Akzo Nobel

196 reviews

Akzo Nobel Employee Reviews

Found 79 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive, great insurance ,good retirement plan
paint maker (Former Employee) –  Zion, ILApril 30, 2015
this company is one the best places I ever worked for ,all of the people were very nice, always something new to learn on a daily basis, safety always came first, company bonuses were always a plus.
Pros
best bonuses, free lunches or dinners.
Cons
safety was their main priority
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCApril 27, 2015
Open office and run branch.
Daily Operations of company.
Closing new accounts.
Daily interactions with customers and co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low ceiling
Class A Operator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 14, 2015
Not a lot of room for advancement or increace in pay. Constant management turnover & numerous injuries per year. Good co-workers. Unsure about the future direction of our company.
Pros
Overtime offered
Cons
Room for advancement. Little to none raises. Too many lost time injuries
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned much
Logistics Clerk (Former Employee) –  Burt, NYMarch 30, 2015
Hostel work environment, did learn SAP program which was my goal to move forward. Some co-workers were great. the hardest part of the job was to please others. Enjoyable: going home.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
Outside Operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXFebruary 27, 2015
I had a enjoyable time working for akzo nobel. Long Hours, great pay. Very savy when it comes to safety. I learned alot while working there, and if it wasn't for personal reasons i would have stayed with the company.
Pros
good overtime, flexible hours
Cons
working in the weather
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akzo Nobel is an great place to work for with lots of learning experiences
Billing Associate (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCFebruary 10, 2015
I am a Billing Associate for Akzo Nobel and every day there is something new to learn. They are a diverse and growing company that has great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Distribution Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Union, NJJanuary 20, 2015
Working at Akzo sure was challenging but I enjoyed it thoroughly. The thing I loved the most about working at Akzo is that I did not have to bring my work home. Great work/life balance! Management was great, respectful, considerate and always showed that they cared about their employees. Co-workers were very willing to help out at all times. Great team work culture.

The hardest part of the job was having to deal with incorrect transportation information on the MSDS's.
Pros
great management team
Cons
being that sight was small and employees stayed with the company for a long time, not much room to move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company promotes safety of its employees
Accounting Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brewster, NYDecember 2, 2014
Company undergoing reorganization; a work still in progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Labor
Batch Maker (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCNovember 25, 2014
Akzo is a great place for young people to get a decent entry level labor position. Advancement is poor, management is always looking to blame the worker for something and there is very little automation (mostly a manual labor job).
Pros
good pay & benefits
Cons
little room for advancement, poor working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company with small company feel
Exposure Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 5, 2014
This was my first big job and I advanced to a mid level managers position in roughly 5 years managing a small lab. I accomplished with an associates degree and hard work

Sadly I'm told that the company has made a great deal of change since my time
Pros
family atmosphere, flexability with time, advance ment, benefits, free thinking
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company
Commercial Vehicles Market Manager (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GANovember 3, 2014
Managed North America for Commercial vehicles department.
Pros
freedom
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Global Great place to work!
Credit Analyst (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 2, 2014
I Iike working for Akzo Nobel because I enjoy being part of a global, innovative manufacturing company. Akzo Nobel is an organization that treats their employees and community with value and respect, and there are many opportunities for career growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, lost management
Process Engineer for Functional Powder Americas (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 20, 2014
Management was changing and employess are getting lost in the power struggle.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to gain the knowledge necessary as an ABAP Programmer
SAP ABAP Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 13, 2014
Work requests would be supplied to me through the Help Desk System with the details necessary to accomplish the task. Also worked with Module Managers who made themselves available to assist in any possible missing details.
Pros
working with the local module managers
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and great employees
Chemist (Former Employee) –  Strongsville, OHOctober 8, 2014
Great company to work for. Helpful staff and knowledgeable staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delivering paint products to body shops
Sales Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CASeptember 8, 2014
the people were great to work with but it was hard to get product for clients
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun place to work
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 27, 2014
This company was a good company with great benefits. We recently were purchased by PPG, is more corporate structure. The company procedures and policies are more strict now. Not as laid back as it once was.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Checking buildings insuring that there are no fires or no chemical spills on the floors. • Signing in and out trucks and sending them to their desig
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCAugust 11, 2014
• Checking buildings insuring that there are no fires or no chemical spills on the floors.
• Signing in and out trucks and sending them to their designated areas.
• Signing in and out tankers and weighting in and out tankers.
• Signing in and out visitors and sending them to their designated areas.
• Insuring that Akzo Nobel personnel are practice safety at all times and wearing the proper equipment.
• Daily rounds for security for all nine building.
• In charge of all paperwork, files and inventory, also daily reports, etc.
• Controlling waste and tanker and truck.
• Operate a switch board and page also Akzo Nobel employee,
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Labeling department (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCJuly 29, 2014
It was a great place of employment. It's too bad my contract was canceled. I really enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my summary
Sales Manager Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 17, 2014
It was a good career that i enjoyed very much. I learned a lot from everyone who I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 196 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture