ALDI Employee Reviews

Found 1,082 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
cashier (Former Employee) –  Asheboro, NCJanuary 20, 2017
Good pay but no hours. I could not make a living with this job. Typical day was stocking the store for three hours before opening hours. It was very hectic and never had enough time for a decent sleep.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company. Not easy for promotions
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Auburndale, FLJanuary 20, 2017
A good company, with great benefits. Almost impossible to get promoted. It's a very demanding and hard hard job. It's physical and mentally demanding. Hours are never the same, everyday. It's a very physical job
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Work you to death
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very efficient, productive and people-orietend
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Beltsville, MDJanuary 19, 2017
My experience has been a good one for this company. Managers are very organized and we are trained to complete tasks as efficiently and courteously as possible. The hours of operation aid the work/life balance. The culture is good; customers are interactive so it's good for a company to have that feedback. My co-workers are intelligent and hard-working people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive environment
Associate (Current Employee) –  Mt. Zion, ILJanuary 19, 2017
Aldi is a great company to work for, great benefits and I would recommend it to anyone. Hours fluctuate because of business, but always knowing you having a steady paycheck is nice to know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Collingdale, PAJanuary 19, 2017
hated it. it wasn't a good environment, bad management made you hate going there, not enough employees on the floor management should be changed, and they messed up my pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with happy customers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Wake Forest, NCJanuary 18, 2017
Aldi is a fun, relaxed but energetic workplace. Customers and co-workers are nice. Management is awesome. A typical day is busy and well worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent place to work
Shift manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 18, 2017
mornings you would stock food that came in from the morning and take inventory of the food that came in.
12/hr for cashier
17/hr for shift manager
you only get paid shift mamager if there isnt another higher manager there. if there is a higher manager there you get paid 12/hr which sucks but understandable
Pros
descent pay
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Cashier and Shift Manager Trainee (Current Employee) –  Gaffney, SCJanuary 18, 2017
They hire people who don't have any need to be nice to their employees or co-workers. They have great pay and good benefits and some nice people, I do not recommend working there.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Madison OhioJanuary 18, 2017
I liked working here, but I really wanted to advance in the company; it just didn't seem possible to advance. It was a fun place and we always were learning something new about the products and why it's good to eat that type of food. Working here I wanted to eat healthier because I really saw the benefit in it.
Pros
Fun atmosphere, excellent management staff
Cons
Can't balance life and work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace environment!
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 18, 2017
Very hard work and lots of manual labor but overall Great company to work for. Fast paced not a place for an elderly person and must be able to lift 30 plus pounds on a regular.
Pros
Excellent benefits time off on all major holidays
Cons
Scheduling varies depending on Store Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy workplace with unreasonable expectations.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fultondale, ALJanuary 17, 2017
The job description calls for 50 hours a week which was a joke- never worked less than 60-65 hours per week. Although the work was strenuous I did enjoy working with my crew and I loved my customers. Hardest part of the job was dealing with upper management. No positive feedback. No consistency with regards to company policies. Separate and sometimes double standards depending on the store. I did learn how to multi task at an all new level
Pros
High paced environment made the time fly.
Cons
No work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Collingdale, PAJanuary 17, 2017
work can be long or short depending on how the manager is running shift.
i learned you have to work for your money and nothing else.
the management could have been better.
it would be nice if the co-workers could work better together.
the hardest part is, the job is not hard people just make it harder for themselves and others.
the most enjoyable part is boxing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hardworking place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 17, 2017
It was always fast paced and that's my favorite type of work. It was back breaking at times because you have a truck to unload almost everyday.
Pros
Amazing benefits and pay
Cons
Not family oriented
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job but hours vary
Shift Manager3 (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 17, 2017
The job have great benefits,but there is know set schedules. Hours really varies by the time of the month,beginning decent hours end of the month low hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays good. but will break your back
Grocery Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 17, 2017
Pays good. No good communication throughout the company. Upper management pretends to care about you, but not really. Not a company you want to grow with.
Pros
good pay
Cons
physically demanding. degrading at times. no breaks at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and exciting environment
Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Lauderdale Lakes, FLJanuary 15, 2017
Loved the outlook on the company and its growth potential. Was never room to rest which was a plus. Kept us busy all the time.
Pros
pay
Cons
room for growth in timely manner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  OhioJanuary 15, 2017
Always something to do. Have deadlines to meet. Fast paced makes for a fast shift. Can be a little rough on the body at times. But its a very enjoyable job if you like to stay busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay- little time for outside life
Associate (Former Employee) –  West Plains, MOJanuary 13, 2017
I worked at Aldi for almost 4 years. It has good pay and great benefits. It is hard to have a personal life with this company though.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
no personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Canton, ILJanuary 13, 2017
This was a fun but sometimes hard job I loved every minute of it. It did take a lot of time away from my children but they understood why mommy had to work. After ten years I decided my time would be better spent with my kids.
Pros
Payed very well
Cons
Took time away from my kids
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What working at Aldi consit of
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 11, 2017
Aldi is a very fast pace work environment. You are required to be very good at multitasking. Extra hours is almost always available at different locations if your interested but I must warn you that each store is different. The hardest part for me right now is trying to stay warm as well as stocking. When I first started stocking in Aldi's terms "throwing truck" it was over barring but they more you do it the better you get but its defiantly a trip to the gym I swear. lol 'Ive met a lot of people working there and my money and benefits are good as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,134 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2