Akal Security Employee Reviews

Found 97 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism and declining morale makes conditions very stressful.
Special Deputy Marshal (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 14, 2017
Management do not address problems, ignore the members affiliated with the union and there's a network of individuals that can do what they desire without any disciplinary repercussions.
Pros
You are fortunate when you can be assigned to a good squad with a strong supervisor
Cons
30 minutes lunch break edand sometimes you are rushed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is poor. There is favortizum with management and the female officers.
Lead Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 19, 2017
This place sucks. Management never had a schedule ready. The pay would always be wrong. The scheduled hours on the schedule would never be right, it was impossible to make any plans. This place just did not have it together.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Security Guard Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 18, 2017
Nice place to work, serves a great purpose. locations all over. this job can be great start for anyone just as it was for me. they quickly seen my talent and i was promoted fast.
Pros
this is not a physical laboring job
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tsa
Transportation Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 2, 2017
The work environment is not bad but there management skills are very poor. Coworkers are awesome people. Passengers are the hardest part of the job. Getting a new job due to relocation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviornment
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HI 96825May 15, 2017
In this company there was a lot of good shifts and employees with a lot of knowladge about the work that we proform. Working at the front entrance of the Federal building in Hawaii, I learned how to be understanding of the community.
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
no retirerment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to start out in security
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 8, 2017
Akal around the time that I was working there was very unorganized it was very unclean, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there for too long but for experience and challenge go try it.
Pros
BWI airport lunches, parking
Cons
Bathroom breaks seldom
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place I would personally recommend to anyone if seeking beneficial employment
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 5, 2017
I Believe this company would be better if there were more responsible management and supervision. I feel they are not appreciative and giving the proper respect to their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 27, 2017
good company, not so good benefits. Federal contract security. Many different locations i Illinois state. Nice management and work atmosphere.Would recommend.
Pros
salary
Cons
medical insurance expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be better
Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Espanola, NMApril 5, 2017
The company is going through some hard times and a lot of upper management flux. This constant flux leads to a lot of change and uncertainty. However, there are some very good people that work at Akal and I recommend working with these ones very highly.
Pros
Good people
Cons
not very good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of uncertainty
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMarch 10, 2017
Good people but not very stable at the moment. They recently cut numerous senior and mid level management in a restructuring after growth followed by loss of contracts. Not a safe place to work because of that environment. Still act like a small company and have changed their processes, benefits and CEO (three times in last 2 years) recently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
minimual production
Court Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 25, 2017
Poor working curture, constant infighting with security officers. High number anonymous which leads to many false complaints and investigations.
Pros
salary
Cons
short staffed at major locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career with AKAL Security
Court Security Officer (U. S. Marshal Service) (Current Employee) –  FloridaFebruary 18, 2017
AKAL Security careers are highly sought after. They encourage diversity of thought for employees. Pay and benefits are comparable to others.
Pros
Pay. Benefits. Hours of work.
Cons
Lacks diversity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akal security is a straight forward company.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 10, 2017
Akal security doesn't have the best medical care and benefits ..But you can make a good check by working unlimited over time, and u do get a lot of changes to move up in the company ranks.
Pros
Good workers
Cons
Health care, Mandatory over time, drafting
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 31, 2017
nice comfortable work atmosphere with friendly people, wasn't there long enough to see any promotional and pay advancements
Pros
really lked the atmosphere
Cons
I really didn't see anything bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company to work for
Detention Officer (Former Employee) –  Florence, AZJanuary 22, 2017
I was new to this type of work when I started with them, but I believe there training policies were very good for the facility. They also need to be more personnel aware and be able to achieve better moral with the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine place for employment if you have no life or family
Transportation Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MODecember 29, 2016
scheduling- was horrible
work performed- was decent and interesting
co workers- were good
upper management- was spotty at best
pay- fairly competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Hood, TXNovember 18, 2016
It was a good experience working for this company. Working first shift was great because 5 am to 1pm was super. You still had the rest of the day to do whatever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Posts
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 5, 2016
AKAL is a good company to work for they offer room for advancement and professional training.
I was certified to carry a fire arm and taught the basics of being a professional security officer.
They schedule you for training and they pay you for training.
The supervisors when I worked there were professional and were there to help you learn and grow into a professional.
Pros
Room for advancement
Cons
Merged and sold commercial account to Securitas
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Security Company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Hood, TXOctober 13, 2016
Did an 8 hr shift, they have 3 shifts. Trained people with firearms, make sure you were fit for the physical test. management work with you on personal life. Co-workers were great to work with.
Pros
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Lead Courtroom Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 1, 2016
AKAL Security is a great company. From day 1, I felt like I was a part of the company. There was always a professional conduct display by my coworkers.
Pros
Salary
Cons
job advadncement
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Akal Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 100 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2