Allegheny County Health Department Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work with
Clerical Intern (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDApril 23, 2017
Everyone is very helpful and great to work with. I enjoyed the learning experience. The job is not difficult and I like how the tasks change daily. A lot of clerical duties involved and use of Microsoft Office is required.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Public Health Administration and Research Facility
Intern (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 10, 2017
The Working environment is comfortable and focused with nice co-workers who are concentrated and passionate about their jobs. My job requires me to be organized and detail oriented, with respect to health providers, patients, and their corporations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security/advancement
Fiscal Officer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 20, 2015
Offers good job security/advancement and the work environment is good. There is also a great job work/life balance. The compensation is viable to the duties the job performs and the benefits are awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government sector job!
Applications Manager (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 23, 2014
A typical government sector workday
Co-workers are friendly and helpful.
Pros
Chance to take the lead and create new opportunities
Cons
Laid back environment
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDJanuary 28, 2013
Well organized and fun people. Great leadership. A lot of talented and hard working people.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did alot of work working with at risk youths
Minority Outreach Worker (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 13, 2012
It was very rewarding to help young people so they could improve there lives
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Clerk Typist II (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 30, 2012
It was my job to register patients before they were seen by the physicians.I performed a plethora of adminstative duties including but not limited to, filing document, making and recieving phone calls, preparing reports, and preparing medical charts for new and exisiting patients. I worked in Accounts Recivabl,e as well as performing secreterial duties as necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Public Health Internship (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 25, 2012
There are alot of down-to-earth employees there which has made it easy for me to adjust from college classes to an actual work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job held after college
Public Health Nutritionist (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 8, 2012
Not employee centered, poor management practices, management is insincere.
Pros
locations, office space
Cons
compensation, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to help bring HIV info to the masses ,"Pre-Magic Johnson"
Outreach Worker (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 11, 2012
Working for the H.D. was a very interesting,yet trying, experience. Interesting, because of the different calibers of people I encountered,trying, because of the level of stubborn ignorance I kept coming in contact with; ie: HIV is just a GAY disease,etc. Looking back , I understood(but didn't accept) the ideology of the time, these were the days when the disease was still considered a GAY,WHITE problem, before the devastation that eventually came to the black community. I learned how to relate to and receive from a client, especially on the street, when time is of the essence for giving and getting information .
Pros
i was able to work at my own rate of speed, therefore bringing the best results .
Cons
the resistance i was always up against, due to the level of ignorance
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Allegheny County Health Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7

Allegheny County Health Department Reviews by Location