Find companies:
AlliedBarton Security Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,923 reviews

AlliedBarton Security Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to have.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTMarch 29, 2014
The benefits were great, the company great. It introduced me to a different style of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great understandable managers
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 28, 2014
Great management also willing to compromise down the middle with you depending on circumstance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AlliedBarton Security Services... Sadly, this may be the best contract security company around.
Mid-Level Management (Current Employee), Western RegionMarch 28, 2014
Pros: it's a paycheck right? but for the liability you have the small pay isn't worth it.
Cons: work hard or hardly work, it doesn't matter.
A typical day at work? Routine patrols, if you don't mind walking for 8 hours a day this is a great but for almost every guard I have ever met they find a "secret area" to relax, nap or watch videos on their phone/tablet because they have realized that whether they work really hard or barely work at all they will make the same amount of money and wont – more... get more no matter how well they preform. Since I have become a manager I no longer tolerate this at my site but as a guard you will witness this on a daily basis.

What have I learned? The only thing I have learned from working here is that contract security stinks. The officers stink, because they realize they can do nothing all day and get away with it. The higher management is terrible and no one cares about anything other than their own behind. We are here so that the company that is contracting us can save money on insurance. I sincerely wish more companies would care because I love security and I do enjoy my job but contracting any company to run your security is a bad idea. Do it yourself! Spend some extra money and get WAY more out of it!

Management? Could it get any worse? Site supervisors and Account managers are usually pretty good people who do try hard and do care about the people who work for them. They are constantly being berated and belittled by upper management though. The higher ups are full of back stabbers, pencil pushers, brown noses and generally bad people. The higher ups make working worse for everyone and pretty much do nothing all day but complain about how bad everyone is doing. You will get written up here, even if you are doing a good job, it will make you feel like **** and then you will get written up
again.

Co-workers? Nearly every coworker I have had was at one time a good or even a great security officer but as time went by and they became forgotten by their company they become lazy workers. I cant say that I fully blame them though, continually dropping pay rates, continually dropping raises and the fact that the higher ups are constantly trying to get them in trouble for frivolous things makes them want to do the bare minimum, or less. Most people do less. Its a shame that these hard working people were not rewarded or even recognized, EVER for what they did for the company and how over time they have degraded because of AlliedBarton.

The hardest part of the job?... Trying to motivate people to want to do it is the hardest for me. Like I said before, I enjoy security and enjoy my job for the most part. I have worked for other security companies and sadly this is the best I think there is to offer when it comes to contract security. The hardest part of this job though in all honesty will come when you reach that point when you realize that what you are doing here as a guard is mostly pointless and was made up by someone who was never a guard before, has never been to your site and only cares about himself and making himself look good. No one above you cares about you, your family or your career. You will most likely be a security officer until you get a better job because almost no one moves up. This company definitely plays favorites, they like "yes men" to move up and you have to play their game to do so. Most of the time they wont even post job applications and just promote the people that they know will do whatever they say, basically the people that have no spines.

