Allied Building Products Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 53 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management and people.
Warehouse Foreman (Former Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 22, 2016
Everything was great except the pay and slow hours during winter being a roofing industry. I loved and thrived in the team based environment
Pros
Everything except compensation.
Cons
Compensation and seasonal atmosphere due to roofing industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very high paced
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Cranston, RIAugust 15, 2016
Great job and good pay. Can get over time very quickly and lots of it. High paced and very physical work. Time fly's by in a normal day there. I worked with a great staff so that helped a lot as well.
Pros
Can make a good paycheck if you put in the work hours. Great staff
Cons
your personal life doesn't matter nor do doctor appointments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJuly 22, 2016
Work is a very physical and demanding. Have to be extremely safety cautious. Co-Workers have a "go team" attitude. Constant interaction between management and crews.
Pros
Paid Weekly
Cons
Unable to take legal breaks or lunch at times due to jobs, Safety Regulations do NOT apply to everyone, As a driver you are responsible for your helper/loader, If they mess up on a job sight they get suspended and you get let go.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work environment
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, GAJuly 17, 2016
I worked for this company for ten years and it is the best company to work for in my opinion. Good benefits and safe place to work, if your looking for longevity this is the place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many chiefs not enough Indians
Driver (Current Employee) –  Oldsmar, FLApril 7, 2016
They work you like a slave for 60 hours then if you miss a day they want you to come in on Saturday to make it up no lunch no brakes only the people in the office benefit for this company its go go go go go go go go alll the time
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what you Think
Driver (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMarch 24, 2016
if you'r new watch your a-s-s .........not a good work place working in the warehouse is okay...........driving is okay but everything else you will find out out out out out out
Pros
don't know wasn't there long lol
Cons
don't trust no one
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for paycheck, not much long term potential.
Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyMarch 14, 2016
Typical east coast, big company mindset. They have some good talent, but still hold onto many old concepts of thoughts and execution. Politics is a huge part of your career. Not much room for advancement. Culture is not conducive to innovative thought, women and/or minorities.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Corporate culture, career growth, location.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hard work
Driver/Roof Loader (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CONovember 21, 2015
Drove roofing supplies to houses and loaded them on the roof. Hard physical work running over the tops of roofs laying down shingle packs
Was this review helpful?Yes10No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Customer service (Current Employee) –  chicago ilOctober 22, 2015
good company I learned a lot. I love the work I do there I dedicated 8 years of my life to this company till now that they laid me off after working for so long there I am looking for another company.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Detail Oriented
Sales (Former Employee) –  Madison, WISeptember 9, 2015
During the busy construction time, this job requires a lot of quick problem solving in a faced paced environment. It also requires a lot of attention to detail.
Pros
Fun place
Cons
Summers can be rough when it's really busy
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a greay place to work. My co-workers were really good people.
General Labor/Loader (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COSeptember 8, 2015
A typical day at work for me would start with stretches and light excercises. Then, we would have a safety meeting. I would then be told what truck I was on and I would go and load it.

I really loved this job. Would be happy to work there again.
Pros
Safety Classes
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I generated purchasing analysis reports
Purchasing Analyst (Former Employee) –  DenverAugust 27, 2015
Job was not as advertised. No training on complex computer software (multiple programs). Little to no interaction with other workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Administrator Assistant (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAAugust 2, 2015
worked with sales force scanned all paper work to corporate, ordered lunched for bosses. balanced petty cash. talked with will call customers. ordered supplies
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last 9 months
Inside Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJuly 22, 2015
For the past 9 consecutive months we have been without a Branch Manager to save some money at work, However this is taking a toll on myself and everyone here, From outside sales to operations and deliveries. This is NOT a way to run a business. Now I do not mind learning and moving up, but with out any form of compensation is unacceptable.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a learning experience
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  East Rutherford, NJJuly 15, 2015
For the first 6 years enjoyed working there very much. With new management came many changes that took away the family atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend it
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 27, 2015
I love working for Allied Building. It's an interesting industry to work for. I would recommend anyone to work for this company. The staff is dedicated and team oriented. It's a great environment and culture of people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off at as a case manager
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Capital Heights, MarylandJune 14, 2015
* Developed and implemented an individualized 6 month program plan

* Served as an aid to homeless individuals through transitional housing programs

* Developed interviewing techniques and job search objectives for clients to achieve

* Developed a comprehensive training program for new employees

* Planned and directed staff training and performance evaluations.

* Reached out to homeless individuals if availability opened up

* Promptly resolved all clients questions or concerns
Pros
Free lunches and great people to work around and gain diversity awareness
Cons
no healthcare no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Inside Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  East Rutherford, NJJune 9, 2015
Administrative work,Team environment, Hourly pay,Free BBQ's,
PK sessions (Product Knowledge), New Operational system, Outside sales experience, Warehouse experience, communication experience.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Hourly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes16No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers made you feel like family....
WAREHOUSE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Bismarck, NDMay 4, 2015
Overall, Allied Building is a good place to work. I hated leaving my co-workers but it was a decision that was made for me, not by me. Good benefits, good environment.
Pros
Good co-workers.
Cons
Working in tough weather...
Was this review helpful?Yes29No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
load and unload
Forklift Operator, Loader (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAApril 14, 2015
helping satisfied customers daily with the full trust and understanding we can do the job and do the job once. keep up with set up trips in yard and maintain full cycle goes smooth so our trucks get and and out.
Pros
long hours
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes25No4Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 53 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Allied Building Products Reviews by Location