Find companies:
Allied Building Products
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Allied Building Products Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
whse foreman, inside sales, inventory control (Former Employee), west allis ,wiSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: manangement, owners, regional managers
ok company in the 90's and 00's... But depending on who is the regional manager you may get laid off with literally no warning as in seeing a severance on your paycheck... I was there 11 years..... Just watch your back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for but moving to rapid city sd
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Bismarck, NDAugust 19, 2014
hard to keep employees and getting tired of training new people in and allied is not willing to raise pay scale to keep drivers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for just didn't have enough work.
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 3, 2014
I also did a lot of sitting around with this company. The company was in Colorado and was a weather based job. If we had bad weather we had no work. I only worked here for a short amount of time and don't remember a lot about this job because it was a few years ago.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Manager (Former Employee), Huntington, WVApril 24, 2014
Great corporate structure. safety minded. well managed. highly organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, fun people to work with, great memories
Branch Administrative Manager (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKApril 3, 2014
Pros: free lunches, golf tournament, excellent benefits, made great friends
Cons: typing quotes for sales reps, my job being eliminated
I was the Admin manager, I ran invoicing, file maintenance, ordering supplies, cash handling, closing of the store, running the deposit, inventory control, typed quotes for sales reps, coordinated a yearly golf tournament and customer appreciation night. Helped customers with complaints and or concerns, gave credits, ran errands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good employees
Material Handler (Current Employee), Fargo, NDMarch 31, 2014
A typical day would consist of pulling orders for customers for delivery. Co-workers are really nice and good to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
SOTP Trainee (Former Employee), Allentown, PADecember 10, 2013
Pros: loved the building materials
Cons: housing market was crashing
- Sales & Operations Training Program
- Inventory Management
- Over-the-Phone Sales
- Loading Delivery Trucks
- Vendor Relations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Driver (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLDecember 2, 2013
Pros: good equipment
Cons: lots of loose ends (not honest with employees)
The fellow employees at this company are good people and make the day go by a lot faster.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard physical work. You better have a strong back for this job.
Managing Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Hicksville, NYNovember 5, 2013
Pros: good pay, on time
Cons: we're here to just work type attitude
Loading and unloading countless tractor-trailors with heavy merchandise. I.E., Roofing Shingles, Siding, Decorative Stone, Vents etc. I learned to keep myself in tip-top shape for this. Management didn't really care too much, we worked until everything was done. No camaraderie here.
Hardest Part: Your aching back.
Enjoyable Part: The Paycheck. The job paid well.
I guess one has to sacrifice something.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and laid back office
Sales/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYOctober 9, 2013
Selling building materials to contractors & home owners. Loved my co-workers we were like a family, I was with the company for 23yrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Driver positon (Current Employee), Seaford, NYSeptember 19, 2013
enjoyed working with my co workers, didnt think much of management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucks
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), fargoJuly 11, 2013
i was too efficient so the business was not able to prolong their hours to get money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place. Great people.
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Oakmont, PAJuly 1, 2013
Pros: pay rates.
Cons: too many chiefs...
Great environment. The customers and co workers make this a great place to spend 8+ hours. Unfortunately, I was laid off along with a number of others when new management stepped in and needed to "downsize".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they keep one black around for good looks
Forklift Operator/Warehouse Lead/Delivery (Former Employee), Cheektowaga, NYMay 15, 2013
Cons: not a eoe they hire outsiders instead of promoting staff that have been there for years
undercover racist run the company no blacks shall every have power at this branch . friends and relative's are hired when one of them need a job then minorities are let got for them . nothing has changed in this country when it comes to working their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult work
Material Handler and Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fraser, MIApril 15, 2013
the job was difficult, however the people were easy to work for. The job was very physically demanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was able to use experence and great cust./co-worker interaction.
Manager/Sales (Former Employee), Bettendorf, IaMarch 13, 2013
location excellent team, enjoyed great customer relations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside Sales
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Merrillville, INFebruary 25, 2013
This was a solid position with a fortune 500 company but the economy crashed and we downsized. My basic responsibilities were managing accounts as well as going after new business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flat organization with little room to grow
Analyst (Current Employee), New JerseyFebruary 24, 2013
There is not a great deal of room to grow at Allied. Unless you are willing to become a branch manager. The corporate structure is flat which does not allow for growth opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, always busy.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), brookpark, ohioJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: free lunches, bonuses
Cons: no job security, lay off every winter
Enjoyable place to work, No job security. Always busy, fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Contractor Tool Center Lead Replenisher (Former Employee), East Rutherford, NJNovember 6, 2012
Worked for the company in various positions and roles for over 12 years.