Find companies:
AK Steel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

AK Steel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours,hard work
Crane Leader/Mill Operator (Current Employee), Middletown, OHDecember 8, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: no home life
typical day is 16hrs long....very hot and dangerous....job is not for everyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, outdated facilities and equipment.
Certified Crane Operator (Former Employee), Middletown, OHNovember 21, 2014
Compensation was decent. Level of workload is ridiculously unfair. I put in the busiest crane in the mill with a poor production bonus. The only upside I found were decent coworkers that I built friendships with. I had hardly any time off. Never a full long weekend off. And worked my butt off in unsafe conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oppressive Management
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Dearborn, MIOctober 23, 2014
Pros: the checks clear
Cons: you get the sense they hate their employees.
Old-fashioned oppositional management style prevails... Their way or get out. This leads to people responding with passive resistance. The first thing AK did when it bought Severstal was cancel the employee suggestion program, but when you read the job-listing on Monster, it says, "We value our employees' opinions". I hope no one believes a word they – more... say. Dirty, greasy, loud and a million hazards that must be avoided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gfgb
Bobcat Operator (Former Employee), Middletown, OHSeptember 16, 2014
It was alright. Very long hours. thats all id like to say about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work. An opportunity to use all your job skills.
Mechanical Technician/ Crew Lead (Current Employee), Rockport, INJuly 31, 2014
Pros: good pay, always changing work enviroment, use of all job skills.
Cons: small crews, high stress (at times).
After your daily safety meeting you review the DMP (daily maintenance plan). If there are no turnovers from the previous crew you begin your DMP starting with the highest priority jobs. Calls from operations concerning running production equipment take the highest priority. At the end of your shift close all completed work orders, Leave voice mail and – more... turn report. Turn over to the next crew on the day's events and if there is any carryover work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a six month co-op position
Student Worker (Former Employee), Rockport, INJuly 14, 2014
Pros: learned alot about server construction and database construction
Cons: felt the brunt of racism
Was hired and put into a hostile work environment. Was confronted with racism and when I did the "right" thing. Was transferred to another department and assigned a job I had no prior experience with and my co-workers were told to not assist me in any way. The perpetrator was allowed to put in his two week notice and given a two week vacation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Hazardous, well paying, and dirty.
Coke Plant Worker (Former Employee), Middletown, OHJune 11, 2014
At AK steel you can expect to break your back for your money. There's absolutely nothing wrong with doing this, its simply a fact. In my eleven months of working in the Coke Plant, I personally witnessed one fatality and many injuries. While working at AK Steel I learned that working as a team is vital. Everyone working there is there to make money – more... and everyone wants to be able to go home after their shift safely. Management is average. My supervisor was not qualified for his position and the lack of respect his workers had for him showed in production. The hardest part of the job is the heat. You work outside around a very big oven that's about the size of a football field. Just remember to stay hydrated! The most enjoyable part of the job is the pay. The company knows the dangers of the work environment that you will have to work in and you are compensated very well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to intern
Engineering Intern (Current Employee), Ashland, KYMarch 17, 2014
Pros: laid-back environment, friendly co-workers
Cons: bad work/life balance, bad benefits, bad job security
Working as an intern at AK steel is enjoyable, for the most part. The pay is above average, and I learned a lot without being put under too much pressure. The attitude toward interns is fairly laid back; the intern is only expected to plan and carry out minor projects, and to learn and be safe while doing so.

Since I am an EE major, much of my day – more... consists of working with PLCs and other electrical/controls systems. However, much of my job unfortunately consists of paperwork and busy work.

I experienced working with supervisors that weren't very friendly or helpful. I had to learn to be an independent worker, and figure things out on my own.

