Aleris Employee Reviews in United States

Found 13 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secondary Aluminum Industry
Production (Current Employee) –  WabashAugust 9, 2015
Hours are long and work environment hot and dirty. Consistently shorthanded and forced overtime.
Turnover is the biggest issue currently
due to benefits and pay,
Pros
N/A
Cons
12 hr. continuous operation
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
UTO (Former Employee) –  Wabash, INJanuary 25, 2016
12 hours days 6 to 6.
how to stack ingots
not very good management
some were ok most bad attitudes
getting burnt
working in groups
Pros
ok pay
Cons
workers have bad attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Buckhannon, WVAugust 21, 2015
The pay rate is 40% lower than comparable jobs in the area. The schedule is nice because it is set, however there is no opportunity for overtime or advancement.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
Pay, Breaks, No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New to Aleris as a company.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Decatur, AlJanuary 19, 2015
Aleris recently purchased 4 rolling mills from Quanex, my plant being one of those. I have had good and bad days with Aleris. They have provided Front Line Leader trianing, only to find out we were going to be shut down. The company has great benifits for employees. Just haven't been apart of the company long enough to have an opinion.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
closing the plant
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aleris was a positve work experience
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INJune 24, 2014
I gave a perfect review because I have 6 years of manufacturing experince now and I learned and obtained good work qualities from this place.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
they closed the plant down
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbalanced
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIAugust 20, 2015
They worked you as much as they could. Lots of overtime, but didnt see family much. Worked 6-7 days almost non-stop until they closed down.
Pros
Money
Cons
Little time to recover
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewind Operator
Rewind Operator (Current Employee) –  Davenport, IAMarch 1, 2015
Monitor coils and accurately record all information on a daily report. What i learned most about my job is how seven people must work together every day as a team. Management here at Aleris is more there for support. The hardest part of my job is inspecting and calling out the most accurate adjustments. I'm very happy when we make the correct adjustment and the process runs smooth.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative environment
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Lincolnshire, ILMarch 27, 2015
no real room for growth if your not one of them there against you employees are very bitter and depressing you work 12 hours and only get a half an hour lunch for working all day very loud warehouse and hot heavy clothing you must ware at all times
Pros
pay
Cons
employees, bosses and environment
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to learn new things
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILApril 16, 2014
a typical day it is very hot but when you get past the heat the day is easy. I learn how to drive a forklift there. management was great. the co-workers where great a they teach you a lot. The hardest part of the job like i said is the heat.
Pros
working for 15 days then off for 5 days
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, Low pay
Assistant Foreman (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILJune 10, 2013
For a dirty dangerous place, they should pay much more and offer better insurance.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job
Baghouse/Waste Attendant (Former Employee) –  Wabash, INFebruary 6, 2013
I enjoyed working here, The pay was good, and the people were friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience d'été
MÉCANICIEN D'ENTRETIEN pour la Corus (Former Employee) –  Cap de la MadelaineAugust 16, 2013
Bon compagnonnage

Bonne diciipline.

Experien du metier bien acquis
Pros
bonne experien été
Cons
usine en ralentissement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No14

See more Aleris reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture