but maybe just in the wrong position
Pros
Flexible work schedule, loads of resources, good training
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productiv but unorganized work place
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Star, MSApril 18, 2017
productive but unorganized work place long hours I learned that most of the people that work there are not team oriented upper management lack people skills
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pruductive and fun
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Star, MSApril 18, 2017
I am currently working there now and I love it. I am a forklift operator and production operator, The days rotate and it make it easier for me and other to maintain a day to day lift.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Class A CDL Hazmat Driver (Current Employee) –  Waxahachie, TXApril 11, 2017
Good people with good pay. In transition now after acquisition by Air Liquide but seems to be ok so far. Nice new Kenworth tractors. Dealing with ammonia products safety is a must
Pros
Good pay and benefits. New tractors
Cons
Very hazardous materials. Safety very important
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, highly detail oriented.
Distribution Manager (Current Employee) –  Renton, WAApril 9, 2017
Extremely important job delivering gas products that improve, save and enhance life. Very detail oriented and a dedicated work ethic is required. Very physical job moving cylinders. Other divisions do not coordinate well with each other resulting in individual distriution plants having to scramble to provide customers with the required products on time and in the proper quantities.
Pros
Satisfying work with things that prolong and save lives (medical gasses)
Cons
Upper management makes decisions without lower level manager input.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Senior Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 6, 2017
This has been the best experience working for such a large company with a small feel. The culture is amazing and the comp and benefits are exactly what I was looking for. I am so happy with the opportunity NCN has given me and look forward to growing and evolving here. If you are looking for a career, this is the place!
Pros
Benefits, Good Leadership, Growth, Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
QC Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  La Porte, TXApril 4, 2017
Work in the lab is fun and exciting. There are about 15 people in the QC Lab. We run two to three GC instruments each day. It is really satisfying when you complete and approve your product as ready to ship.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great PLace to work
Plant/ Ops Manager (Current Employee) –  Waukesha, WIApril 3, 2017
Airgas is an amazing company to work for. The management is extremely nice as well as HR, and there is always something to learn. Everyday feels like 1/2 hr but its been 10hrs.
Pros
fast days, always something exciting, free lunches great management
Cons
work/life balance - certain employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management not stable environment
Accounts Receivables Specialist - (Current Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAMarch 30, 2017
poor management not stable environment politics on the job

pay is substandard for the work load

no advancement oppornuitys

co- workers are great
Pros
work hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash Application Independence Ohio
Cash Application Specialist (Former Employee) –  Independence, OHMarch 27, 2017
You sure will be posting cash, but majority of the job is contacting customers regarding their account. Could've sworn the job posting said cash application processor. So if you're looking to JUST post cash, keep it moving. If you want to learn collections, get treated like garbage unless you are part of a clique, deal with extremely petty knit picking, deal with negativity and being treated like you're in grade school again, mandatory overtime, including Saturdays, especially at month end (be lucky to get a day notice) massive micromanaging and low moral, then welcome to Airgas! Highest turn over rate I have ever seen in one department. Within an extremely short amount of time, several people have quit their jobs in the cash app department. They don't care how miserable the people are, they are all just numbers to them.
Pros
Onsite work out facility, onsite deli, close to 480, close to tons of restaurants
Cons
Low moral, managers that lead by fear, condescending attitudes from mamagement, massive, micromanagement, highschool cliques, extreme pettiness, performing job functions that you didnt apply for, personal life does not matter
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor training and explanation of expected tasks
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tooele, UTMarch 22, 2017
Airgas is a decent company to work for overall. The division I was in was a new start up with a brand new plant manager. It was very difficult due to very poor communication regarding expectations and having the specific job duties explained or trained properly.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place
Total Access Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXMarch 20, 2017
My time at Airgas has been good, but there are many areas that could use improvement. The sales expectations can be wholly unrealistic and penalize the salesperson over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soild job
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Lodi, CAMarch 14, 2017
Fast pace, counter sale, great customer service, Back up driver. When the manager is not here I open and close the store, bank deposit, and help train new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for young peaple just starting
Plant Operator - DOT (Current Employee) –  Roseville, MNMarch 10, 2017
Airgas has great training. And good benefits for starting families. Early morning starts, and end your day in the early afternoon. I say give Airgas a try.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
night shift was great
C Class Operator (Former Employee) –  Hopewell, VAMarch 7, 2017
I loved my night shift crew. we always worked together and worked toward a common goal. management was unconcerned with the needs of the employees...
Pros
good exercise
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Hopkinsville, KYMarch 6, 2017
I really enjoyed the short tie that I worked for Air Gas Dry Ice. I was only there for roughly 3 weeks as a temp, but I learned a good amount while I was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment in multifaceted industry
Sales Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 4, 2017
Average day is spent working with account managers and directly with customer from varying professions, from industrial to medical.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Airgas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 454 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

CEO Approval

66%
106 ratings
Add your rating