I would not recommend becoming a manager at this company. Managers are not treated very well, and they are often put under very stressful conditions, work long hours, and stay on call. Job security and work/life balance are particularly bad at AK Steel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Trucks Department (Former Employee), Ashland, KYDecember 3, 2013
Great job with alot of great co workers the most enjoyable part of this job was being able to work at my own pace
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible management
INFORMATION ENGINEER (Former Employee), Butler, PANovember 27, 2013
Company culture was not great but it was during the buyout period. Very hard workers there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last resort
Production (Current Employee), MiddletownNovember 16, 2013
Pros: heath benefits
Cons: swing shift, no work and home balance
Terrible place to work for family life no time off work a lot of 16 hour days and have to be back on the job 8 hours later the morale is bad everyone is tired of being there only one weekend off a month if you are lucky pay is average on the hour you will make 60k because of the overtime the work and life balance is laughable at best I would make ak – more... my last resort once you are there you won't have time to find another job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good pay, stressful enviroment, no job secuirty with the union none.
532 crane (Former Employee), Middletown, OHNovember 12, 2013
Pros: great money benefits
Cons: harsh dirty, bad work enviroment, no job security
Worked there several years. Union shop, workers hender each other. Company is obsess over write ups. Very safe work place. Easy to loose your job, very stressful, and your schedule is on a swing shift. Possible to be forced overtime. The income earning here is awesome. If your only concerned with making money. Very hard to keep and maintain employment – more... not recommended if you are a family man. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been working on the railroad
Maintenance of Way railroad technician (Former Employee), Middletown, OHNovember 11, 2013
Pros: excellent pay, learned a skill trade
Cons: long hours, no days off
Received priorities of work for the day, drove crew truck to rail system that needed maintenance whether it was weather worn rail ties, corroded metal joints, rail spikes, nuts and bolts in the rail system. Good rapport with management and co-workers. Our work schedule was twelve hour days, seven days a week and I had to drive a hour and a half one – more... way to get to work. Serious downside was seeing very little of my family and lack of downtime. The salary and my co-workers were excellent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive but nasty place to work
In-Plant Railroad Engineer Duties (Former Employee), Middletown, OHOctober 29, 2013
Pros: the money
Cons: dirty, nasty area to work
This was a very good place to work, however, it being a steel mill, it was a very dirty and nasty place to work. The compensation was very good as well as benefits. Culture and values, not really. Job security was fairly good unless they had a lock out, which is why I no longer work there. Advancement was fairly good as well while I was there. The management – more... changed several times and was like most companies these days. My balance with work and life was almost none due to the swing shifts I was on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
#1 Priority
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), Middletown, OHOctober 20, 2013
AK wants them to be number one in your life and there is no work life balance. The have a horrible culture of constant degrading workers and making you feel that you can do nothing right. They don't want someone who can make the company better but want someone who is willing to hand out discipline to the union continuously and spend the better part – more... of your day doing it.

I would only recommend this company to young professional wanting to get some experience for the resume and then move on. This company is not a career company but a stepping stone to bigger and better things. They also don't pay very well. I was there for 5 years and got one raise and it was insignificant at best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Challenging
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee), Middletown, OHOctober 18, 2013
Pros: the workers in the maintenance department.
Cons: the shift work and poor morale.
Each day is started with a routine of checking and recording several hydraulic system pressures and temperatures. After those are completed, there are many PM jobs to complete. There are also break downs to troubleshoot safely and quickly to get production equipment up and running.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AK Steel
Crane Leader (Former Employee), Middletown,OHAugust 6, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: little time to sleep between shifts
I enjoyed the endless overtime at AK Steel but the swing shift was not good for family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Middletown, OHJuly 24, 2013
Pros: health benefits, employees
Cons: work 16 hrs a day, sometimes without even a lunch break, get froze on jobs
worked well with others, benefits were great (medical, dental vision).
Management could use improvement, in different departments. Very long hours, extremely hot enviroment, pay wasnt bad, although through our contract, profit sharing was something we were suppose to get, we havent recieved in the past 3 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place for an internship
Safety Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Butler, PAJuly 23, 2013
Pros: great pay, paid lunch, a lot of freedom, great work experience
Cons: some of the safety rules are a little over the top, but i was fine with it.
Great pay, I started at $18 an hour. You get paid hourly but get treated like salary, if you're an intern. I would definitely go back if I ever got the chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make this place your last resort if you apply
Production Worker (Current Employee), Middletown, OHJune 20, 2013
Pros: free water and squinchers thoughout the year, good pay
Cons: no breaks depending on your department, hot as hell, swing shift
While the pay is great if you want a family life this is not the place for you. The job scale for an hourly employee are grades 1 thru 5. A grade one job makes 18 dollars an hour but if you are a new hire you will make 70% your hourly rate your first year and then go up 10% every year after that till you reach 100% at 3 years. Its swing shift everywhere – more... in the plant and the schedule never really stays the same so you can never plan your schedule around anything for family events and others things you may have planned or thought about doing. 1 weekend off a month is about all you get if your lucky. If you are thinking on applying here I would advice to look other places. – less

1 2 3

About AK Steel

Automobile sales help AK Steel's business keep rolling, though it also has operations in the infrastructure and manufacturing – Read more