Allen School Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school is located near the subway
Director of Academic Affairs (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 11, 2015
It is a small school with only two basic courses, Medical Assistant and Nursing assistant. It needs to improve on student retention and career development
Pros
faculty works well together, classrooms are small and well lighted
Cons
attendance is more important than learning
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be and learned a lot in 6 months
Student (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, New YorkJune 14, 2015
Met a lot of friends there and learned a lot from the teachers. Great school to be at. Lots of fun activities to enjoy like holiday food drive and thanksgiving food fest, bring a friend/family to school day and a lot more
Pros
Long Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales background a plus
Enrollment Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 5, 2013
I sold education to potential Online students for Medical Insurance Billing and Coding. I was in charge of helping potential students make the right decision about their education. I worked very long hours and worked extremely hard for the Allen School. I had a good relationship with management. Turn-around time is quick. It is like a revolving door at Allen. The most enjoyable part of the job is the care that you are able to give to individuals all of the United States. I help to change many lives for the better.
Pros
helping persons in need
Cons
job security is not strong at their facility
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive internship
Internship (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 27, 2013
a typical day at the internship i would have to say very busy, but easy to maintain. Ive learned how to be more hands on with patients and with the doctors. Management was great very helpful. Co-workers were very polite and willing to help when necessary. Hardest part was actually finishing the internship because i got so attached to all the patients, nurses and doctors. The most enjoyable part was coming in to the internship happy and leaving satisfied that i was able to do something i passionately care about which is helping people.
Pros
free lunches, great advice from nurses and doctors, awesome support
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Assistant to the Academic Dean (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYFebruary 7, 2014
The staff was very hel[pful to new employees, I worked with a intelligent and professional administration where the business was productive and busy daily. All co-worker got along and assisted each other to whenever necessary. Would recommend this company anytime, very goal oriented and helping the community company.
Pros
very nice staff and employees
Cons
distance traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place where you learn alot of new things
medical assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 3, 2015
i learned how to draw blood, take vital signs and many more great things. management was good. my classmates wanted to learn as much as i did.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Senior Mgt - worst 9 months of my life!!!
Enrollment (Former Employee) –  PhoenixMarch 14, 2013
Turn over capital of Phoenix. The longest standing employee is the Admin assistant - only because without her the lights would probably get turned off. Great family of owners that let a controlling corporate reject come in and slowly kill their business.
Pros
pay
Cons
all the above
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight Forward Business Casual
Admissions/ Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYMay 29, 2013
I picked up plenty of technical/administrative skills in my time there. Management was always ope and receptive to recommendations. I had a great time dealing with both my co-workers and the day to day calls from inquiring students.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with potential students
Appointment Setter (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYApril 20, 2012
Another quota driven profession. I enjoy hearing the excitement of potential students, for many had a vision of creating a great life for themselves and their children. That is priceless!
Pros
helping to facilitate change
Cons
sales quota
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Allen School was a good place to work
Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 28, 2012
Working at the Allen School made me challenge alot of my fairs only because by me being the Ambassador of the office I was the first person that was seen by any client before the were sent to a representative
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team love everyone
Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 14, 2013
Enjoyed working for the company and helping to enroll students
Pros
great management team
Cons
no upward mobility
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun environment
Lead Admissions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 25, 2013
My typical work was consistent on the go, helping student change their lives. Co-workers are like a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience
Medical Instructor (Former Employee) –  BrroklynJuly 10, 2012
Learned a lot though hrs were crazy busy and management was not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical assistant
Externship (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 2, 2014
Love during the time, I was there, I did my externship there for 300 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Allen School. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture