ALDINE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Employee Reviews

Found 126 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Paraprofessional/Teacher's Aide (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 10, 2017
My experience at Aldine Independent School District has been a great one. I have had great experience my past three years here and I have gained a lot of knowledge about working with children and in a school environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
School Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 3, 2017
A typical work day consists of taking care of student illness, injuries, administering medications of children and teachers. I learned how to set up job health fairs and teaching classes. The school nurse manage the entire health services on my campus. The workplace cultures consist of low-socioeconomic students from Hispanics, African Americans, and Caucasians. The hardest part of my job is data entry on every student who walk through the doors of the clinic. The most enjoyable at my job it taking care of kids
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Breaks for Nurses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family oriented enviorment
PARAPROFESSIONAL TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 5, 2017
Working at Lane School there are many areas that an individual will be challenged. This school is primarily an special education school therefore, each student has different traits and personalities which gave me the opportunity to expand my teaching skills. The most i enjoy about this job is meeting the great staff and making my teaching better each day.
Pros
Friendly Environment
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is a great place to retire from
Accountability Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 5, 2017
A typical day at work for me is helping customers, putting in orders, and doing my daily work schedule assigned by the manager. I have learned a lot about how to run a kitchen, what to do and what not to do. The management is okay it could always improve. The hardest part of the job right now is working short-handed and sometimes the management staff. The most enjoyed part about my job is serving and helping the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations but great experience!
Assessment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 3, 2017
I've been in Aldine my entire public education career. The expectations for productivity are high, but for that I am grateful. I know with the experience I've gained in Aldine, I can go anywhere and be successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
School Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 3, 2017
My responsibilities include, but are not limited to, the triage of patients, medication administration, wound care, referrals, vision and hearing screenings, generating reports for the CDC and the district, revision of shot records and input of all information related to patients into the system, education of patients and their families, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GReat
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 2, 2017
The culture of the work environment is nice. The day goes by smoothly and everything for the most part is organized. The most enjoyable part of the job is the organization and the administration. There isn't anything hard about the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aldine Independent School District
Special Education Teacher, Adaptive Behavior (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 28, 2017
A Great place to work.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the students on a daily basis. The workplace culture included a variety of people.
Pros
xxxx
Cons
xxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Master Teacher (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 20, 2017
Aldine is dedicated to serving its' students. They practice what they preach and truly put in place researched based practices that work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 18, 2017
Pretty cool place and family atmosphere. Can be rough at times but overall was good. If you are a strong educator good place to go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did succeded in that field because I achieve my vocation
Bilingual Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 18, 2017
very nice experience in that school and district as well. I did achieve many new knowledge post in my resume, like achievement of lots of knowledge in the autistic field
Pros
paid vacations
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were a wealth of opportunities to gain professional development
CLASSROOM TEACHER- ELA (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 28, 2016
Be prepared to work and be held to high expectations. Also know that Aldine ISD is dedicated to the improvement of students who need the best help. The common denominator is that administration drives their teams to do what is BEST for the kids.
Pros
Professional development
Cons
Comrodary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 4, 2016
a typical day for me is making coffee and tea for the day and setting up lines to feed children serving breakfast and running the register for lunch and cleaning at the end of the day
Pros
free lunches
Cons
pay is not to good
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and rewarding job where making a difference in the lives of our youth pays off
Attendance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 23, 2016
Working for Aldine ISD was a challenge which test my abilities as a woman and mother. My job as an Attendance Clerk was sometimes scary due to the students who weren't very happy with me because I reported then to their parents as absent and got threats as I walked the hallways forcing me to stand my ground with them in the area of respect. On the other hand, it was very rewarding as many parents and guardians crowed my office with gratitude that their child was finally graduating high school as a result those calls. I'd say that's a pretty good trade off!
Pros
Pride in making a difference in a yourng persons life dispite the odds
Cons
The risk of getting attacked and possibly hurt during that process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Project Manager/Site Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2016
If working in the the construction department you are required to work 10+ hour days. Its a really fast pace environment. Good place to gain valuable construction experience. Must have real tough skin to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard job for little pay
Cafeteria Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 28, 2016
the job is a great job they just dont wanna pay enough money. i like working with kids but some are disrespectful the great thing about it is the vactions you get summer break, all holidays off and still get paid
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the children is amazing.
Bus Attendant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 13, 2016
The paid vacations and breaks are wondering. Learning the children and being with them is a warm feeling. Knowing that each child have their own ways of learning. The down fall is just the pay doesn't amount up to much.
Pros
breaks
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an excellent place to work.
ESL/LPAC and Attendance Clerk/ AP Secretary (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2016
It's a great place to work with a group of great team players and a great place for advancement. The parents and staff are extremely helpful and kind. We strive to take care of the needs of both the students and the parents.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Second Grade G/T Reading/Math Teacher (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2016
I worked in Aldine for 14 years. It taught me to be flexibility and to meet the needs of my students across different socioeconomic backgrounds.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Lots of testing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good people, very bad administration
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 4, 2016
Not the best place to work at, but the pay was decent, co-workers good. There is no element of control over the students; management tends to micro-manage school bus operations which suffocate an otherwise decent place of emplyment.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Extremely negative/bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDINE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 127 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

ALDINE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT Reviews by Location