Alexion Pharmaceuticals,Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work.
Manufacturing Associate IV (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, RI 02917November 14, 2016
Most people feel they are over worked and unappreciated. The supervisors in some areas need to be retrained or replaced. Not the best when it comes to cGMP and GMP The benefits and compensation are great.
Pros
Benefits and compensation
Cons
People are over work and unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization dedicated to fighting Ultra Rare disease's
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, RISeptember 8, 2016
The most enjoyable part of working at Alexion is the comradery between the employees. Everyone is working towards the goal of producing a drug that could/will save the many lives of patients with Ultra Rare Disease's.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized cluster
Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 5, 2016
LATAM headquarters in Miami are a cluster and joke. VP is a severe micro manager and makes for an uncomfortable working environment. He is all about "the boys" and wants to build his own empire and get rid of anyone in the way. He is sneaky and you must watch your back with him around. You put in your blood, sweat and tears and don't even get a thank you. Leadership is disorganized and "clicky," and the office environment is like being in a morgue, everyone sits at their workstations like robots and doesn't talk. Not a team environment. HR does not look out for the best interest of the employees, if you tell them you want to grow with the company, you are told "NO" and beware, it will be held against you at a later point in time. Strongly recommend anyone to think twice before joining this type of environment. Everything is reactive versus pro-active.
Cons
leadership, management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that lacks true leadership
Manager (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RIMay 22, 2016
Alexion is a company that has rested on its laurels, and its people for far too long. in 2007, Alexion built a facility that was questionable in the ability to carry out the intended function. This is understandable,, as the company had no income at the time. Now, at a time of a critical need to supply Solaris, the Smithfield facility is running at a pace it can neither realistically support, for a variety of reasons. Poor system design, no documented process, inability to provide utilities nor manage waste. And, yes, resources. It is clear that The executives at Alexion have every intention of ditching this facility once Ireland is running. They will get rid of those that question the business model, and count on the remaining to stay out of fear, and if need be, out of apathy. There are a small percentage of those willing to do what is needed, day in/day out. Typical in this industry when the executives make poor choices...only once would the have to live with those choicesin order to not see this happen again
Pros
Very good benefits and a good drug to sell.
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Best Employer
Treasury Manager (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 16, 2016
Company experiencing tremendous growth, so lots of potential for hard working dedicated employees.

Great coworkers and management.
Pros
benefits, helping patients
Cons
extremely busy days make the day fly by
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and fast paced
Head of Global procurement & Strategic Sourcing (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTApril 18, 2016
Entrepreneurial environment. High speed. results oriented. Very successful. Mission oriented. Great compensation package and good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Productive Environment
SR. Development Financial Manager (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTApril 12, 2016
Overall there are opprotunities for employees to gain and realize their fullest potential in their given areas of expertise, and to excell within their functional areas.
Pros
Very progressive & productive cutting edge environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Merger Problems
Associate (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAApril 5, 2016
This job has been both incredibly interesting and incredibly draining. I only wish management had figured out the merger sooner, because the culture at this location is diminishing.
Pros
Pizza Friday, Somewhat Flexible Work Hours
Cons
Terrible Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job with a Great Company
Report Optimization Consultant (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 21, 2016
Great Job with a Great Company

PM / SME: Improved finance processes, reporting and optimized information sharing internally & externally.
 Enhanced finance reporting through standardization for finance stakeholders to access consistent information.
 Implemented following processes: R&D forecasting tool to automate monthly /annual planning, Short term cash flow forecasting, Capex analysis and Tax credit analysis (R&D Time tracking and allocable expense analysis).
 Built dashboards for Revenue, OPEX, Patient, AR, AP and OTC metrics to get to analytics in a timely fashion.
 Evaluated HR tools and processes and developed recommendations for improvements.
 Extended data availability to mobile platform & smart devices to improve workflows and decision making.
Environment: SAP suite and hosted applications. Projects used MS projects and followed waterfall and SDLC.
Was this review helpful?YesNo11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding job
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RIFebruary 15, 2016
Alexion challenges you to work outside of your "typical" comfort zone.
I have learned a great deal on how to manage a workload and a process and determine priorities based on immediate need.
Pros
You are given the responsibility to make decisions and learn from them
Cons
Work/Life balance can sometimes be an issue
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Senior Manager HR ERP BA (Former Employee) –  Cheshire, CTFebruary 12, 2016
Great company to work for. Plenty of opportunities to grow with the company. Excellent leadership team. Dedicated to help patients with rare to ultra rare conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Senior Administrative Coordinator - Contractor (Current Employee) –  Cheshire, CTNovember 11, 2015
Alexion Pharmaceuticals is a great company to work for. Great work/life balance and benefit package. Casual yet professional atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RIOctober 22, 2015
Overall a good place to work; Great people too.
The benefits are fantastic as well.

The hardest part of my job is not enough resources.

The best part is being part of saving patient's lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice building, not the friendliest group
Senior Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  cheshire, CTOctober 5, 2015
I enjoyed my time over at Alexion, however i never really felt like i fit in over there. It's very clicky, and even my boss was that way. As far as the workload is concerned, its a good mix and will keep you on your toes. Expect overtime, its a must!
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compensation
Quality Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RISeptember 6, 2015
Great Compensation and great Benefits.
A typical day at work is very fast paced and busy the entire day, by the end of the week you feel totally drained.
What i learned working at this company is Moral and Culture is truly important aspect of a company. Incentive programs would really help the culture a little more with employee moral and culture is low.
Work life balance is not of importnce...as our job is dependant on production.
Even if you work through your lunch break, you are not compensated for it.
Pros
Holiday Party
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment
Upstream Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee) –  Holden, MAJuly 29, 2015
Very supportive for new ideas and processes. Hands on training is great. Very informative place to work for. Chances for going up in the company are higher than most.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative and solid science behind a niche therapeutic area
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Cheshire, CTJuly 8, 2015
I have recently completed a contingency contract with Alexion and found the company extremely vibrant, scientifically solid, creative and full of untapped potential in the rare disease arena, including biotherapeutics , RNA technologies and small molecule diversification.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational workplace
Safety Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJune 30, 2015
Love my job! I learn every day, the diversity is awsome. I speak to others in different countries, learn new cultures. management is knowledgable. I am blessed to have this career.
Pros
Flexiable for time off
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes8No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sr. Java/J2EE Developer (Current Employee) –  CTJune 11, 2015
Happy to work he client and great work culture and place to work, much comfortable and happy to work. scope to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technician
Manufacturing Associate I (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, RIJune 4, 2015
My experience happened a ling time ago so maybe it isn't relevant anymore.

The interviewer lied about the job duties and the opportunities I would get to just SEE the rest of the facility let alone get promoted into the department I wanted to be in. They ask for your opinion but ignore it really well when you give it. Hard hours but decent pay.

I wouldn't work here again.
When my contract ended they framed me with an industrial accident too.
Pros
I don't have to work here anymore
Cons
location, management, coworkers, you don't get no respect unless you've been there 30 years
Was this review helpful?Yes22No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alexion Pharmaceuticals,Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9

Alexion Pharmaceuticals,Inc. Reviews by Location