Albemarle Employee Reviews in United States

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, decent benefits
Analytical Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  La Porte, TXMarch 10, 2016
My reason for wanting to leave is strictly due to my manager and my lack of advancement I think the benefits like vacation time and maternity/paternity leave are great as well as 401K match, sick time and health insurance could be better. I love the 9-80 schedule
Pros
9-80 schedule, vacation time
Cons
sick time, health insurance, no real bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean place to work.
R&D Chemist (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 7, 2016
As far as plants go, Albemarle's PDC is well kept and maintained. Unlike other facilities I have worked in, I never felt unsafe during my time at Albemarle.
Pros
9-80s, intelligent coworkers.
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, safety culture
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJanuary 28, 2016
Great mix of computer work and field work
learned teamwork skills and valve interactions
Great leaders in management
Co-workers were very helpful and knowledgeable
Hardest task was cutting cost in designs
Lots of hands on experience
Pros
high energy, safety culture
Cons
away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with lots of opportunity to learn
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Magnolia, ARNovember 8, 2015
A typical day started with a safety meeting with operators and engineering. Then moved to working on process modeling and system design. The management and operations was very helpful when it came to answering my questions and helping me with my projects. The hardest part of my position the step learning curve that comes with learning a new modeling program. The most enjoyable part was going out into the field to troubleshoot process issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opprotunity
PROCESS OPERATOR/ ERT (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXOctober 27, 2015
Albemarle has given me a great opportunity to acquire the experience in Chemical Plant Operations that I desire. This is the field that I want to stay with and retire from and I feel that Albemarle gives me a wide variety of Operations including batch process, continuous flow and distillation.
Pros
Experience, competitive pay, overtime availability
Cons
Management and leadership is sub par, faulty equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting day to day work at a chemical manufacturing facility.
Contractor Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  Maintenance AnnexNovember 3, 2015
I visit with contractors on site, auditing their work processes and techniques, providing coaching when necessary to ensure that they are working in the safest manner, not with a false sense of security.
Pros
Every other Friday off.
Cons
None that comes to mind.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place i would recommend
Sr Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baton RougeSeptember 29, 2015
Lots of change with purchase of a new company. Experienced people have all been pushed out. Not sure of the direction of the organization. A major bet being placed on electric vehicles. If this bet fails so will the company
Pros
some great and experience people to learn from
Cons
management that only rewards people they like, a culture that punishes risk taking
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Technology Resource Internship (Former Employee) –  TXDecember 15, 2015
Great company to work for, very laid back. Do your job and you get treated like an adult and given plenty of responsibility as in intern.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Lot of busy work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Intern
Maintenance/Reliability Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCNovember 11, 2015
Great experience working at this plant for a semester. The engineers are helpful and willing to teach. Great leadership as well.
Pros
Good Leadership
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of change....
Leader (Former Employee) –  Baton RougeSeptember 9, 2015
Albemarle is going through a cycle characterized by a lot of change. Lots of M&A activity. Hard to say what Albemarle will be, but it won't be what it was - for good or for bad.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Lacks an ability to commit and finish what is started.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers,company lacks management
Detail Foreman (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAAugust 20, 2015
Great pay and benefits. Growing seems to be an issue, not hiring experience to grow with the company. Seems to be a revolving door with new hires
Pros
Pay benefits
Cons
production support
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it's moderate when it comes to fun.
Caregiver/Sitter (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Tarboro, NCJune 5, 2014
Typical day at work, since I been on third shift, it
is quiet and calm. What I learned from my job is patience in dealing with all types of cultures and people. Management is alright and accurate. My co-workers are amazing and hard working women. The hardest part of the job is working third shift when you have a day ahead of you or an appointment the next morning. The most enjoyable is interacting with others and learning from them as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but no advancement
Analytical Chemist II (Current Employee) –  houston,txNovember 24, 2013
Typical day- Continuously run a unit and maintain a high level of sample output
Learned-Lean,5s,Leco,GC,FCC
Managment- Excellent
Co-workers- Excellent
Hardest part of the job is maintain sample output while doing other side projects
The most enjoyable part of the job is that work stays at work.
Pros
401k, healthcare
Cons
no advancement, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place job.
Operator (Current Employee) –  Pasadena,TxOctober 15, 2014
Great people that work here, but not a family base company. The main thing around here is get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Director, Risk Mgmt & Audit, Chief Risk Officer (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 31, 2013
Fullfilling job opportunities; challenging yet fun and interesting. Great culture and people.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
QC Lab Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXAugust 1, 2012
Great Place to work if you like Shift Work. Highly Recommended almost perfect job
Pros
long change
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8

See more Albemarle reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.8