Find companies:
ALCOA INC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

ALCOA INC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Newburgh, INApril 17, 2014
Pros: the money
Cons: work enviroment
The people were down to earth, not hard work, good pay, very relaxed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Project Planner, Global Primary Products (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 5, 2014
It was my first experience where I had the opportunity to work with their capital investment projects worldwide in all different aspects of project management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team atmosphere
Spooler Operator (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: short breaks
A typical day would include reading the board to see where you were assigned for that shift. The co-workers always assisted each other each line had a minimum of 3 operators so we did what was necessary to accomplish the goals of the shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced production plant
Ingot Utility Operator (Current Employee), Massena, NYNovember 4, 2013
Pros: benefits, 401k, o.t., bonuses.
Cons: extremely hot, burns all the time, rotating shifts
Most Alcoa workers, work 12 hour rotating shifts. Daily meetings to inform employees of shifts expected tasks, duties, and safety updates. Alcoa is a place where learning could be a never ending task. Employees have the chance to move around the plant laterally and up to meet and learn new people and skills. Most co-workers are very out going, energetic, – more... fast paced, hard working, witty people. My hardest part of my employment was Rotating shifts, because your body doesn't ever get used to sleeping during the day to sleeping at night in the same week. The best part of all my jobs was being a Pit Operator. The job is extremely dangerous, hot, and tiring, but it was just a comfortable work place that I enjoyed. Most management previously worked on the floor doing the same jobs, so they were understanding, and easy going. Possibilities can be endless once you are an ALCOA employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very predictable job
Production Worker (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: could do a eight hour job i four.
Cons: got forced over often.
Very routine type enviroment and not really any challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Manager, Global Talent Management Analytics (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNOctober 9, 2013
Big Global Company
Learned a lot about Talent Management
Lot of interesting work, hectic but fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ALCOA is a great employer
Engineering Consultant (Former Employee), Riverdale, IAAugust 29, 2013
ALCOA is a great place to work, I spent basically my entire career there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alcoa Inc is a worldwide aluminum producer
Relief Operator (Current Employee), Newburgh, IndianaAugust 27, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, co-worker relationships
Cons: job security, lme prices
Being a worldwide aluminum producer in today's economy has challenges. As a production facility you are always looking for ways to cut cost and show profits. At my current facility, our biggest responsibility is making sure the power going to the aluminum smelter is at the lowest cost possible and I think our current management does a great job. The – more... company and union work very well together to achieve budget goals to stay in business and employed. Most days are routine and the generation units are producing maximum generation, smelter pot lines are in full operation and all is good. Some days generation units trip offline and its pretty chaotic. We have to switch pot lines from the 15KV switch yard to the 138KV switch yard, report all problems to our transmission operators and our generation trader to comply with MISO, NERC and FERC Standards. Those are the hard days, but having those days teaches me how maximum generation and the production process works and why it is so important to do my job with discipline and attention to detail because every action I make is critical to Warrick Operations. Knowing that what I do makes a huge impact on the entire operation, gives me personal enjoyment and pride to work for Alcoa INC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 22, 2013
Not a whole lot to say about this company though. But it's a good place to work for. I hate the management. they do things the way the government does things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alcoa provided consistent training.
Buyer/Sys.Analyst/Minority Coord./Proc.Spec. (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 20, 2013
Pros: great benefits and opportunities for career growth.
Cons: business slowed and 70% workstaff reduced.
Alcoa is a worldwide company that I was proud to work for. I met so many people and learned so much in the time I worked for them. There were long days, but I worked the time in order to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alcoa, Inc.
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 19, 2013
Extensive background in HR generalist affairs, including experience in employee recruitment, staff development, conflict resolution, benefits and compensation and HR records management. Assist the HR link between various departments, developing teambuilding programs, job descriptions and management reports. Accomplished in personnel development, retention – more... approaches, legal compliance issues, and managerial support. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work if was better organized
Aluminum Caster (Current Employee), Barberton, OHJuly 11, 2013
Very unpredictable and dangerous working around molten metal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Transaction Buyer - Procurement (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 2, 2013
Pros: sponsored lunches, special training
Great company. Too bad the procurement group had to relocate to PA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PC Technician
PC Support Technician Tier II/I (Former Employee), Davenport, IowaJune 17, 2013
While working for ALCOA Inc. as a PC Technician I had many duties and responsibilities that included imaging, staging and migrating customer computer systems and accounts, deploying and retrieving computer systems, making backups of customer machines and then proceeding to wipe them, store them and ship them back to ALCOA's asset management center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, often fast paced, professional, inclusive, diverse corporate environment.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 25, 2013
Pros: a secure, strong, stable company.
Daily activities are working with Banks to secure revolving credit with good interest rates/terms. Also, working closly with the Business Units, Lawyers, Rating Agencies, Government Affairs and Corporate Development to continually expand business and maintain cost effective policies.

