Find companies:
ALAMO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

ALAMO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy interacting with consumers, building solid business relationships,
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 28, 2014
Pros: having to work, perform with little supervison.
Cons: pay structure.
A typical day at work is being energized and making quick informed decisions. Also delivering exceptional customer service, being attentive to the work area and care of vehicles.
I have learned to become more acceptable to changing environments, external and internal.
My co-workers are fun, oriented and pleasant to work with.
The hardest part of this – more... job, I would have to safe is working out in 32 degree weather.
The most enjoyable part of this job is seeing happy, satisfied customers, and meeting a variety of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demading and stressful environment, yet fun and rewarding!
City Station Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 2, 2014
Pros: big bonuses and commisions, competivie salary
Cons: lond hours, unbalanced life, highly demanding and stressful
Working in the rental car industry gave me a very comprehensive knowledge of operating and managing a business. It is a very highly stressed work environment. It compensates you fairly well, but you give up so much of your personal time. I totally learned so much about profit margins, budgets, break even, and profit/loss statements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place. Excellent employee compensation
Vice President of Administration (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: christmas bonuses, profit sharing
Cons: employee turnover
Alamo Services, LLC is a great place to work. The contracts are diverse and challenging. The company has an excellent benefits and compensation plan. You are rewarded well for a job well done. A typical day at work is preparing proposal packets, processing hours worked, Orientation or new employees and training if needed. The most challenging part of – more... the job is hiring quality employees who are serious and dedicated to working convention security. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work with tons of commision
Rental Agent (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: i liked this job just because it was really laid back.
Cons: you had to be flexible
I worked in return agent which is pretty much return the cars,check the cars for scratches to seeing if theres gas in the car then I give them there reciept and direct them to the counter. Then, I got moved to the booth which is where I would check there contract to see if they got the right car. then ask then If they needed any directions. Finally, – more... I became a counter agent were I do everything from finding the customers the right car to best fit there need and make some upsales along the way.

The thing I found enjoyable was the commission and the hardest part was the hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Service Agent (Current Employee), PiladelphiaJanuary 7, 2014
pay too low and working outside all day in the winter is too cold
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Degrading and False Work requirements
Car Sales Agent/Commission based (Current Employee), Jamaica, NYJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: great commission and flexibility with school schedule. great health care
Cons: having no cars, or dirty. constant rules changing in workplace
I have been consistently the top sales agent at the location in JFK airport.
A typical day at work is unpredictable.
Often we don't have cars to accomiodate customers reservations, and resulting to customers unhappy and waiting.
Our commission is conflicted without essential tools needed to upsell customers or to give rental products. \
Branch manager – more... often changes rules.
If customers aren't completely satisfied management will blame the employees even when given stellar service.
My co-workers are some of the most hard-working young adults in their 20's that i've ever seen before and are often taken for granted.
The hardest part of my job is having to tell the customers we don't have the car they reserved and must wait, after getting off long strenuous flights to come in our establishment and not get what they paid for.
Sometimes we don't have working faciliities such as the one bathroom that customers, and employees use, heat, and air conditioning.
We're in a trailer in queens, built between sanitation, airport food service, and a sewerage plant, so often it smells when customers arrive.
The most enjoyable part are my close colleagues (rental and return agents) and customers that leave with a smile.
Managment doesn't have a close knit with their team because their main focus is getting their promotion and not caring about their employees needs. (ie. cars, products to sell, etc.)
