Akron General Health System Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible and belittling work Culture from HR to Critical Care Management and Supervisors
Registered Nurse (RN) (Former Employee) –  Critical CareJanuary 6, 2018
The Orientation was terrible.The Overall Demeanor of the Management team makes this Hospital a horrible place to work Your H.R. people and Management people including the Nasty Directors of the Critical Care Units and Charge Nurses to the Supervisors need to be replaced. They obviously are Deadwood and need to be replaced. You need to send them to classes on how to treat people with respect. This Hospital has a bad name with Medical Professionals, Nurses in the Community because of the lack of respect from Management.Do yourself a favor and don't attempt to work here Nurses..
Pros
Pay can be adequate
Cons
Old and disrespectful mentality from HR and Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akron General
Registration Clerk (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 4, 2018
Akron General offers great benefits for its employees and a competitive workplace for those looking to advance in the medical field. The management teams are all proficient in their fields and handle all issues very professionally.
Pros
Yearly Holiday meal and picnic provided to all employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and collaborative place to work
Registration Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lodi, OHDecember 12, 2017
My work day consisted of customer service first and foremost, auditing charts and being manager to staff.

The workplace was a fun environment where all departments work together to ensure that patient needs were met.

The hardest part of my job was being able to accomplish the things I wanted to in a days time.

The most enjoyable was working with the other departments to meet patient needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at VNS Akron
Office (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMay 3, 2017
I would HIGHLY recommend that any position at this facility be passed over. You do not want to work at VNS. Terrible work environment & you cannot trust one person. ALL of management treat staff terrible & all and any personal information about staff is openly discussed among other employees. Including employee health/medical information. Unprofessional on multiple levels & staff turnover is unreal. Nasty, clicks with constant gossip. HR is a joke, and is basically useless and of no help.
The president of the company is useless & doesn't even care about the company at all. You are told there is always "an open door" by management & if you do dare to discuss anything, your business will be known to the entire company within days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive office with positive staff
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 26, 2017
I open and close the office. Prepare schedules for the day, pull patient charts and have handy all the paperwork necessary to update if required. Answer all calls and route them accordingly. Take payment for services rendered and for surgeries. Handle all FMLA requests as well as attorney requests and disability claims. Check in and check out patients. Coordinate patient flow within the office. Communicate with staff as needed.
Pros
Excellent work environment
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inpatient pharmacy
Pharmacy Technician II, CPhT (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 26, 2017
worked Mid-night shift and made IV's and filled medications for hospital and their other felicities. I worked great with the staff and tried to get people excited about our job.
Pros
people, first job when I moved back home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management supports incompetency.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHDecember 10, 2016
There is something to say about emotional intelligence. Doctors and administrative staff work to get rid of employees who know more than they do. HR works against employees because they are too lazy and afraid to go up against administration. There will be a day in time where they will choke themselves and be found out. This is not a supportive environment. Now that Cleveland Clinic has taken over perhaps they can clean house with lame and misguided upper management.
Pros
None
Cons
Selective job advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 31, 2016
This is the bottom of the barrel when it comes to fitness jobs. Upper management is terrible and is never present. They talk about employees behind their backs. No room to move up. Depression settles in soon after walking in the door.
Pros
Not
Cons
The whole place is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unmotivating Negative Atmopshpere With Lack of Leadership
Fitness Trainer (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 27, 2016
Management blames employees and insults them as opposed to finding a solution. Zero room for advancement and no recognition or rewards for hard work. Moral amongst staff was very low. Myself and many other employees hated going to work.
Pros
None
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place
Secretary APG Cardiology (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 24, 2016
The training was very minimal to try to navigate between the different systems was very poor trained and very poorly done. You get thrown to the wolves and expected to learn all the systems and if not you're told that you're not capable of doing the job. I have never been talk to so disrespectfully belittling and bullied before in a professional environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and Physicians needs to work on their communication skills
Technician (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 30, 2016
Very disappointed in Akron General. I was enthusiastic to be part of Cleveland Clinic Akron General. However, my feelings were quickly replaced with regret. Management is clueless along with the physicians. I felt unwelcomed the moment I stepped in to their environment. Please for the sake of the employees, listen and learn from them and try to make things better. The hardest part of the job, everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place great people
Executive (Former Employee) –  Akron OHAugust 19, 2016
The institution lives its mission to improve the lives of the people and the communities it serves. Great people and place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMay 16, 2016
poor management and they will throw you under a bus if they get a chance. Officers are lazy and never want to do the job. Zero room for advancement and it's the good ol boy system for any promotion.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMay 9, 2016
Worked at VNSES and it was the worst experience ever. Incompetent management. Heavy workload for not enough pay. Environment negative. The high turnover is for a reason!
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
poor management, poor pay, poor environment all together
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management delegates/does not work with you/or back you up
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 2, 2016
Worked there for over fifteen years. Money was very good but does not make up for the incompetence of the management in the Safety and Security department. Policy is implemented but hardly ever followed. Management is not good about documenting in writing on discipline whether it be verbal or a first write up. It is "do as I say not do as I do there..." Absolutely no ROOM for advancement there. They also like to promote from the outside.
Pros
Pay
Cons
No management support/no room for upward advancement in management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great cite
senior tech (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 10, 2016
It provides several jobs for my city and surrounding areas. I refer all of my friends to indeed when they are looking for a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get your foot in the door
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 9, 2016
You are able to meet some fantastic people that come through those doors. Advancement is necessary unless you entered on the job you want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,
Housekeeping Aide (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 4, 2016
enjoyed cleaning patient rooms i enjoyed being around my co-workers the hardest part of my job was management the most enjoyable part was learning how the facility operates and how they does things and getting a chance to experience what it was like to be an employee of akron general
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Employee
Visiting Nurse Service & Affiliates (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHNovember 25, 2015
typical day is listed on my resume.
management is working hard to improve technology and improve morale.
Organization is now owned by the cleveland clinic providing more opportunities and growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of Ohio's Top Places to Work
Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 15, 2015
Team oriented workplace. Good at keeping moral up and people involved in decision making at all levels. Good communication standards with monthly office meetings with all areas of the accounting division.
Pros
Any excuse to have a lunch party ie; Cinco De Mayo, Halloween, Valentines Day etc.
Cons
Old building, heating and cooling system inconsistent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 15Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Akron General Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.5
Culture
2.9

Akron General Health System Reviews by Location