Find companies:
Alere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
70 reviews

Alere Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK HERE!
RMA and Orders Processing Representative (Former Employee), Livermore, CaSeptember 11, 2013
Cons: everything
This was the worst job I've ever had. They do not to train you but yet they will try and hold you accountable to what they do NOT tell you or train you on. I had a total of 5 supervisors in 2 years. The last was the absolute worst. Never spoke to me and even said a "hello" as management does see you as a human. You are a "working machine" and if you – more... do not work fast enough-they do not want you. There is so much favoritism here (unlike I have ever seen before). The coldest culture to work in and if you are not a friend of a manager or one of the favored ones, you are set up to fail. The upper management does not have a clue what they are doing and not care about their employees what so ever. You are treated like a child, not allowed to speak to the person sitting next to you and you will be timed if you are in the bathroom for too long accused of taking a longer lunch. Nothing you do will satisfy management even if you finish all your work at the end of the day. I couldn't ever pay all my bills here cause the work you do does not equal the pay. We were promised a raise 2-3 times but they lie to their employees and have not plans on giving anyone a raise. I got sick literally from working here. I was belittled by Team leads who are sell-outs who do not have your back!) and made to feel like I was totally worthless. They also charge outrageous amounts of money for supplies to very elderly people and its soooooo sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independence and flexiability were great perks. Needed to be a self starter with good time management skills and able to multi-task.
Case/Care Manager and UM Reviewer (Former Employee), Field WorkerSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: office was in your home. all communications with managers were telephonic or via computer
Cons: days could get hectic. sometimes expectations from the health plans may have been unreasonable.
A lot of travel was involved in at this company. As a case manager there would be many hospitals in a large territory that needed to be covered. One's ability to read and interpret care plans as well as predict possible outcomes. Aided in the delivery of safe and cost effective care. At times would be difficult to speak with doctors and encourage them – more... to modify or enhance plans of care to ensure the timely and safe discharge of patients home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Even thru multiple acquisitions the team remained focused
Director of MarCom & Participant Marketing (Former Employee), Marietta, GAAugust 19, 2013
Pros: great healthcare & vacation package
Cons: location of office
Being the lead for developing a distribution center to develop, distribute and store marketing collateral for a $300+ million dollar company took the majority of my time. Worked on the re-branding initiative from Matria to Alere for the participant materials.Developed and managed Matria/Alere Product Training Webinars for participants within the programs. – more... Media coverage of 10th anniversary of Trading on the NASDAQ with CNBC. I learned how to work with cross functional teams throughout multiple company's and how to meet managements expectations. Met some of the most insightful people in the industry and have maintained those relationships even though some have moved on to other opportunities. Hardest part of the job was when I wasn't interacting with physicians, participants and just building spreadsheets, which were necessary, just not my favorite thing to do. Getting the opportunity to build a program that was going to streamline the business model and be a positive tool for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to wok if you love what you do they manage to make you hate it
not important (Current Employee), livermoreAugust 14, 2013
Pros: laid back dress code
Cons: its like being in high school with al the two faced backstabbing jerks
I used to love what I do until I filed a complaint with my supervisor about a co-worker. My work life is a living hell and my supervisor is useless like most of them there are very few that actually know what they are doing. If you file a complaint you get the short end of it if you are injured they make your life miserable. There is major nepotism – more... going on here. So if you are thinking of joining this company run run really really fast and far away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a great place for people fresh out of high school needing work experience
Disgruntled former employee (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 10, 2013
Pros: going home at the end of your shift
Cons: coming to work period
Heavily micromanaged. Don't waste your license or degree here. This is a job just to pay bills not a career move!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OMG. Don't Work Here
Proposal Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 23, 2013
Pros: great benefits - as it is a health care related company.
Cons: culture needs improving.
If you do, just make sure it's not in the Marketing Department. The basic problem with Alere is that the company is really lacking innovation and it is having trouble keeping up with the Joneses. Granted, it is dependent upon which division you work in, but generally, you will feel like you're dead in the water.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disfunctional Company
VOB Follow Up (Former Employee), LivermoreMay 11, 2013
Pros: good coffee, holey jean dress code with flip flop sandals
Cons: fake bouncy micro managers who lie to your face
Not a good place for contractors to work. Their managers micro manage you by standing behind you quietly, watching and listening to you and scaring the s--t out of you. They expect their employees to fix other employees mistakes which violate HIPAA laws and that is an acceptable work practice for Alere employees. 4 employees work one patient file in – more... 4 different incorrect directions violating HIPAA rules by faxing or sending the patient's information to the wrong places and producing no results but dead documentation notes on a patient's file. This is not a professional DME PT INR provider, they specialize in unique, uneducated staff who spell "THE", "HTE".
They are also low wage payers. You get what you pay for. Unique, Uneducated poor performers – less

austinworker – June 20, 2013

When I was there, I literally had to file an anonymous complaint to HIPAA for similar reasons. The Cancer Society hired mean, spiteful mgrs to spy on employees and convince them it was ok to deceive the public. Is Alere the new quitline I wonder?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring family values all the way from management to patient
high risk pregnancy RN (Current Employee), Dallas TexasApril 17, 2013
Pros: great management
Cons: late assignments
I currently work out of the Dallas office. Our management team is awesome. They appreciate good honest work. As a nurse that actually cares for the patients in their homes, I have access to any needed supplies or help. Great benefits for our patients. Love my job. Flexible and self schelduling.