I've learned a great a deal of patience and about cars. I can spot some cars, and automatically know the making or model of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Staff
Security Guard (Former Employee), New Orleans, LANovember 16, 2013
Pros: dont have none
Cons: ok pay
Good place to work no probleams
managment is ok
coworkers is nice
nothing is hard just have to stand for long periods of time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not satisfied
Security Officer (Former Employee), new orleansOctober 9, 2013
The hours and pay were horrible Write reports of daily activities and irregularities, such as equipment or property damage, theft, presence of unauthorized persons, or unusual occurrences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First factory job
Mig Welder (Former Employee), Gibson City, ILSeptember 11, 2013
Little to no advancement and training options. Great hours for the family man.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's hard to advance
Return Agent (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 7, 2013
Pros: job security, good coworkers
Cons: no advancement
unless you go work for enterprise you will never become manager or advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to
Service Agent (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJune 5, 2013
Pros: great place to work
wash an clean cars
my co-workers were great
need better managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional
Station Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 23, 2013
Pros: room for improvement
Cons: management is by ethnic preference
great way to obtain management experience, co workers are friendly..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great pace to work
MATERIAL HANDLER (Current Employee), Gibson City, ILApril 16, 2013
Cons: working on low end of pay scale, long hours, unorganized management, lack of room for materials
Looking for parts that are supposed to be in a primary spot, but the parts are usually in six different locations. While working, you are cautioned to watch out for lakes of water on the floor and falling parts due to using pallets instead of shelving. There is also water dripping on light fixtures. There is nothing enjoyable about this job and compensation – more... is not acceptable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Service Agent (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 26, 2013
Delivered cars to dealers ships. Everyone was helpful and nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place to work for.
Cycle Counter (Current Employee), Gibson City, ILDecember 17, 2012
Pros: being able to do this job on my own with having the boss following me around
Cons: not always finding the parts i am looking for.
I start with paperwork with part numbers and location that I have to verify and count. I have learned that this job is not easy as I thought it would be. Managemant is ok but not the best. Most of my co-workers are really nice and helpful. The hardest thing about my job is is it not always easy to locate parts.The most enjoyable part of the job is that – more... I am pretty much on my own doing this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep.
Customer Service rep. (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLNovember 14, 2012
I fielded calls from Us and international customers and rented vehicles.I also handled any prblems or issues the customer may have had in a professional manor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced.
Exit Booth Agent (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 9, 2012
A typical day for me at this job involves meeting all kinds of people from different parts the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for busy students
Rental Agent (Current Employee), Portland, MEMay 10, 2012
Pros: diverse group of people to work with, meeting new people everyday
Cons: running out of cars
A typical day at work would vary for me. Maine is a seasonal destination,so most of our busiest times were in the summer months. We would handle about 300 reservations a day while maintained fleet and great customer service. Although we have had a number of different managers through the years, I've learned so much from my current team. My current managers – more... have taught me how to handle difficult situations with customers, think on my feet, and make judgement calls in certain situations. They have also provided me with information pertaining to the inner workings of the company to help me better understand the operation as a whole. My co-workers are exceptional to work with, we have each other's backs and we all understand our responsibilities and the overall task at hand. With so many different personalities and backgrounds, we work together exceptionally well. The hardest part of my job is dealing with upset customers, you never know what might trigger an outburst or what you said wrong, but the important thing to remember customer service as your primary goal. My job is to de-escalate the situation and help the customer in anyway I can. Easier said than done sometimes, but most situations arise due to lack of communication. The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting new people everyday, gives you a chance to see the country or world in some cases through someone else's eyes. I truly cherish the number of diverse people I've met while working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place
Counter Agent/Return Agent (Former Employee), Colorado SpringsMay 7, 2012
Pros: easy slow job at night
Cons: not much support from management at night
Ok place to work pay vs cost of benefits is ridiculous it was an easy job at night if there were alot of cars available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place keep you busy
Lead Service Agent (Former Employee), Atlanta GaApril 11, 2012
Pros: discount on rental cars
Cons: working in all types of weather
Terrible new management different rule's daily.Supervised up to 20 service agents who inspected and cleaned vehicles for rentals and returns, tracked available rental vehicles for reservations, determined when to shuttle in/out fleet vehicles based on reservations volume; input critical inventory information into database for newly arrived vehicles. – more... I also maintained the high powered vacuum and carwash systems to keep them working properly. – less