Find companies:
Akron General Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Akron General Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
State Tested Nursing Assistant / Senior Tech (Current Employee), Akron, OHApril 5, 2014
I enjoy patient care and i love working in the hospital. I work very hard but, i love to see patients get better so that the are able to go back to thier regualar lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Registration Specialist (Former Employee), Akron, OHMarch 3, 2014
Pros: wonderful clinical staff
Cons: management
I truly loved my job and the clinical staff that I worked with. However, there was a great deal of back stabbing with regards to other registration specialists.

Management never seemed to know what the right hand was doing, and I don't think that they seemed to realize that the satellites where a lot different than the main campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place,team work,Great management
LPN (Former Employee), Akron, OHFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: compassion for nursing and patients
Cons: short lunches patients first always
Very productive work place,patient satisfaction always first and foremost important,great team work the best,learning hospital.I worked cardiology/vascular med surgery floor with endless learning potential and was blessed with great directors of nursing.Co-workers very helpful and a delight to have the experience of advocating for my patients aiding – more... in their care and recovery. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with a variety of health care providers
Placement Specialist, Care Management Department (Former Employee), main hospitalFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: professional atmosphere
Cons: stress, physical
A very safe, productive environment with focus on the patients and their families. Great employee retention programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akron General
MRI Technologist (Current Employee), Akron, OHFebruary 23, 2014
400+ bed, stroke certified, level 1 trauma center in Akron Ohio.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Stow, OHFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: nurse manager is wonderful
I work PRN and love it! The nurse manager is easy to work with. The employees work well as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgical/Trauma Experience
RN (Former Employee), Akron, OHJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-workers and management
Cons: hours and under staffing
I had an amazing experience due to my wonderful co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Akron OhioNovember 19, 2013
Pros: co-workers and supervision
Cons: laid off
great place to work
great supervision
little room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun and educational place to work
STNA (Former Employee), Akron, OHOctober 7, 2013
• Provided patient care to patients during rehabilitation
• Assisted with activities of daily living, administration of medications, and changing bed linens
• Assisted in preparing patients being transported from the facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff members to work with
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), Akron, OHOctober 5, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is spending time with patients and knowing that I am helping with their recovery. I enjoy working with the different staff members and contributing to the outcome if each patient. I enjoy working in a hospital and having large variety of situations and interventions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Staff LPN (Former Employee), Akron, OHSeptember 19, 2013
Modern working environment. Positive attitude and excellent patient care is promoted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Supervisor (Former Employee), Akron, OHAugust 14, 2013
Nice boss, physicians listen to staff. Therapist driven protocols
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Akron, OHJuly 3, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: cons: there may be times, when breaks and lunch come second to patient care.
Every day was an adventure: From basic every day duties to keep the area clean, all aspects of patient care to the totally unexpected crisis. I have found that people who are terrible sick to elective procedures, tend to react well to caring attention.

Management and co-workers cross departments are like family.

The hardest part was making a decision – more... to leave, to work one job instead of two.

Interacting with patients has got to be the best part of the job. Everyone is so individual and special.

The pain family cannot hide when a loved one passes away.

The most enjoyable part of my job was being a part of a team in helping a person in their time of need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AGMC
Worker (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 20, 2013
Each discipline is concerned mainly in their own discourse. Hospital staff very friendly and helpful. System as a whole fairly negative
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AGMCE
CBET (Current Employee), Akron, OHJune 18, 2013
OK place to work mangement micro manages everyone. Does not care about employees as individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a close knit hospital where everyone feels like family.
Parking /Valet Supervisor (Current Employee), Akron, OHJune 10, 2013
I not only conduct my duties as the parking supervisor over valet and parking deck attendants, but I assist the Safety officer with conducting fire drills, as well as the safety audits since I am a member of the safety committee. I always feel I have the freedom to learn new tasks, and challenge myself each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and professional attitude
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Akron, OHJune 1, 2013
Pros: location to my home
Cons: difficult to hire in
Six week contract that covered a large influx of new graduate nurses. Worked a 7 pm to 7 am float shift and my assignment was based on the need of a unit. I learned quite a bit about working in large hospitals especially the logistics and the reach of other support services. I worked pretty much with hospital supervisors at that time of night so I was – more... given independence but was responsible for my workload. The co-workers there were very friendly and helpful. Hardest part of this job was working the shift. The most enjoyable part of this job was the floating to different departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a great place to work
Housekeeping (Current Employee), akron,ohio 44307May 28, 2013
it is a great place to work. People are very nice and the bosses are wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall company to work for.
Distribution Manager (Former Employee), Akron, OHMarch 2, 2013
Each day is different with something new to learn. It was very enlightening to work there knowing how many patients I was helping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see previous review summary (combined AGMC and Revco both)
Pharmacy Technician/Registration/Medical Secretary (Former Employee), Akron, OHJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: great benefits and work environment
Cons: shortage of staff
See previous review which combined both AGMC and Revco.
Learned pharmacy IV admixture, compounding, rx dispense and devlivery. Interfaced with doctors, nurses and other hospital personnel.
Please see other review