Alabama State University Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 105 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This institution needs improvement in several areas
Interim Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALFebruary 2, 2016
Employee morales is very low because of excess tasks are being assigned without compensation. Hiring inexperienced staff has also been a major coontributing factor to the decline in enrollment and loss of effecient personel.
Pros
The opportunity for students to achieve higher education
Cons
poor leadership and management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work if you want to grow professionaly
Employee (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALOctober 18, 2015
Not the most supportive environment for growth or personal development. Creativity is not encouraged or supported by any means.
Pros
Great benefits package
Cons
Extreame vacillation between micro management and hands off management style
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Shuttle Van Driver (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALOctober 17, 2015
Alabama State University is a great place to work. The University offers great benefits but the pay scale makes it nearly impossible to life in todays economy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJuly 27, 2015
Working for this University offered both work and educational benefits. My steady work hours, allowed me to go to take college courses as I advanced in work force.
Pros
Percentage off tuition costs for staff!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back work environment.
Science Instructor (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALFebruary 21, 2016
It's a positive work environment that makes employees feel good about coming to work, and this provides the motivation to sustain them throughout the day.
Pros
Most of the time, its a pressure free environment.
Cons
Deadlines can be a little stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful opportunities!
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALApril 7, 2016
I love working at my job, it has such a conducive atmosphere and everyone here is so nice and relatable. They understand that I am a student first and my academic life is well respected.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 28, 2016
I enjoyed working under my supervisor and those within the office I shared. I feel like I worked under the best conditions my supervisor could give me. I commend all of those in the office hard work and dedication they had in their area of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Federal Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GAMay 12, 2016
It was a good job i had for the spring semester. It helped me pay my tuition off agave me something to do everyday. Plus i kept the dorm clean as i can.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMay 17, 2016
I was a fun place that gave you a new experience everyday. There was always someone willing to help whenever confused about something.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence in teaching, Responsive Management
Adjunct Faculty of Psychology (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALNovember 18, 2015
Alabama State University is centered in the heart of Montgomery, AL. Historically, primarily an African-American university, with the new President, it has recognized the importance of cultural diversity in the student body and its faculty.
Pros
World-class leadership, staff and faculty
Cons
Some dorms need renovation and expansion of dorm facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Undergraduate Academic Adviser (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 12, 2016
Experience was good. My Alma Mater. Learned a lot about advising students. Loved working with students. Would love to work there again in the future.
Pros
Long Lunch breaks
Cons
Lunch set for a certain time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALFebruary 7, 2016
Loved working here. Friendly people. Very good support system. I learned a lot about important office skills that I needed to know to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College atmosphere
Human Resources Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALNovember 6, 2015
Working at ASU was a step in the door. Instead of leaving school without any experience, they give you an opportunity to build your resume. You are also able to use them as references.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great.
Assistant Football Coach (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALFebruary 26, 2015
It was just ok job to provided for my family. This was place is a great place to work. Great job. Great people and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company was strictly about working hard.
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJuly 18, 2014
A typical day at the shuttlesworth dining hall was strictly about hard work. The co-workers wasn't helpful as far as helping to complete a tasks it seemed as if everyone cared about there own job. The most enjoyable part of the job was when we were sometimes picked to cater events at Alabama State University. I enjoyed how professional those events were.
Pros
i was allowed to eat free food while i was in school.
Cons
no health benefits or 401k
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a Residence Assistant
Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJune 20, 2015
The Resident Assistant (RA) facilitates the social, academic, and personal adjustment of students to the residence hall and University. The RA develops a sense of community among residents as members of a floor, residents of a hall, and active participants in the residence life system. The RA serves as a positive role model to residents and peer staff members. The RA enforces the rules and policies of Residence Life, Housing and Dining Services and the University. The RA acts as a liaison between residents and the University administration.
Pros
free room and board
Cons
late night work schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Senior Secretary (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJuly 14, 2015
It was a place of a higher education and it was possible to go to classes while working there. It was a very upbeat environment.
Pros
A positive and educational environment
Cons
If your don't have a certain level of environment no respect or advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay focused and get out as soon as you can.
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 26, 2015
Hated this school with a passion, no one seems to have a clue whats going on in the financial aid department. Unless you have a scholarship do not bother.
Pros
A degree
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a company to satisfy customers and enhance my skills
HOST/GREETER (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 19, 2015
I learned how to satisfy customers, what customers prefer and don't prefer. I also learned how to use cashier registers, how to handle checks, and cash, etc,
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day at work
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 9, 2015
• ASU Federal Work Study.
• Filed and corrected paychecks.
• Copied documentation updated the computer data and displayed front desk administration skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alabama State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture