Find companies:
Albany Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

Albany Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Communications Team (Former Employee), Albany, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: environment
Cons: wages
wonderful place to work, was able to learn everyday, the management and coworkers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic center - great place to learn and grow
AFFILIATE STAFF - DEPT. OF EMERGENCY MEDICINE (Current Employee), Albany, NYMarch 14, 2014
Pros: great learning, excellent autonomy
Cons: below average benefits, below average salary
refer to summary,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Manager (Current Employee), Albany, NYMarch 13, 2014
Pros: personal time off, atmosphere condusive to learning, great management.
Cons: none so far
AMC is a wonderful place to work and gain experience. A typical day at the med is extremely busy. We have a beautiful new department we moved into this past year. I feel we have some of the best tech's in the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching experience
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Albany, NYMarch 10, 2014
Pros: the yearly appreciation from higher staff
Cons: not enough communication
Working at Albany Medical Center has taught me a lot over the years. It was very hard for me to walk away from a great place. Over the years major changes have been made. New staff, new managers and a new facility. During time things are suppose to get better with age, unfortunately not in this department. To many Indians and not enough chiefs.........
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced teaching hospital
Echocardiographer (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great learning and advancement opportunities
Cons: husband military career required us to leave.
This was a amazing place to work. Working closely with the Doctors and other technicians I was able to see many different aspects of my job that I may not have seen in a career worth of time at smaller hospitals in remote locations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working there
Patient Care Technician, SICU (Former Employee), albany nyFebruary 23, 2014
Was only employed for a short time because of a move but have no complaints about job, environment or patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Administrative Support Associate - Manager Support (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 18, 2014
I have worked here for almost 2 years and love it. Albany Med is a very good hospital and they focus on patients over everything else which makes working here easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding management team, highly skilled nurses, outstanding human resources department,
PCA (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Parking is close to the hospital and monitored by security. The nurse managers for my unit, PACU were in the department every morning to greet the incoming shift of all staff members. The department is team based and operates proficiently so. The charge nurses for PACU are the most knowledgable and educated I have had the pleasure to work with. These – more... nurses are prepared for ANYTHING! The hardest part of my job was seeing the sadness of loss of life. The most enjoyable part of my day was to make my patients comfortable and smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Job
Medical Social Worker /Discharge Planner (Former Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Company lacked management skills. Company had horrible benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous learning experience as first RN job
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Albany, NYFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: education and clinical support
Cons: salary
Typical day: 5-6 Vascular patients who need comfort, assessment, prepartion, teaching and close monitoring. As a Vascular RN you do everything from the bed pan on up. It is everything a nurse is.
Learned to think critically and treat individuals in a wholistic manner. Very difficult and complicated floor to work on. The physical demands can be exausting, – more... but discharging a patient home is the most rewarding experience. This has been a fantasitc expereince and I will always be thankful to my boss for hiring me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Case Cart Coordinator (Former Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Learned a great deal about medical supply, serviced the OR and received over 200 phone calls a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Receptionist (Former Employee), Albany, NYJanuary 17, 2014
A typical day at work for me when I was working as medical biller/patient check-in and check-out was the ability to greet patients, answer any questions they had or concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Registered Nurse - Level 4 (Current Employee), Albany, NYDecember 20, 2013
Albany MC is a great institution that offers it's employees many opportunities to grow and learn in nursing and many other fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High performance
Project Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), Albany, NYNovember 21, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: some politics
Difficult and exciting position. Produced many new processes, purchased a lot of equipment and learned a lot about construction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INTERNSHIP
MARKETING & STRATEGIC PLANNING INTERNSHIP (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 20, 2013
-GREAT RESUME BUILDER
-GOOD COMPANY
-HARD WORK
-GREAT PEOPLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with Dunkin Donut on site.
Practice Coordinator (Current Employee), Albany, NYOctober 29, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: tend to be a bit political in nature
An organization with emphasis on teaching, research, and personal development. Where communication is a vital part of each departments, staff enjoy going to work knowing that they are a part of a team that cares. Also, a fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Values and Mission of Hospital are admirable to say the least.
Patient Support Associate Supervisor (Current Employee), Albany, NYOctober 15, 2013
Pros: great management team
Cons: low pay levels
management team is very innovative and believes in emloyees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
ASA VI (Current Employee), Albany NYOctober 9, 2013
Pros: healthcare benefits, good hours
Properly putting a patient's demographic and insurance information in the financial system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume and busy/ stressful environment.
registered nurse III in general surgical unit (Former Employee), Albany, NYOctober 1, 2013
Salary was always moderate to low. Management distant and disconcerned with personal needs. The hospital itself always seemed to be expanding and profitable, however the salary and yearly evaluation/raise did not reflect my hard work and sacrifice. Over all low moral of employees. After 10 years of service to the hospital, I was paid better to start – more... a new job at a different hospital doing similar jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee and community focused with opportunities for personal growth and development.
Practice Coordinator (Current Employee), Emergency MedicineSeptember 29, 2013
I enjoy the commaraderie of my fellow co-workers and the relationships that have developed over the years. This helps generate new learning and skills not only for your job but life as well. As Albany Medical Center is a hospital and medical college, there is a great diversity of people who either work and study there or are members of the community – more... requiring its services. Many times you find yourself assisting someone navigate their around the many corridors and hallways. Nothing beats the thank you and smile you receive from someone you have helped. – less

1 2 3 4