The most enjoyable part of the job? For me I love a lot of it. Talking with the clients, making schedules, patrolling, I even love doing my paperwork. I just wish that the people higher up on the food chain would stop with the BS. Someone needs to clean house here, big time! Hopefully if you work here, which I wouldn't recommend to almost anyone, you can find something you enjoy. If you want to sit on your bum all day and watch videos on your phone then this is a good place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 28, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: fles schedules
love working for them great pay great co workers learned how to deal with clients problems just enjoyed working for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need Management Improvement
Security Officer (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDMarch 27, 2014
Management issues,problems with getting people to stay,need better benefits,show more consideration for employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hospital secure
Security Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 27, 2014
worked nights in the hospital. walking guess and staff to their cars patrolling parking lots, observation and documentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Security Officer (Current Employee), Centennial, COMarch 27, 2014
Cons: benefits, management, job advancement, raises.
Typical work day includes patrols of ground, monitoring CCTV's, and customer service. Management seems to either ignore employee needs or blatantly do not care, they seem to belittle employee's and are not able to understand situations that their employee's may have. Have applied for numerous jobs in the company and have never heard anything bad from – more... HR or managers over the jobs. Took 3 years of arguments before management finally gave a raise of 33 cents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top 10 Security company in US.
Security officer/Receptionist (Current Employee), Conshohocken, PAMarch 26, 2014
Good sites to work, great on resume, company can do better hiring great employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work if your just starting off in the security industry
Security Officer (Former Employee), Riviera Beach, FLMarch 26, 2014
Pros: gettign out of work at 10 am
Cons: having to be at work by 4:45 am
Typical day of work would be I would come in at 5 AM and check in with the Managers of FedEx and than I would wait until either 5:30 or until the Manager told me to open the gates to let in the trucks. Than I would be posted at one gate and would have to search people and there personal belongings as they enter and left the warehouse. As well as ask – more... to see their employee ID. Than from time to time walk around the facility and just keep an eye on things. While working on that site I got to learn a lot of things about that copany and how the opperate. Like the delivery routes, how they pack the truck with all the deliveries, and what they do if they forget a package, or something is damage, or if they have no more room on their truck. The hardest part was having to to wake up at 3:30 AM every day to be at work by 4:45 and the most enjoyable part of the job was getting out really early in the mornings and having the rest of the day off to do what I wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very professional company
Security Officer (Former Employee), Silver Spring, MDMarch 26, 2014
Pros: good communication
Cons: people not following directions
While working for AlliedBarton security, the work habits that I have seen was very professional. Employees helped customers with either official law enforcement assistance, directing customers or visitors to the appointed destinations. The companies entire staff looked very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Security Officer (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEMarch 25, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Its a company with very low advancement. But the job is very relaxing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Setting
Security Officer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 25, 2014
Pros: lunch was in dispatch command center
Cons: dont be late
The AlliedBarton Security Services has a reputation to hold when hiring the right person for the right job. I had to work at downtown phoenix at the Plaza. The biggest contract with AlliedBarton. The job was extremely hard, so much training, so much information to learn, always adapting to new sitting and environments, All i have to say is i learned – more... a lot from AlliedBarton working downtown at the Plaza, not many people would agree but i enjoyed my time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive workplace
Security Officer (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 24, 2014
Pros: pick up overtime
Cons: no sick or off days
A typical day involves greeting customers and providing great customer service in order to secure the premises of the client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Security Guard (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 24, 2014
Typical day at Work:
-observe and report

What I learned:
-how to deal with difficult people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its okay
Site Manager (Current Employee), Lyndhurst, NJMarch 24, 2014
the job is okay. I have nothing negative to say about my current employeer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration only concerned for profits, not employees
Security Guard (Former Employee), Atlanta, GaMarch 24, 2014
Cons: everything about the job. insurance is very low quality.
I worked here for over a year while in school.

The management was poor, he only cared about what was going on with him, he did not know how to use computers and was expected to use them daily. The upper management (off site) did not respond to complaints that were coming in from the guys and the pay was poor, considering that you are the face of policy – more... enforcement and you dealt with bad attitudes all shift long. The other employees were unprofessional due to feelings of injustice from the job itself. Would not work for them again even if I was starving or unless I was a supervisor with the ABILITY to make the needed changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked part-time for them...decent organization to work for.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Voorhees, NJMarch 24, 2014
Pros: clean work site with good people around me.
Cons: pay was lower than it should be to keep qualified individuals.
They have a very pro-active training culture that is available to all employees. They also have a current job culture that is inline with today's needs. Worked by myself, but had interesting interaction with those under my care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Aiken, SCMarch 23, 2014
Job was very hard work to do. Hardest part of the job was to get production on a daily bases. A lot of pushing, pulling, lifting, carts that weighted over 1200 bounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Front Desk Security / Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 23, 2014
Pros: able to transfer to different sites, paid vacations
Cons: short breaks, bad benefit package, not enough sick days per year.
Depending on the site you work, the pay can be decent. open line of communication with managers for work assignments.
not enough advancement opportunities. I learned most of my interpersonal skills with this job. hardest part of this job was receiving instructions from company superiors vs Site client superiors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Routine
Console Dispatcher (Former Employee), El Segundo, CAMarch 23, 2014
Every day was pretty much the same. There were not too many emergencies and most days were full of the same routine.

About AlliedBarton Security Services

Better than a blanket, Allied Security Holdings gives customers a sense of security. One of the largest private contract security – Read more

AlliedBarton Security Services Photos