ALCO Employee Reviews

Found 137 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked my job at Alco because I met new people and was able to help customers.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Prague, MNMay 25, 2017
My boss at Alco was not very friendly and not real good at being a people person. This was a second part-time job for me.
I enjoyed working or retail job stocking shelves and being a cashier.
Pros
I was able to help people out and I enjoyed the cashier and stocking shelves
Cons
The pay was not the best and the boss was not very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out of businesses anyway
Group Manager (Former Employee) –  Sidney, MTMay 11, 2017
our location was a brand new store with a manager that i guess had no idea how to open a brand new store. She drove out a lot of lower managers and scared away a lot of employees. very demanding and no matter what you did or how you did it, it would be wrong.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chino Valley, AZMay 8, 2017
This was a good place to work but its now closed. I liked my managers and my coworkers. I liked coming to work and working with the merchandise and the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burlington, COMay 3, 2017
When I worked at Alco, it was a really nicely paced environment. The people I worked with were nice. I learned a lot from this job, like how to work with others and management was always easy to work with.
Pros
lunch breaks, breaks, nice pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Retails associate (Former Employee) –  Beaver, UTApril 21, 2017
I liked working here because I knew everyone that walked in the people I worked with as well. it was a fun job while I was in high school the management was okay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Retail Store
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tipton, INApril 20, 2017
When Alco Stores was still around, it was one of the better places to work, as opposed to Wal-Mart, Marsh, etc. The associates, managers, and all other employees were extremely friendly, and the store was always organized and clean. The job was easy and fulfilling to someone who wanted to make decent wages and work decent hours.
Pros
Wonderful work experience
Cons
Customers had a tendency to be rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this Place
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fredonia, KS 66736April 18, 2017
I absolutely loved this job. I advanced fast and continued to climb until I left there for a dream profession in corrections. Wish they were still open
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great envirnment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mayville, NDApril 7, 2017
The environment was always welcoming and we worked well as a team to make sure thing got done when they needed to. I was thankful for the job and the experience i gain early on in my work life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Hardlines Manager (Former Employee) –  Cut Bank, MTMarch 25, 2017
A very productive and busy place.
Selling anything from furnature, to kitchen, to bedding, and clothing.
Management did a great job uping the sales and ratings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Softlines Group Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnsboro, TXMarch 19, 2017
Opening and closing procedures. All aspects of managing a department. Helping to unload freight off of truck. Cashier when needed. Help customers. Restocking merchandise. Setting sales.
Pros
Good co-workers, good management.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to see it go
Hardlines Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winamac, INMarch 9, 2017
I loved working for Alco until they closed their doors back in 2015. Typical day was spent managing my employees while keeping the store in good shape.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not a very good place to work for
Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Watford City, NDFebruary 28, 2017
the store was closing down and everything was very unorganized and messy and people called off all the time and your schedule was changed with out you knowing which made you miss days due to changes
Pros
none
Cons
not very good managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place and flexible hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  DeMotte, INJanuary 5, 2017
I enjoyed working at Alco. They were flexible with their hours. My Managers were very nice and very understanding. They were quite helpful and clear with their instructions. The work kept me busy. I enjoyed working at the register. Its what i was the best at. I was usually always scheduled to be on register.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winamac, INDecember 21, 2016
Is an OK place to work lots to do lots to remember get to be around people and work with people get to see all the new stuff coming out into the stores
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Crazy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a ok job
Receiving (Former Employee) –  Abilene, KSNovember 15, 2016
Was ok place to work hours really got cut back company finely close there doors few years after I left did get hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you want to travel alot
MILLWRIGHT/WELDER (Former Employee) –  Cody, WYOctober 18, 2016
I have learnt a ton of things while I was employed at alco corp. They get into alot of different things and helped me learn a wide variety of things. It is a great place to work if you want to travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, COAugust 22, 2016
A typical work day would consist of checking people out and stocking shelves. The people there were fun to work with and most of them were respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoyed here. It was lie a little family.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pratt, KSAugust 1, 2016
I would help open the store, wait on customers for a few hours, stock and straighten health and beauty department or wherever needed to be taken care of. I would help unload the truck and put merchandise into the correct departments to be stocked.
Pros
I loved ẃôrking with everyone
Cons
I didn't like getting interrupted on the middle of a project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Clifton, TXMay 26, 2016
I enjoyed the short time that I worked there. The store had not had a Store Manager in over a year. There were many challenges that had to overcome. Sorry to see them file bankruptcy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to work
Customer Service representative (Former Employee) –  Monte Vista, COMay 23, 2016
Manager was skimming money, and employees were stealing merchandise. Pay was bad, hours were worse.
Crew was fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALCO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

46%
26 ratings
Add your rating