– June 29, 2013

I too, work from the Dallas office. Taking care of at risk mothers- to- be in their homes is rewarding itself. Our management from the top to bottom is awesome, complimentary, and supportive. I am part time, with no benefits, but make more money than pt time at a hospital and I control my hours. I am not going anywhere. :)

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work if you are a contractor
Device Tester (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 3, 2013
Pros: well designed campus with plenty of open space, friendly teams of people
Cons: managers that focus on everything besides what is important, upper management visibly has no respect for those beneath them, practitioners of the indefinite contract
But then, nowhere is a good place to work if you are a contractor. When I was employed there, they were under a perpetual hiring freeze, which seems to have not changed. They made a regular habit out of staffing the core of their operations (manufacturing, testing, the people who actually did all the work) exclusively with temps, only they would constantly – more... use the cop out excuse that they were on a hiring freeze. It was not uncommon to hear the phrase "I'm sorry, we can't give you full time this year, but maybe next year" repeated ad infinitum, to the point that people were kept on contract with their wages frozen and without benefits for as much as four years. So don't expect any sort of advancement. Just another cheap, Chinese way of managing employees that should be illegal in this country. If you have room for a contact longer than three months and they're not replacing someone on leave, then you have room for a full time employee; no exceptions.

The other reviewers mentioning micromanagement were spot on, only they forgot to mention the requisite bit about them avoiding real problems and inventing phantom ones. That is a longer story though, and could just be particular to the one that ran my department.

The campus is great, with plenty of interior and exterior socializing areas, and the working class employees were, for the most part, all awesome people. The kind of people who you actually want to have as friends outside of work. There were a few exceptions of course, but that can be found anywhere. As always, the employEES make for a great experience, but the employERS do their best to ruin it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
External Service Desk (Current Employee), AlantaMarch 27, 2013
I appreciate the oppurtunities that I have been offered while working for such a wonderful company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salt mines, very poor upper managment
Testing Services (Current Employee), Northern CalifornianMarch 22, 2013
Super micromanaged staff with no enthusiasm. You were always watched closely with a micro scope. If you took too long in the bathroom you were questioned which was really embarrassing. There were talks of raises but nothing was done and management needed the employees to work harder and do more with no incentives. It was basically a gossip hall and – more... can't trust anyone to be professional. Management basically looked out for themselves and didn't go the extra mile to help out others. It was very difficult to transfer out of a department or they would put a block on transfers. It was very easy to get written up for basically any little thing. Run from this place, not worth the time or energy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Enrollment Specialist I (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 12, 2013
Pros: laid back
Cons: lack of support
Good company in into helath care. Very laid back and self motivated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.... run nurses
CM (Current Employee), TexasMarch 7, 2013
Pros: work from home is all
Cons: everything, from non caring management upwards
Your every second is micromanaged. You may think great, an at home job, its a horrible place to work and worse job I have ever held. I am looking every single day for another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Health Advisor (Former Employee), Plymouth Meeting, PAMarch 4, 2013
Pros: free coffee everyday and lunches every now and then
Cons: cubical
I only worked there as a temp for the summer but it was a really great place to work. I learned a lot about how big businesses work which was nice since I was fresh out of college when I worked there. The people were very nice and friendly. My managers tried to make our boring data entry job more fun by having special lunches and themed days for us. – more... It was refreshing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alere - location closed
Care Coordinator I (Former Employee), Rosemont, ILMarch 4, 2013
At Alere, we had the good fortune to assist many participants with health concerns daily. Unfortunately, the location closed so many of us now are looking for new employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Tasks
Patient Services Assistant (Current Employee), Worthington, OHMarch 3, 2013
-Process and track paperwork related to patient referral, reimbursement, patient billing, and physicians orders
-Collaborate with Corporate departments to resolve operational issues
-Maintain a working knowledge for all center equipment and implements corrective procedure for preventative maintenance/repairs
-Ability to use internal computer programs/platforms – more... by using basic computer skills including: keyboarding, mouse, internet usage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home
Server Engineer for Linux and Window servers (Former Employee), Marietta, GAFebruary 18, 2013
Good benefits. Good pay. No raises and no bonuses. No training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Enrollment (Former Employee), Scottsdale AZFebruary 17, 2013
Cons: rude manager
Enrollment department manager was horrible, she was not qualified for the position. Did not know how to motivate a team only criticize and threaten. Also played favorites and made it perfectly clear. Position was misrepresented, was told there was a great bonus structure when in reality it was very low and almost impossible to hit the set goals. Department – more... was set up poorly, too many people in a small space, very hard to hear clients on phone when everyone was talking at the same time. Bad experience, glad to be gone from there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it.... run from this place
clearwater office (Former Employee), clearwaterFebruary 15, 2013
Pros: going home
Cons: everything
It high school all over. Violent workplace... unorganized don't have a clue what they are doing. It like working for crazy people, you will get a different answer to your question every other day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Enrollment (Former Employee), Marietta GaFebruary 2, 2013
Management is horrible the managers spend so much time in regular employee's business they cant do there job.

About Alere

When you really need an answer -- fast -- toss out the crystal ball and bring in Alere. The company offers both professional and – Read more