ALCO Employee Reviews

Found 128 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Hardlines Manager (Former Employee) –  Cut Bank, MTMarch 25, 2017
A very productive and busy place.
Selling anything from furnature, to kitchen, to bedding, and clothing.
Management did a great job uping the sales and ratings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Softlines Group Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnsboro, TXMarch 19, 2017
Opening and closing procedures. All aspects of managing a department. Helping to unload freight off of truck. Cashier when needed. Help customers. Restocking merchandise. Setting sales.
Pros
Good co-workers, good management.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to see it go
Hardlines Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winamac, INMarch 9, 2017
I loved working for Alco until they closed their doors back in 2015. Typical day was spent managing my employees while keeping the store in good shape.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not a very good place to work for
Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Watford City, NDFebruary 28, 2017
the store was closing down and everything was very unorganized and messy and people called off all the time and your schedule was changed with out you knowing which made you miss days due to changes
Pros
none
Cons
not very good managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place and flexible hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  DeMotte, INJanuary 5, 2017
I enjoyed working at Alco. They were flexible with their hours. My Managers were very nice and very understanding. They were quite helpful and clear with their instructions. The work kept me busy. I enjoyed working at the register. Its what i was the best at. I was usually always scheduled to be on register.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winamac, INDecember 21, 2016
Is an OK place to work lots to do lots to remember get to be around people and work with people get to see all the new stuff coming out into the stores
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Crazy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a ok job
Receiving (Former Employee) –  Abilene, KSNovember 15, 2016
Was ok place to work hours really got cut back company finely close there doors few years after I left did get hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you want to travel alot
MILLWRIGHT/WELDER (Former Employee) –  Cody, WYOctober 18, 2016
I have learnt a ton of things while I was employed at alco corp. They get into alot of different things and helped me learn a wide variety of things. It is a great place to work if you want to travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Burlington, COAugust 22, 2016
A typical work day would consist of checking people out and stocking shelves. The people there were fun to work with and most of them were respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoyed here. It was lie a little family.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pratt, KSAugust 1, 2016
I would help open the store, wait on customers for a few hours, stock and straighten health and beauty department or wherever needed to be taken care of. I would help unload the truck and put merchandise into the correct departments to be stocked.
Pros
I loved ẃôrking with everyone
Cons
I didn't like getting interrupted on the middle of a project
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Clifton, TXMay 26, 2016
I enjoyed the short time that I worked there. The store had not had a Store Manager in over a year. There were many challenges that had to overcome. Sorry to see them file bankruptcy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to work
Customer Service representative (Former Employee) –  Monte Vista, COMay 23, 2016
Manager was skimming money, and employees were stealing merchandise. Pay was bad, hours were worse.
Crew was fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town job with fun people
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  South Hutchinson, KSMay 9, 2016
It was a great first time job that allows someone who is looking for a first job. The people you work with are people that you get to know very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great place to work...
Tow motor operator (Former Employee) –  Elyria, OHApril 17, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my job while I was employed with Alco was the environment I worked in it was very clean considering the work environment. Also the co-workers were very considerate and helping when I had an issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lisbon, NDApril 4, 2016
Very good to work for even though now they are closed. Boss was great, DM was ok. Coworkers were ok. The hardest part of the job was making sure coworkers changed the prices on merchandise when changing end caps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved them
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Conifer, COMarch 31, 2016
Great place to work. Lots of fun! To bad the Ceo did some wrong choices to make all the stores close down. It is even more sad since ALCO served the small community and at times they would be the only store in the area. Sad day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I grew in my jobs & people skills from the time I started.
Hardline Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Preston, IDMarch 21, 2016
I learned skills in making a great experience for the customers I helped. I helped my co-workers to feel good about the job they were doing.
Everyone needs a boost in self-esteem, I was happy to give that. I learned supervising skills. This helped me to teach others, how they could be better at whatever job they were working on. We had a great working group with very little turn-over.
Pros
Great people to work with - like a family.
Cons
The company closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you learn excetpional customer service skills
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Imperial, NEJanuary 26, 2016
After school, I would to into work and they would tell me if I was on the register or on the floor. If I was on the floor I typically ran the the register and helped clean up. If I was on the floor I put of freight and helped customers find what they needed.
Pros
Great co-workers and manager
Cons
Long hours during the weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked ALCO and my Job
INVENTORY PLANNER (Former Employee) –  Abilene, KSSeptember 15, 2015
I obviously liked the company, I was there for 17 years. Learned a lot, made friends and enjoyed most of my time there. But having been there that amount of time, there were of course changes that I didn't like, but rolled with them as there also changes I understood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday was different and busy.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kirtland, NMSeptember 14, 2015
Wore many hats. Everyone did many tasks. Manager as well as entire crew worked truck, freight, cashiered. Enjoyed seeing the regular customers and employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALCO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 141 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3