Allina Health System Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Coworkers
Aide (Former Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNDecember 1, 2017
Fellow staff are friendly, smart and excellent patient advocates. The work can be very stressful but it is also very rewarding. Management cares about every employee's safety. Not a lot of job advancement. Great flexibility with hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allina Health System Review
IS Business Analyst, Intermediate (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 27, 2017
I have worked a majority of my career life at Allina.

I really enjoyed my customers and vendors. There are a lot of smart, talented people at Allina and I learned a lot through the years.
Pros
Great work/life balance
Cons
Low pay compared to market rates
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  minneapolis, mnNovember 26, 2017
Supportive charge nurses but nurse manager absent and no progress with problems or making it run more smoothly. Awesome team to work with and very supportive. Crazy busy floor and complex patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Reg/scheduler (Current Employee) –  AbbottNovember 25, 2017
I have worked for Allina going on eight years now, only thing I don't like is no paid Holidays.
Otherwise everything s all good..I would recommend u work where
Pros
Great friends, good managers
Cons
No Holiday pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged
Allina Security Officer (Current Employee) –  MNNovember 16, 2017
NO Employee Retention, not competitive Pay, bad hiring practices. no room to advance.

go work there for 6 months you will make good money then they wont care about keeping you even as a high performer they will hire new employees at higher rates than current employees without backpack or progressing pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place for working families
Coding Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 15, 2017
PROS: Very flexible work from home schedule. Pay and benefits are very good for my field.
CONS: Very high turn around for supervisors. I've had 3 in 3 years. Also the focus is too much on numbers in regards to getting a certain number of charges out in a day and we are not allowed to research or collaborate with our fellow employees which sometimes just makes me feel like a robot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Excellian Data Integrity Specialist (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 12, 2017
I don't want to put a review on this site - I feel as though if I would like to provide a review I would do so on another site or talk with my mgmt. directly . Than you - for understanding!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinic manager is not a good person, quantity preferred over quality
Lpn (Former Employee) –  Northfield, MNNovember 2, 2017
Okay as an interim place, not long term. Very high turn over and termination rate. Clinic manager has favorites, quantity of patients preferred over quality of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Registered Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNOctober 24, 2017
Rooming patients, prescription refills, answering patient questions and returning patient phone calls. Assisting provider with office procedures and scheduling patient appointments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of management
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Abbott, mnOctober 21, 2017
So stressful... I'm always burnt out anytime I work ,very disrespectful co workers and managers just don't care..especially when ur new..they make you do extra work.. I reported but nothing was done...I had move on before I collapse one day.6-8 can call in on a regular shift ..how sad.
Pros
Enough ot
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNOctober 17, 2017
Great place to work. Switched Allina Clinics and ended up with a bad manager so super bummed. I would recommend working for Allina just not at one specific clinic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 16, 2017
Each location has its own culture
Company has many silos
Clinicians are dedicated but change resistant
Can be a great place to work if you're in the right department
Pros
Good benefits, dedicated clinical staff
Cons
Leadership, pace of decision making, lack of innovation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Instructional Designer (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 16, 2017
Good place to work they need to figure things out around development and how to engage their employees. They need to offer perks like WFH. Liked to play favorites.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
Pto, no development
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allina
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Ulm, MNOctober 13, 2017
If you do not have the right last name you will get no advancement opportunities. People get too much training and go no where with the training they receive as they do not offer hours to current employees before hiring on new.
Pros
Nice Co-workers
Cons
Low pay and not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work at.
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 4, 2017
Needs more and better management. All departments are not the same. Needs a really fair management at the department I know. Employees treated differently.
Pros
Good work/life balance.
Cons
There is not a good organized management in this department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dog eat dog
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Blaine, MNOctober 1, 2017
Clicks, back stabbing, petty people
Management unavailable
Doctors stand offish
Not treated well
Training was lacking, left alone to figure it out
w/o assistance
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Patient Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 26, 2017
Allina is a sressful place to work. They have a harsh attendance policy which makes life for employees. I did not like the way the department I worked in was managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great employer
Staff RN, 0.9 FTE Med/Surg/Peds/SCU (Current Employee) –  Owatonna, MNSeptember 26, 2017
It can be stressful at times in direct patient care, and definitely fast paced. Friendly coworkers, awesome teamwork. I have worked at several Allina facilities, and as an employer they are awesome!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working in the heart hospital
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 26, 2017
excellent. I loved the people I worked with. My boss was like my second mom. The environment of the heart hospital was ideal and I truly miss the unit I left June 2016 due to the upcoming strike.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily duties as a patient registration scheduler
Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Woodbury, MNSeptember 15, 2017
my day consisted of checking in patients for their appointments, collecting copays doing follow-up appointments as well. Also verifying insurance daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Allina Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 321 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3