Albemarle Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCJune 10, 2017
I worked in Med-surgical and one challenging yet exciting aspect of this job was not knowing what you would see for the day. The staff here was family-oriented and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCMarch 18, 2017
Corporate nursing is just not the same as years ago. Pay is getting better, benefits good. Patient ratio will kick your butt so be prepared to work like crazy and be minimally staffed. Demands always changing, work in progress I guess. It's difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town feel
License Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCOctober 18, 2016
Enjoy working with patients a staff
Medical surg floor taught how to care for all patients
Staff great
Manageable scheduling
Doctors work well with staff
Pros
Location
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
RN (Former Employee) –  ECNCMarch 16, 2016
First experience out of nursing school. Unique and learned much under the leadership of some skilled and great nurses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Sterile Processor (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCDecember 16, 2015
i wasted years of my life at this place horrible pay horrible management just horrible. i dont recommend to anyone. i really hope this place has improved after new managment took over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working at Albemarle Hospital, just needed a change.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCOctober 21, 2015
Really enjoyed working with the patients, assisting them in their needs as well as the employees. Overall it was a pleasant atmosphere to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work-co-workers great-
Environmental Services Technician (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCOctober 12, 2015
I enjoyed working at night-got more done without too many employees in areas-sometimes very busy-Great benefits. Interesting atmosphere-great co-workers to work with and Management.
Pros
hours at night
Cons
sometimes very busy but made time go by fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hang'n There!
CT/Rad Tech/FLEXI (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCApril 23, 2015
Love, love, love Albemarle Hospital, now Sentara Albemarle Medical Center. Busy, busy, busy... never a dull moment! CT department is phenomonal. Radiologist great to work with. the hospital has been through multiple changes in past 2-3 years with Elizabeth City relinquishing the reins for Sentara Healthcare to take over. It's been a difficult road for all the staff and departments, but, she's pulling through like a champ! Other than the hiring freezes and pay increase freezes over past 3 years, it's a great place to work!
Pros
Opportunity to grow as Sentara increases services
Cons
Will still be a while until employees get marketable pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCMarch 29, 2015
Great place to work. This is a great hospital everyone is very nice. The healthcare is great Nothing bad to say about the hospital, benefits are good,
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth City NCOctober 19, 2014
Recently changed organizagtion not pleased with current management.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCOctober 13, 2014
I loved my job but did not agree with a lot of the guidelines of the facility
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with in the compunity
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City N.C 27909May 21, 2014
Ihave great thing to say about the job, but it was the management that didn't see the employee's needs.
Pros
A good place to work
Cons
Need more training for management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Albemarle Hospital
Distribution Technician (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCMay 12, 2014
Gained a lot of warehousing experience in this role. I felt like departments were very segregated and did not function well as a team. Co-Workers as a whole were not friendly and looked down on new employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment
Interim VP/ Director Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCMarch 17, 2014
Warm and friendly people. Team work environment, support Administration.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with many opportunities.
Patient Registration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCMarch 12, 2014
Working in the emergency room can be high paced at times and slow at others. Working here was a great opportunity to meet doctors in the area and gain experience to further my education and lead me in my current professional path. There were problems with management at the time. There seemed to be favoritism to others, even though they did not follow the rules. Meanwhile, hard working people seemed to get reprimanded for nothing. This is part of what lead me to leave this job.
Pros
The overall work environment was great.
Cons
Not many breaks, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love everyone I worked with
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City NCMarch 11, 2014
I loved everything about this job. The hardest part was getting attached to the patients and they pass away.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Financial Counselor (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCMarch 10, 2014
Great staff and clients at Albemarle Health. This is the best place to work in Elizabeth City North Carolina. The every employer that I know is very concern with the patient health.
Pros
Very interesting experience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
patient care for inmates
CNA-Unit Coordinator-ER Tech (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCAugust 28, 2013
blood draws, assist asthma inmates, wound care, documentation of paper patients and physician
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CT Technologist
CT Technologist (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth CityJune 14, 2013
work with great coworkers and great equipment
management is not consistent
I learned a lot from my lead in CT
I like taking care of patients
Pros
great patient care
Cons
work alone mostly
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast-paced, busy, fun, fulling work environment
Patient Access/ED registration rep (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCJune 3, 2013
A typical day at work is different, there is something new witnessed or learned everyday in the emergency room. I have learned how to register, and verify patients information and insurance. Management is very cooperative and caring. My co-workers are nice and team players. The hardest part of the job is registering a (DOA), or the triage nurse having the patients name or birthday incorrect. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people everyday and helping patients receive the care that is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Albemarle Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3

Albemarle Hospital Reviews by Location