I've learned the amount of time, man power, financial costs and effort – more... that goes into a "start to finish" for new and existing/evolving business development.

Management consistently holds themselves to the utmost professionalism, and work ethics to ensure that all projects, work environment or continued professional development will have a positive outcome.

My co-workers strive in a team like environment and work well together. We also provide an excellent support center for one another.

The hardest part of my job may be not having enough conference room space for meetings.

The most enjoyable part of my job is the camaraderie that exists and how we all work together, helping one another and understanding we are a team! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lean manufacturing at its finest
Supervisor (Current Employee), Lafayette, INMarch 27, 2013
Pros: great benefits, acceptable salary and lots of overtime
Cons: aging equipment, hourly workforce and vertical movement
I've learned a great deal while working at Alcoa.Alcoa's top leadership is trustful, experienced and advancing each generation. I have a better understanding of the importance manufacturing plays in the American workforce. Overall, I have enjoyed my time at Alcoa but don't care for the culture at my particular location. Alcoa's facility is nearly 80 – more... years old and their legacy equipment is showing its age. Equipment is ran to exhaustion with absolutely no preventive maintenance. The rank and file at my location is Union and they have sapped the entire workforce of its initiative, ingenuity and positive mental attitude. I was offered a promotion with Alcoa and am looking elsewhere when I graduate due to the culture of the salaried employees. Alcoa will never become dissatisfied with the status quo and therefore has a hard time of changing. It's all about production credits and ship dates. I truly enjoy working at Alcoa but the culture is just volatile at times. My chief complaint at the end of the day from a supervision standpoint is that they want robots to just manage people and don't want someone who wants to learn the technical aspect of producing high quality aluminum goods. I have met supervisors who have worked at Alcoa for 10+ years who can tell you the flow path of the products but don't have a clue about the actual process. I love making a tangible object that are going to be used in an aircraft, but don't think I could justify making a career out of it due to the workforce's culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Unit Supervisor (Former Employee), Davenport, IADecember 28, 2012
Pros: clean place to work
Cons: long hours
It was a very nice place to work and clean and easy to manage.
That union employees lose their creativity.
manager work for themselves.
My coworkers were very nice.
keeping the equipment running.
it was a very nice and well paid job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High demands and rewards.
Plant Manager (Former Employee), North AmericaDecember 20, 2012
Historically, we had been able to invest for the long term. With new Management, a more short term focus has been developed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really well run company in a terrible business
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 27, 2012
Pros: great people, great benefits
Really smart and genuine people. Global business is forcing difficult decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work alongside knowledgeable people and co-workers
Business Analyst Intern (Former Employee), Torrance, CANovember 8, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: older workforce
Work does get routine and boring sometimes though, upper management needs more structured outline for internship program

Most enjoyable part is you get to meet and interact with a bunch of people from different offices and plants and every Wednesday there are meetings where you get to travel to different cities with your fellow interns.

About ALCOA INC

Alcoa Inc. (Alcoa) is engaged in the production and management of primary aluminum, fabricated aluminum, and alumina combined. – Read more