Aker Solutions Employee Reviews in United States

Found 38 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runs on Favoritism and perception. Only good for project engineers and managers.
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 1, 2016
Stay away from this employer.

Company ran on favoritism and perception. Change of organization every year, some times twice a year.

Performance evaluation is a joke.

Management make their bonuses, talk about work life balance as if they care. They don't. They talk about career progression and model as if that was the way to make progress. Please don't believe that. Unless you are someone's favorite, you will be stuck in same position for rest of your career.

They will hire leaders from competition or small firms directly on the project engineering roles, rather than promoting you.

They don't value experience or education. Only believe in God knows what.

Please don't waste your precious time on this company.
Pros
Good products, have a good chance of doing a lot better in Gulf of Mexico
Cons
Poor management style, outdated performance evaluation, no value for technical personnel, run on favoritism and perception
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Subsea Trees Deputy Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 1, 2016
Good place to work. I had a very good manager that communicated his expectations well and communicated feedback in a timely fashion.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company has changes significantly in past years
Project Manager & Sub-Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 12, 2015
I worked here for only one year and at only one location of this global company. It is hard to rate it based on my limited experience there.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
European owned
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company provided fruit for the employees every week.
Mechanical designer (Former Employee) –  Houston TexasOctober 12, 2015
Typical day , I would get some coffee. Start working on the current project. I enjoyed creating Piping and tubing layouts.

I learned more about computer designing and I enjoyed it very much.

Aker Solutions is a good place to work. Everyone is friendly and professional.

The company kept us abreast of upgrades on the software we used.

Management was very informative to the employees. There were frequent meetings to update the employees wit what was going on in the company.

I don't feel that there was a hard part to my job. I enjoyed all of my work.

The most enjoyable part was what I did, 3D Graphic design.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and laid back envirinment w/parking garage
Sr. Mechanical Designer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TxOctober 9, 2015
Fun place to work with a great Engineering leader.
We really worked as a design team and developed a "Roughneck" machine for standard oil rigs, start to finish, completing the TDP on schedule.
Perks included a parking garage which doesn't sound like much, but in the dreaded Houston heat was a huge benefit when leaving for home.
Pros
Lunch and learn seminars periodically, free lunch and education
Cons
No cons really, other than dress code was strict, but very doable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Project Quality Engineer, II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2015
Great place to learn
I appreciated the individuals who were willing to be mentors and work with others for the success of programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont have startegy
Engineer, Lead (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2015
The managers keep changing after 2 months so the team has no clue or new manager has no clue what is going on. They don't pay well. And they have no work culture. Employees yell at each other no profession ism. No training, no technical sound employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Issues
Assembly and Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 15, 2015
Understaffed, upper management kept re-organizing.
Did not have a clear strategy for obtaining new business.
Engineers did not have enough resources.
Engineering quality was understaffed.
Cons
Little to no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Electrical Engineer II/Control System Lead (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2015
It was great opportunity where I could utilize my leadership skills and played a key role in the development of the project.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Information Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 11, 2015
My co-workers were the best part about the job. They really knew how to come through for you when you were in a rut or couldn't solve a problem on your own promptly. I was able to work through a lot of vendor issues on my own after a short time due to the good training I had there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mechanical Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2015
I enjoy working here, but the oil & gas industry is too volitile. Looking to get into a more stable work environment. Job security is not good in this industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to Work
Coordinator III (Former Employee) –  KatyJune 11, 2015
At the time employed was a laid back Environment and good people to work with. Pay was not the highest but the Katy location was a decent location for commuting. This was before the merger.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work load depend on Crude oil rate
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 7, 2015
No job security. People are nice and friend.

Oversee project status, check all third party inspection work.

Hardest parts are too much desk work.

Most enjoyable part to learn about subsea drilling .
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strange culture
Temporary Assignment (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2015
Very strange culture, my manager was extremely verbally abusive. Office were quite beautiful. campus was also very beautiful
Pros
offices
Cons
bad manager
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Lead Designer/Checker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 11, 2015
Productive and Challenging . I was assigned to two committees withing the Engineering Dept to develop Best Practices for the Solidworks and Department Engineering Manual.
Cons
sweat shop environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively young management
Quality Engineer III & Six Sigma Black Belt (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 5, 2014
The management is relatively young, risk taking & quick in decisions.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no encouragement for good work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
PROJECT ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  houstonOctober 21, 2014
Great place to work and good benefit. Compensation is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome enviornment overall
Document Control Administrator I (Current Employee) –  Mobile, AlOctober 15, 2014
Aker is definitely a great company to work for! A very family-like enviornment that allows you to grow and learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
North America Regional Marketing Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 16, 2014
Hardest part of my job was staying with the brand look, but still keeping it exciting in the various collateral I produced.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well diversed company with great safety culture.
HSE Global Director (Former Employee) –  Houston TexasMay 6, 2014
Excellent company that helped me get well adversed in the Global Safety culture. Spent most of my time on the international Market covering South America and North Africa countries.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aker Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 145 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5