Find companies:
Alexander Youth Network
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Alexander Youth Network Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for clients, bad for employees
current employee (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: helping the clients
Cons: poor management, burnout quickly, overworked, no vacation for part time / prn hourly employees
This place does does some good work for the community and clients. That's probably the best part of working here. However, they do not treat their employees well. They are very cheap with pay. If you are hourly, in order to get all of what they expect you to do, you will work overtime, but your not allowed to get overtime. If you are salary, you're – more... expected to work before and after hours to make sure everything is complete. Some of the expectations they have are not really obtainable unless you do so. Co-workers are great, some of the best I've ever had however, management is bad. That really is the biggest issue. They are inexperienced and not trustworthy. It seems that they are mainly watching out for themselves which leaves the employees on their own; this problem goes all the way up. Not a place you want to stay for too long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Intensive In-Home Coordinator (Former Employee), Hickory, NCMarch 3, 2014
Pros: good pay for the area, supportive management at all levels, friendly coworkers
Cons: money provided for gas wasn't always sufficient for company travel, lack of raises
I had a fantastic time, for the most part, while with Alexander Youth Network. If it weren't for a necessary reduction in force, I would still be there without a doubt. While there, there were some bumpy times along the way, but overall, upper management was very supportive particularly when our team went through multiple team leaders in a very short – more... period of time. Throughout my time with AYN, there was only one person that I would encourage anyone to avoid if at all possible. Other than that, your coworkers will be very open and generally positive. The only downside was a lack of raises offered... But with the other positives, that wasn't nearly as noticeable as I had thought it would be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with free meals
Family Psychiatric Mental Health NP (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: none to report at this time.
Supportive environment, independent, educational, respect, and appreciation for my work. Work can be overwhelming but is manageable. I enjoy teaching kids and their parents how to manage daily events and hurdles in the lives and experiences of their children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intensive In Home Coordinator, Fayeteeville, NC 2012-2013
Intensive In-Home Coordinator (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: families, trainings
Cons: management didn't appreciate or understand the depth and difficulty of workers job, low pay, high insurance, insurance cost a lot
I used to work for a company that was bought out by AYN. I was the best company I ever worked for. The old company Cardinal Clinic..we were like family. This was not the case with AYN. I think AYN has the right mission and focus; however, the upper management has no clue what the In Home or case management staff did and the intense stress it includes. – more... It was basically do what your told and shut up. No creative outlets here. I felt they did not put families first (starting meetings and training late or running over and expecting families to suffer by staff having to reschedule session or be late to session. I felt this was inappropriate and unprofessional and families complained..) Families had concerns about various staff members and issues were not addressed and families would feel frustrated and often left. Money was more important than the success of the family. I often would not get home until 7-8 at night and then would have to have the documentation completed by midnight. I stayed up until 2-3:00am many nights.(To be fair I did have difficulty with getting my documentation completed on time. I would see 2-3 families a day, 2 hour sessions, drive time and often got home late) The good staff and supervisors from previous company that came to AYN mostly all of them left because of these and various circumstances. Once the families do not come first, then it is time to leave..this was what one of my supervisors said. She was a great loss to the company, our team and the family.
I feel that if I would have worked at the main office things would have been different and I probably would have stayed and moved up in the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Behavioral Health Counselor/AP (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 19, 2013
Great experience for entry-level mental health professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at home and provided a social life for foster kids.
Foster Care Assistant (Former Employee), Lenoir, NCOctober 7, 2013
Pros: never interfered with my life.
Cons: sometimes issues would arise between the foster kids and myself.
I worked under my grandmother therefore, I was paid by her for my services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youth Development
Social Worker (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 30, 2013
•Supervised and trained new employees and MSW Intern with agencies policies and Therapeutic Crisis Communications.
•Managed youth and family program development
•Managed youth recreation budget
•Developed relationship with local businesses and agencies to promote growth of Alexander Youth Network
•Provided case management services that included individual, – more... family, group sessions, and development of service plans.
