Find companies:
Alliant Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Alliant Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Category Manager (Indirect) (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: stability
Cons: slow upward movement for career advancement
Small company feel with strong ethics and leadership. Stable marketplace. Main building in Madison, WI and smaller location in Cedar Rapids, IA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Senior Accountant (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAJune 4, 2014
Extremely challenging place to work. Management is not willing to work with employees. Very deadline driven. Very limited opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resource Coordinator
Resource Coordinator (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAMay 31, 2014
Pros: built in time off due to scheduled overtime
Cons: rotation shifts
24 x 7 x 365 day operation. Alternating shift schedule with 8 and 12 hour shifts days, afternoons, nights, and weekends. Responsible for monitor gas and electric utility in Iowa and Minnesota. Remedy power outages and gas emergencies. Schedule day to day work for lineman and gas technicians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place to work but ...
Project Engineer (Engineer III) (Current Employee), MadisonMay 22, 2014
As with most utilities you will have stable employment that can last a career. Ok benefits. Management is very inconsistent with management styles and expectations. Better get trained outside of this org because technical training is scarce ... even tho its a technical workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive work environment
Resource Coordinator (Current Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAMay 6, 2014
Safety oriented culture, and training is ongoing at Alliant Energy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company potential but to many Yes men
Business Continuity Manager (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAApril 14, 2014
Pros: good benifits, generally positive enviroment.
Cons: too many 'yes men' and not enough people dedicated to applying meaningful change.
I enjoyed my short time at Alliant Energy. Many great people work for this company. However in my capacity there is little to no dedication to business continuity and the desire for a robust program is not among the executives.
Alliant has gone through many transitions changing the direction of business continuity within the company annually. Frustrating – more... to enter a company with a set of objectives and after having met them all and received the highest possible bonus to be told you had not met the job requirements placed upon you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company wasnt bad for the most part
Meter Reader (Former Employee), Burlington, IAFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: hours, money, benefits, work alone for the most part
Cons: local management and certain employees at burlington ops
beware in Burlington location older workers will sell out anyone that doesn't back stab and spread rumors it was a bunch of people in their 50s acting like kids in junior high or high school. on top of that if there was a complaint it was always the accuser or complainer who was right without even hearing the other side and management was too stupid – more... to realize they were getting played for chumps. I've never worked at a place that so many games were played, it was totally ridiculous. i felt like i had to walk on egg shells anytime i was working, it was bad enough that fellow meter readers would lie to management on my location just to elevate themselves. i worked there for 1 1/2 years with no problems then after there was a management change i was gone within 6 months. one example is that i was 5 min late one time and got wrote up for it when the day before he gave me a verbal warning on it, the manager of the meter readers is clueless. he's never done the job he just goes off of what the head meter reader says, and she's one of the ones to watch out for. i was even told i was one of if not the best reader we had, it didn't matter once i got a target on me i was toast.

as for the rest of the company anyone else i dealt with was great never had a problem or issue and if you can deal with a whole lot of drama then maybe you can make it. the money, hours and benefits are very good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits but...
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Centerville, IADecember 2, 2013
Pros: laid back environment
Cons: hours, management
Working at Alliant was a really enjoyable job most of the time as the incoming calls were just enough to keep you busy, sometimes there were enough calls to actually keep you on your feet and give you some excitement as well. The independence in this job was great as well. Pay and benefits were a plus. The company unfortunately did not take pride in – more... the way the employees were treated though and expected work over family, to a point of extremity. A typical day consisted of making sure you were available to take any incoming call that would pop in, including two breaks and a lunch time. Co workers were in a different cubicle and generally you were left alone to work but able to converse with them as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IANovember 21, 2013
This was a temporary position. Performed document control duties for 6 month period. Established document library at $400M power plant in Mason City, Iowa. Management was great. Gave you the freedom to perform duties of the position and allowed suggestions and free flowing ideas to be submitted and took ideas for process improvement into consideration. – more... Hardest part of the job was working outdoors in sub-zero temperatures. I had to go out to outside storage lockers in the middle of winter to retrieve documents for the library. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
Financial Analyst, Fuel & Emissions Trading (Former Employee), Madison, WIAugust 29, 2013
Pros: coworkers
Cons: pay
A typical day is busy. Learned a lot from coworkers and management. Hardest part is having to learn everything while doing it. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with smart coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't to Bad a place
Security Officer (Former Employee), Marshalltown, IAAugust 25, 2013
Pros: worked by myself
Cons: far drive, and paycheck problems
Sit in shack for 10 hrs a day, pushed and pulled rail road crossing arm up and down all day to control access to plant. The site manager for the area, didn't want to do his job. He was 2 hrs away, was suppose to come down once every 2 weeks. Instead I saw him twice and he could never get my check to me on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work overall, opportunities can be limited
Sr. Consultant II: Strategic Projects / M&A (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAAugust 20, 2013
For me was an exciting and fast-paced environment especially when non-regulated, international work to do. After selling those pieces of business, the regulated utility became a little stale and bloated as they absorbed a lot of good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company depending on what area you work in
not disclosed (Former Employee), Madison, WIAugust 15, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: impossible to get ahead
Alliant is a good company to work for depending on the department you work in. My advice to those coming in the organization, get as much as you can initially. Don't count on any raises or bonuses to make up for lost ground because that is simply a pipe dream. Also don’t count on any raises when you take on additional responsibilities or obtain certifications. – more... Expect no more than annual inflationary increases at best.

