AkzoNobel Employee Reviews

Found 204 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
ADU Specialist (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILMarch 29, 2016
Was a great environment because of the co-workers. Management was not relate able at all. Always had overtime available which was nice. Fumes inhaled everyday was pretty nasty.
Pros
Free Lunch sometimes
Cons
Management not relateable
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job paid good.
1st Class Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  Axis, ALMarch 20, 2016
It was a decent place to work. Safety was a big concern but it was self regulated,self motivated, and never compensated.
Pros
Good pay and ok benifits.
Cons
Your abilty to do your job well wasn't a benifit.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Akzo Nobel
Branch Manager II (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 10, 2016
Great Company recognizes employees work promotes from within. Assigns expectations affords employees tools needed to accomplish the tasks at hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
Controls technician (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXFebruary 8, 2016
Made good friends with co workers, management didnt really care about employees. hardest part about working there was going into work everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be employed
HR Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 5, 2016
Akzo Nobel is a great community. You feel at home and happy. Close friends will be made. This is a happy all together family/professional relationships.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work Place
HRSSC Representative - Contractor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 5, 2016
I found the HRSSC to be very unorganized and chaotic. The culture on the particular team was very unprofessional and they used swear words like crazy. I was surprised at the lack of accountabiltiy there. I was also surprised that there are more contractors verses actual employees. That was a red flag to me.
Pros
Food provided almost everyday
Cons
Very unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for 5 years
Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 22, 2015
Company was run well before restructuring. Became very stressful after. The entire finance department was shut down. We weren't offered jobs elsewhere in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at but needs to be more organized.
Batchmaker/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 19, 2015
Fun work place. Had great coworkers but just was not organized. Everything always seemed to be out of place. Management seemed to pick and choose the workers from how much they like you instead of your work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a great company to work for
Warehouse Distribution Manager (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VANovember 6, 2015
This is a great company that has taught me a lot about how to be professional and become a leader and a great Manager. This company allows me to enhance my skills and show my leadership within the company.
Pros
Working for a great company that allows me to show my skills
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paste and Detailed Oreinted
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCNovember 4, 2015
fast paste to get raw material received in and also put away. Also put away, pulled finished material on a daily bases to fill customers orders.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Want to know more about AkzoNobel?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Human Resources Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 1, 2015
This company is a fast-paced work environment with weekly deadlines to meet. AkzoNobel is a very diverse company. There are many different managing styles, some good, some bad.
Pros
benefits
Cons
micro-managing
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Wok Environment
Production planner (Former Employee) –  pasadena, txOctober 21, 2015
frequent harassment from management and overall environment was toxic to mental health. A blame game among managers who are not interested in continuous improvement. Not worth the money they pay. Quick to blame and fire in order to protect management. Management fosters a negative work environment which is not productive and creates a host work environment. Very high employee turnover.
Pros
pay
Cons
hostile work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research
Section Head (Former Employee) –  Dobbsferry NYOctober 15, 2015
Wa s a good company when I was there - that was too long agao to make any comments regarding current activities of the company.
Pros
good in surfactants
Cons
poor in end use applications
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of emphasis put safety and thats always good.
Batch Maker (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCOctober 7, 2015
Made Catalyst batches. Handled corrosive material. wore proper safety equipment. Operated forklift to gather materials needed to make batches, read batch ticket first to ensure the correct materials were used and correct quantity was added. Went through the most detailed forklift training ever lasted a day and a half. Also had to fill off batches that made it through QC.
Pros
Good people to work with.
Cons
diddnt like some of the mandatory overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at the time
Technical Director (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAOctober 7, 2015
Over the years Akzo Nobel has had its ups and downs. It is much stronger in the foreign markets especially in Asia. My time at Akzo was rewarding. I learned a lot about their approach to serving customer needs.
Pros
State of the art facilities
Cons
Unable to make it in all areas of the US marketplace
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat Comapny with many resources
Sr. Regional Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Waukesha WIOctober 5, 2015
Super strong company, great product line, knowledgeable team with very good manufacturing, management was in reading PA, no advancement without location
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, IlOctober 3, 2015
Not good, Did not feel was up to my standards. To much favoritism, to many accidents were happening and I was worried about my safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, positive company diversity, unfavorable work/life balance
Senior Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJSeptember 28, 2015
This company offered great benefits (medical and financial) and diversity in the workplace was evident in a positive way. However a work-life balance was not obtainable for those who had small children.
Pros
Great benefits and diversity
Cons
Poor work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An innovative company
Global CRM Implementation Manager (Former Employee) –  Amsterdam, NYSeptember 17, 2015
My 13 years with AkzoNobel has been wonderful. The people care about their work, the teams work on things that matter and I've been rewarded properly for the work I've put in and the value I've delivered.
Pros
Global Opportunities
Cons
Significant change underway internally
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start out as a teenager for work experience
Chemical Operator #C (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCSeptember 4, 2015
typical day: loading the bonding machine for production
start-up and set-up
cleaned areas everyday
maintained a fast-past production environment

managers were all ok people strickly business

co-workers were all strickly business

the hardest part about the job was the heat in the building

the most enjoyable thing about the job was the money@ the time
Pros
the breaks and lunches were perfect as far as time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at AkzoNobel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 684 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8