Akerman LLP Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akerman
Spring 2016 Internship (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 10, 2017
As an aspiring attorney, Akerman was one of my favorite jobs. Everybody in the office was extremely hard working and talented. It is an honor to say I have worked along side of the most respected attorneys in the field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-life balance but that may be the only positive aspect of this place
Adminstrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 18, 2017
Poor management( if at all)
Poor salaries that are not reflective of NYC standard of living
Very little room for advancement
Older attorneys do not mentor new attorneys so its hard to develop skills
Pros
you rarely have to work late
Cons
where do i begin...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Tier
"Associate" (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 17, 2017
Top Tier people. Co-workers are smart, engaging, and generally all team players. Hours and demands can be challenging and all encompassing, but you will be around people who will give you as much leeway as needed to make the experience as pleasurable as possible. Also, great benefits for young lawyers including nearly limitless business development account, and cart blanche to go to any industry / networking events, travel to meet clients or counter-parties, et cetera. They also invest heavily back into themselves, so offices, work environment, events, and fringe benefits are top notch.
Pros
Top Tier; firm will give you every monetary advantage to build your career
Cons
Hours; Offices can be somewhat segregated into mini-firms rather then one national team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfairness, office manager has no experience working in a law firm
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas Summerlin, NVJune 5, 2016
Office manager plays favorite. Allow her favorite employee to do what she wants. It's okay for her to work 20 - 30 hrs of OT a wk and she is only able to complete ONE task. This is a fast pace environment but manager looks pass that since they are friends. Manager believes lies from her friend. Disrespectful to attorneys, argues with them in front of other employees. Big turn over. Not enough legal secretaries. Workload is impossible to get done on an 8 hr a day. People stay as late as midnight and work weekends. Forget about having a life. Office manager treats her hard workers like badly. She expect more and no compensation. Only for her lazy, slow, and are friends with. Because the office manager has no experience working in a law firm she does understand the workload of the legal secretaries do.
Pros
Great PTO & health benifits
Cons
Office manger is unfair, believes lies, has no experience working in a law firm
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN - pay is great but expectations are unrealistic
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas Summerlin in NevadaApril 22, 2016
Initially are lured in by friendliness and pay. Manager swears that attorneys are generally really nice people and is ignorant to the rules of court and unrealistic expectations. Famous words: You are committing malpractice. Does not know the definition nor a legal assistant is unable to commit malpractice. Once you are sucked in you will be expected to work until late in the evening. There is NO balance of work and home life. One of the worst law firms to work for in Clark County.
Pros
Bagels and sometimes free lunches
Cons
No breaks, no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 24, 2015
Akerman LLP is very good to it's employees. I really enjoyed working there. They really take care of their employees. It is a great place to learn. They offered numerous classes to their employees.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJuly 4, 2015
Working for 3 or more busy attorneys. Drafting correspondence, hearing notices, assembling materials to send to Judges before hearings, inputting time on daily basis for billing purposes. Preparation of travel and entertainment reports. Keeping docketing calendar for upcoming events. I worked with a wonderful group of other legal administrative assistants and paralegals, who worked together well as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was definitely fun to have worked at Akerman LLP
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 2, 2015
It was fun working at Akerman as I had the opportunity to improve some aspects of the Filing department together with Management.

At times it was a bit hard when I felt a little overwhelmed by the extend of the work that needed to be done and that was left behind by a previous employee. However, I was always able to get the assistance I needed as well as comfort in knowing that my job wasn't overlooked but rather recognized by management.

The company had great employees as others not so great but I believe it is a normal situation in any company. However, never had any major disagreements or any personal encounters with anybody as we all were pretty much quite professional.

It was definitely fun and a pleasure to have worked at Akerman LLP.
Pros
Small company so we got to know each other quite well
Cons
Benefits were great but not so great as most law firms pay for your transportation but not Akerman
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akerman LLP has state of the art computers and offices. The work environment and facilities are favorable.
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 17, 2015
Akerman, LLP is a nationally known law firm with various practices. The firm pays extremely well and has excellent benefits.
Pros
Flexible hours.
Cons
Too large.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Working Environment
User Support Technician (Helpdesk) (Current Employee) –  Maitland, FLFebruary 4, 2015
Great company to work for. It is one of the most organized companies i have the pleasure of working with. Equipment is replaced should it fail with no wait. Staff in IT department are very knowledgeable. Quick pace, many things to do while providing insight to some new troubleshooting techniques. It's fun to present users with solutions to user-specific issues that may arise and their gratefulness after it has been solved. Hardest part is the constant abuse on behalf of some the users when talking to Helpdesk personnel but overall a great learning and stable work experience.
Pros
Great use of resources; knowledgeable staff, good pay and benefits
Cons
Constant down-talking and unprofessional behavior from some users
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than your average law firm
Litigation Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 19, 2015
Typically partners leave by 6 or 7 and associates are out by 8 (unless there is a big case going on). The attorneys are generally more fun and approachable than many other places. They tend to be younger, and it seems like a new generation will be running the litigation department soon. Truly a great place to work where the employers respect their employees and care about them as people.
Pros
In house CLE training; mentoring events; department lunches; small firm feel with more resources
Cons
lacking certain resources that firms of its size normally have (e.g., no managing attorney)
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Home
Closed File Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Miami, FloridaNovember 7, 2013
I have worked there my entire adult life. The people there are my second family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and comfortable environment. Everyone willing to always help one another
Legal Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 2, 2013
Different types of projects every day. I worked in Litigation and Estate Planning. Co-workers were wonderful people. The hardest part of my job was learning litigation. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with people who cared and were helpful.
Pros
Benefits, luncheons, bonuses, snacks and breakfast on Fridays
Cons
Not enough estate planning attorneys in my department
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviornment and excellent benefits
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 5, 2013
Akerman is a great company to work for. Everyone was nice and easy to work with.
Pros
Good people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great firm
Administrative Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 13, 2013
Great work environment. Very professional. There was no hard part about this job. Very busy assignment.
Pros
great people
Cons
costly medical insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 16Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Akerman LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5