I also concur with the earlier review of Internal Audit. Bizarre management and the quality of service significantly dropped off. That decline pretty much aligns with the mass exodus of mid-level audit management and staff that started earlier this year. Take caution if you are considering a role within that department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workforce, terrible corporate management.
IT Analyst (Former Employee), Madison, WIJuly 7, 2013
Pros: nice corporate headquarters.
Cons: management is awful
Great place to work if you don't mind feeling like a number and don't hold job security as being very important. Corporate executives/management continue to make mind boggling decisions that ultimately result in reorganization after reorganization after reorganization.

July 10, 2013

From my interaction with the Internal Audit Department it appears that many of the highly talented internal auditors have left because of Internal Audit management's lack of integrity and ethics. Specifically, I get told one thing and then receive something entirely different and when questioned about the change I am told excuses that make no sense. As a result, the quality of service I have received from the audit department's management has dropped dramatically in the last year. Similiar to the multiple reorganizations it appears the Internal Audit Department just does a change for the sake of change with no thought as to how it affects those being audited or those still willing to stay in the audit department. If interested in internal auditing I'd recommend looking somewhere else because it doesn't seem that talent, integrity or ethics is being rewarded with audit's current management-as of July 2013.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT department is spiraling downward
IT (Former Employee), MadisonJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: nice building.
Cons: management obstructs progress at every turn
Run from this place. You dont want to work here as a contractor or a permanent hire. High turnover for a reason. Management problems at all levels starting at the top.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Management (Current Employee), MadisonOctober 15, 2012
Current AE employee, but not in legal department. High turnover in legal department makes it difficult for us get work done. Recently lost 3 top lawyers in group for total of 6 or 7 in past year. Dishonest and bizarre leadership in this group. Apply at own risk - not a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energy company that provides electric and natural gas services throughout Iowa, Wisconsin and Minnesota.
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), Madison, WISeptember 23, 2012
Worked in Substation and Engineering department in energy distribution. Projects included design new and retrofit distributions substation. Designed and programmed fault protection and sensor indication, communication to substation and distribution transformer in addition metering.
Teamwork was encourage by management and co-workers. High performance – more... work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding for those who like to give a little extra.
Manager Customer Operations (Former Employee), Burlington, IAJune 3, 2012
Pros: freedom of work locations, salary, benefits
Cons: vp's and directors, weak human resources, no control at mid mangement level
Work hours 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM interact with employees on daily work schedule and regulatory work schedule. Customer and employee safety and knowing that my crews worked hard to go home everyday in the same shape they came to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Several different area's in the utility business which allows more opportunities for growth.
Regulatory Pricing Clerk - External Relations East (Former Employee), Madison, WIApril 6, 2012
Wisconsin Power and Light Company - Alliant Energy was a great company to work for. Prior to the changes in the economy; the majority of employee's had worked together for several year and all levels of employees treated each other with a lot of respect.

About Alliant Energy

Alliant Energy is reliant on its business model of delivering regulated and non regulated electric and natural gas services to – Read more

Alliant Energy Photos