AJM Packaging Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace enviroment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CAOctober 20, 2017
dont really favor the shift managers but if your into fast pace factory type of job this is it. the factory is extremely loud so you have to wear ear plugs to enter. and when you do enter and start to work your own machine make sure to keep up because you can easily get overwhelmed
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Clamp Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Southgate, MIOctober 9, 2017
Bad management everyone's on drugs including management. H R sucks & shady, you'll bust your back for no recognition. But if you make a simple mistake you can nearly loose your job. Not worth 1 minute of your life, turn around now & fast!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Palce to Work
Human Resources Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Southgate, MISeptember 15, 2017
Unorganized, discrepancy between management, trainers, workforce and goals. Lacks safety periodicals and procedures, expectation is to work at your own expense. Broken promises and hidden agendas. Disconnect from corporate to production floor. No respect from community, major MIOSHA violations. Short tenure in your career, if you choose to work for this company.
Pros
Health Care
Cons
Expected to work through lunch, Safety, Production floor is extremely hot at all locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Packaging/Production (Current Employee) –  El Cajon, CASeptember 7, 2017
It's alright . Just not a career Job . Also I feel they don't really care about they're employees . Its very stressful and draining , not a job for everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doom and Gloom
Sales (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, MI 48302September 6, 2017
Terrible experience. Bad management practices are the norm here. Workforce lives with the expectation that every day will be the last. Backstabbing and finger pointing are the the rule. Blame is cast randomly with vague and misleading decisions coming from management regularly. Prepare to be treated without any common courtesy. Not worth a paycheck. Horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive work place
Starpper (Former Employee) –  Folkston, GASeptember 5, 2017
Its fast and can be hot. But it's fun people to work around.........I love it.Wish it get paid every week.............but if you work hard they give you a raise real fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible people running the place and ruthless bosses
Machinist,machine operator (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MIAugust 31, 2017
Bad place to work, horrible Bosses and no organization throughout the warehouse, I did not receive my new jobs salary after being trained for almost 2 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasnt that good of a place did all the training for them even tho i was still in my 90 day probation period
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Southgate, MIAugust 29, 2017
I find this place has hard working conditions they put to much stress in their workers and if you have problems there they wouldnt care to deal with it. They were making me over train people i trained 22 people in the 4 months i was there and was the only trainer
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
People are rude, dont help you at all in your favor over work you
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are friendly, Atmosphere not so great.
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MIAugust 26, 2017
The place lacked organizational, it lacked management, and it lacked the amount of workers who knew the machines. The expect people at minimum pay to learn themselves how to run things. Super unorganized place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just another job
Lead Baylor (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJ 08360August 22, 2017
This is not a child's job but if you like working. its the job for you, yes its hot and long days but it pays the bills so i'm not complaining you also get overtime anytime before or after your shift starts if you come to work.
Pros
raises, overtime, and 3 breaks 2 10s and 1 30
Cons
The heat
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Folkston, GAAugust 21, 2017
You are always moving and its really hot there but the people there are really nice. And they dont treat you rudly even though it is really hot. I really didnt like the heat but they are good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management fears employees, if coworkers dont like you your out.
Packaging (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MIJuly 27, 2017
Floor manager fears certain employees and does what they say. If those employees don't want you there, manager will harass till you are fired or quit. Management needs to screen employees better, good place to see Detroit's version of Sons of Anarchy.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Hires baby killers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced environment
Machine Operator/Packer (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJuly 9, 2017
AJM is a very fast paced work environment...I learned a lit of new skill while working for this company...its a physically demanding job in a hot environment...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced, heavy labor strain job.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CAJuly 5, 2017
A standard day of work at AJM began with you being assigned a position varying between packer or operator. An operators duty was to collect stacks stacks of plates as they came out of the die cutter, inspect them for quality, and then bag and seal them. This was the toughest job in my opinion because staffing was short we were often assigned 2 machines at a time. The machines are high paced and the tables you pick them up from are very low which has led to numerous complaints of lasting back pain from employees. If you're assigned to be a packer then your job is to separate all the plates from the machines your station covers and double check the quality while making sure it was sealed correctly then to stack the plates in the correct amount and box them to be palletized.
Pros
5K life/dismemberment insurance
Cons
Short breaks, poor healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work,but very hot.not temp control
coil adjuster (Former Employee) –  detroit,michigain ,dix high way,3400June 28, 2017
I would work there again,friendly place high production,I loved it.puting coils at the end of machine unbanded the coils put them into the press start the feed.run out coil in 50 min.
Pros
45 min break.
Cons
ins raided it a lot elegal workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is bad
Clamp Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Folkston, GAJune 22, 2017
This company has poor management they don't care how much you get done they always want more out of you they don't like for you to use your vaction days
Pros
good coworker
Cons
no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Values i dont agree with
Manufacturing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Southgate, MIJune 15, 2017
In the beginning it was a good company to work for, I thought. As time went on I come to learn that people are not held accountable, not treated fairly and expected to do extra workload beyond there job description with no compensation. However I learned a lot to enhance my skills to make me more marketable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  Vineland, NJJune 10, 2017
It's very hot in the summer ppl past out due to the heat the work you six days a week no time for your famliy so unprofessional people leave every day
Pros
Great job
Cons
Hot hot hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for the hills!?
Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJune 8, 2017
Absolutely the worst place I've ever worked! They hire you in for one position and then when you hit the floor its like spinning the wheel o' jobs, they put you where ever. Management could give a rats behind about you or any of their employees, your taught to place the blame on someone else, the supervisors are a bunch of cry babies that worry too much about what the other shifts may or may not be doing. They lie straight to your face about raises and if you're a male forget it you're always wrong. The only thing they have going for them is their insurance.
Pros
Cheap insurance
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run fast, run far
Dock Foreman (Former Employee) –  Taylor, MI 48180May 23, 2017
They tell all kinds of stories in the interview painting a picture that they really care about their employees, that its a great place to work, don't be fooled, management has no idea what they are doing, dock foreman are really just salary HiLo drivers making less than the actual HiLo drivers who are hourly, no training on vehicles, you are just expected to jump up and drive everything. No maintenance is ever done on the vehicles. Plant manager will trap drivers in a situation where they can either hit him or damage property, then drug test you. If you get injured to the point where you need to leave in an ambulance, unless you go to Concentra for a drug test instead of GOING TO THE HOSPITAL TO GET TREATED, you will be terminated, saw that happen to three different employees. Has MIOSHA showing up almost weekly with state troopers to even let them in the building for inspection while they expect employees to falsify documents to get everything up to code, if you don't comply, you get written up.

I was there three months, and that was the worst job I have ever worked.
Pros
Absolutely nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AJM Packaging. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 92 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.3
Culture
2.3