•Provided children and families with linkage to community resources, housing, and appropriate agencies in the local community and countywide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
real good learning experince
BEHAVIOR HEALTH COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Lenoir NCAugust 7, 2013
Pros: field trips
Cons: having to restrain client
A typical day at work ranged from playing basketball with clients, feeding them, watching movies with them, hurdle helping them with chores to having to restrain them. The management was great, but the turnover rate was a concern. The hardest part of the job was cooking dinner for the client, but I eventually learned how to cook. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was taking field trips as a group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job out of college: learned alot.
Crisis Counselor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 17, 2013
Pros: the learning process being that this was my first human services job
My tasks were pretty much the same each day unless the clients had a different agenda. I would get information from the person I was replacing, wake clients up, breakfast, goals, free time etc. We would develop a schedule daily and try to research, arrange and schedule cost effective educational outings. I worked well with my coworkers. The hardest – more... part was my supervisors constant critic of my paperwork. The enjoyable part was the clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
staff (Current Employee), charlotteFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: great history
Cons: managers are disrespectful, demeaning and threatening. no 401k contribution. no raises. no respect
Agency has a long history in the community. However, management has seen more comfortable managing with threats than guidance and teaching. Clients are challenging but management is ridiculous. The experience could help you move on to a better job but you will have to decide if it is worth the pain. I recommend you get in and get out in under 2 years. – more... If you are hourly, you are not able to accrue overtime but you are expected to work overtime. If you are salaried, you are forbidden to document the actual hours you work but you will work 50 plus hours easy. From early morning, nights to weekends to keep up with your responsiblities. Managers are not consistent with allowing you to comp your time. So you burn out quickly. You family life will be limited by the obligations and your wish to get the required tasks done. Agency is known as a safe place for kids but not safe for the emotional well being of the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive an dfun place to work. Gym and classroom (arts and crafts)
Behavior Health Counselor Supervisor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: free lunches and traveling
Cons: job stbility and growth
Plan your itinerary. Call an confirmed appointment times with clients. Follow up with schools, parents, therapists, and psychologists on over progress of child clients. Write progress notes after skill building and interactions with client.
The hardest part of job was meeting deadlines with all the legislation changes in mental health.
My co-workers – more... and management where very supportive of each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent place to gain experience in the field
Lead Behavioral Health Counselor (Current Employee), charlotte, NCJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: free food, great management, fun work environment
Cons: can be overwhelming at times and very stressful
AYN is a place that you get what you put into it. If you go to work and are able to focus and apply the NMT model you can be successful. I enjoyed working with all the various children with different diagnosis. I learned a lot about what approaches work with different types of children. I learned how to help manage behaviors, and how to help the children – more... progress so that they were able to discharge and continue their path back to public school and living with their families or foster families. The hardest part of working here is sometimes the extreme aggression that the children display due to their extremely traumatic pasts when they go into crisis. I have been physicall assaulted several times, but it's part of the job. I really enjoyed spending time, and creating relationships with some of the children in their progress. There was one client that I ended up being very close with. It was very bitter sweet when he discharged. It's those types of relationships that makes the job worth all the chaos that happens. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Behavioral Health Counselor Supervisor (Former Employee), Charlotte NCJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: family environment
The clients were great and the support was there from the peers that you worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Foster Parent (Former Employee), North CarolinaNovember 22, 2012
Pros: pay is ok
Cons: frustrating family life
You have to be with these children 24/7 , they steel and ruin your home and family life. The case workers and management always looking for a reason to blame you for the childrens behaviors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome company
LICENSED FOSTER PARENT/MENTOR (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 31, 2012
Pros: changing the life of a young person
Cons: sifting through thier baggage to connect to them
Great company to work for. You have the opportunity to change the life aof a young person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Behavior Health Counselor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 25, 2012
Great people and great kids once you earn there trust. Good pay and benefits laid back managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Teaching/Parent (Former Employee), Charlottle, N.C.March 22, 2012
Pros: compensation
Cons: working holidays
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you can make a differenc in a child's life.