Find companies:
Alaska Native Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Alaska Native Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Medical Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKMay 29, 2014
I loved working within ANTHC. It was a busy place to be but I sure enjoyed it! I have learned how to deal with patients, customers. I work well with my co-workers and supervisors. I have the most respect for everyone I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed learning a new culture.
ED, Staff RN (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJanuary 29, 2014
The Alaska Native medical Center introduced me to the Alaska native culture. It was a good place to learn the Native culture and the health concerns associated with them. Also being the highest level health facility in Alaska gave me the opportunity to work with high acuity traumas. The only reason I left so fast was the opportunity to become a flight – more... nurse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Lab Assistant/Histology (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKDecember 16, 2013
Prepared Histologic slides for microscopic examination. Prepared sections of human tissue for immediate examination, using rapid tissue processing plus frozen section techniques to freeze, cut, and mount stained tissue specimens from surgery. Prepared slides of specimens using special stains to enhance visibility under the microscope. Examined slides – more... under the microscope to make sure tissue preparation meets laboratory standards. Assisted in Autopsy's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile and Descriminatory
Clinical Engineer (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKDecember 2, 2013
Pros: no management
Cons: no management
Employees were punished for being goal driven.
Native employees were promoted for not doing their job while White employees were reprimanded.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work.
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKNovember 25, 2013
Enjoy providing quality care to the Alaska native population and learning about the different cultures in this beautiful state.
I appreciate the opportunities management has given me to learn new skills and grow in the diagnostic imaging field. One of the most enjoyable times are evenings and hearing the native dancing, drumming and singing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Native
P.S.A Patient Service Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKNovember 5, 2013
Pros: woking with my people, great team
Cons: loved it
Provides basic care including hygiene and assists with activities of daily living. Bed baths, showers, grooming, dressing, toileting and elimination, monitoring body functions, preventative skin care, incontinence care, feeding, oral hygiene, assists with mobility using safe transfer techniques, range of motion, ambulation, care for the patient’s environment, – more... and application of safety measures to all patients. Obtains and records vital signs, temperature, height, weight, girth measurements, incentive spirometry, calorie counts, and other specific parameters as directed. Documents findings on appropriate electronic health record (EHR) flow sheet and reports findings to the Registered Nurse (RN). Identifies and reports changes in patients’ status to the RN. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progress Report
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 15, 2013
Pros: there were advancements, training and good benefits.
Cons: transportation to and from the remote areas, sometimes made it impossible, due to inclement weather.
Alaska Native Medical Center is a great place to work. Not only because of the cultural aspects and diversity of tribal people work there, but the opportunity to advance in job opportunities and training. A typical day at work is everyone is glad to see each other and treat everybody with respect and as a family. The management in some departments I – more... thought needed more management training. My co-workers were cooperative and considerate and work with dignity. I don't think there was a hardest part of the job except when it came to bilingual to interpret. So therefore there would be a diversity of bilingual culture(s) to speak on behalf of the patient. I'm also speaking from the time I was a Ward Clerk on the Orthopedic Ward, Community Health Aid Representative and the Radiology Department. The most enjoyable part of my job was make sure and get the job done with dignity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and benefits
ICU Nurse (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 24, 2013
Cons: management
A terrible experience, ICU with very few experienced RN's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced highly productive workplace.
Server (Current Employee), Anchorage,AKJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: free lunch, fun/interesting people to work with, always something to do
Cons: poor communication, difficult customers, uneven workload, full time hours with no benefits
A typical day at work consists of of me juggling between my actual job and helping others do theirs. My job is fairly simple but, is made complicated by others not pulling their weight. I like the people I work with,however, I don't like their work ethics.I've learned how to handle high stress situations and how to maintain composure when dealing with – more... extremely difficult people. There is no level playing field there when it comes to management. Frankly, those who have pretty much given the company 3-15 years of their live can pretty much do and say what they want. I deal with high volumes at customers at time and because of cultural differences,communication can be difficult. I enjoy learning things about the Native culture from some of the patients.I do like being busy and there always something that can be done.My main supervisor is outstanding and extremely helpful but,will be promoted so she will be leaving soon.I've met some awesome people there and that is nice. The medical staff is friendly and take the time to learn your name and try to cheer you up when they see you're having a hard time. Overall, I like my job but, am not satisfied with my status with the company. I am schedule to work full time hours but, I will not receive full time benefits. I've given this company a year and I have nothing to really to show for it. .The thing that upsets me is that when I was hired,I was told I was suppose to be full time. After I passed my 90 day probation period, no change was made to my work status.Also, you deal with a lot of sick people so expect an occasional bug to be passed around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great uniformed service
Safety and Security Manager (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKOctober 2, 2012
Pros: the people were professional and caring.
Cons: nothing i care to consider.
I loved the work and all the challenges that were presented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forcing workers to give up their Federal job and direct hire to their company
Communcatios Operator (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJuly 12, 2012
Forcing Federal workers to quit their Federal jobs and go direct hire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Chart Review Rep (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 27, 2012
Pros: working with providers and learning
Cons: short lunch 1/2 hour was all or being late and getting 1/2 point.
I would arrive at work at 7:00 am worked till 2:30 pm. Worked in the Incomplete Chart Room, made sure charts Day Surgery and Inpaatient were in order before they went to the main chart room. Worked with the physicians, if they needed reports, etc, would get them for them. Ordered supplies, was back up for the time keeper. Learne a lot while there, how – more... to work with charts, side by side with co-workers. Hardest part of the job was reading the charts if we had to, the easiest was working the the providers, and helping out when i could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed doing my extern at AMNC-ENT
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKMay 9, 2012
I have learned that working at Ears Nose and Throat is alot of fun. The hardest part is that working working with difficult patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKApril 12, 2012
Pros: the atmosphere
Love working for ANMC! People are great everyone is pretty friendly as are my co-workers :)