Allstate Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 2,048 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place on the surface
Direct Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 15, 2013
When you start one of the Allstate Customer Information Centers, everything is great, throughout training and transition into your regular position, scheduling, pay, time off, managers, and the company as a whole are just great. That lasts for about 3-4 months. After that, things are a bit more rigid, but you're at the mercy of your manager. If you've got a good one, you're golden, if not, then unless you're naturally a salesperson, you're screwed. I had the fortune of having both throughout my time at Allstate, so I can speak to both experiences.
A good manager can give you productive, constructive criticism that will build your sales abilities, work with any scheduling quirks you may have, and help deal with any issues that may arise. A bad manager (at least in my experience with the company) gives little to no criticism, or gives very generalized criticism, with no positive reinforcement, and will not bend at all when extraordinary circumstances arise.
The company itself, however, is another beast, especially when it comes to timekeeping. The system for "occurrences" (basically sick days, but it's more complicated than that) is complex, and not explained particularly well (out of the 7 occurrences you can have before being terminated, several people in my class had 4 by the time we graduated from transition onto the sales floor because when it was explained to us, even the teachers weren't positively sure how it worked, and many of us were led to believe that you had to take an occurrence to take *any* time off) then, on top of that, the system that timekeeping has put into
  more... place with the intent of keeping track of how many occurrences you have (as well as PTO days) is flawed in it's calculations, categorization, and stability. Sometimes the system would go down without warning for weeks at a time (in the event that led to my termination, the system had not updated in 3 weeks, but even when loading the system, it loaded as usual, just not with up-to-date numbers, which misleads you to believe that you have more time available than you actually do.), and when you call the timekeepers, they can give you little, to no information. The other thing is that you're told throughout training that you'll get something like 24 days of vacation throughout the year (estimates from the teachers varied between 22 and 28), but as soon as you hit the floor, you quickly discover that you're only given 12, and that it takes almost a decade to be able to earn 24 days.

There's also a term used by agents, and you would hear it on the floor from time to time, especially around bonus time, where someone has been "Allstated." For example, often times, an agent who only occasionally gets bonus will have, over the course of their time, an average of 6 policies terminated every month, and a maximum of 10 in one month, ever. But say the agent has a great month and passes the threshold for bonus by 16 policies. Suddenly, at the end of the month, Allstate tells them they've had 24 policies terminate in the last month, which means the agent gets nothing whatsoever. There are lots of convenient coincidences like this, and it happens often enough that it's impossible to not be suspicious about it.
Overall, it's not a bad place to work though. As long as you can meet some basic sales numbers, and learn the systems as quickly and thoroughly as possible so as to dodge the timekeeping issues, then you'll have no problem whatsoever.
The pay is pretty great, a majority of the managers are great, and know exactly what they're doing, the customers are just like any other customers, they can be great or they can be terrible, and your team members are generally great. Once you've made it through licensing, training and transition, anyone who would bring a lot of drama has been weeded out, so everyone gets along well, regardless of what your background or walk of life is. The environment is really great, the problem is just a company which looks to scrimp every penny from anywhere they can get it.
  less
Pros
mostly great managers, great environment, great people, allstate pays for you to get your property and casualty license in 28 states, very diverse workplace
Cons
convoluted timekeeping and bonus systems, the occasional bad manager
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. QA Analyst/Lead
Sr. QA Analyst/Lead (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 25, 2013
This application is to get the online Quotes & Purchase for Auto & Property in different states in United States It enables the customer to get the Quick / Full Quotes / New Business for Auto, Home (Home owners, Renters, Condominiums), Health, Annuity, Mutual Funds, Business & Property Insurance. It involves with both Commercial and Personal insurance. The auto Insurance deals with all details of the Drivers history and Vehicle history. It also deals with the customer care claims. The application also deals with Mortgage, Investment and Financial (Fixed Income, Bonds, and Banking Products).

Responsibilities:
• Involved in all stages of testing the Mutual Fund applications – Stock mutual funds, Bond mutual funds, Money Market mutual funds.
• Responsible for testing the Quote & Purchase for both Auto and Property Insurance of the customers, which compares with the Allstate premium.
• Design, develop, and implement test plan, test design, test cases/scenarios for the MS CRM application. Work closely with a cross-functional team, including business analysts, QA analysts, in-house developers, and project management in order to plan and conduct thorough testing in a fast-paced, agile environment.
• Created Entities, Related Entities, Custom Attributes and Workflows for the MS CRM QA environment and executed Manual Test cases logged the defects in Test Director.
• Performed Regression & Assembly Testing and responsible for interacting with developers to fix the problems especially pertaining to database which are not populated to the online screen when Customer enters his Quote such
  more... as Discounts, Models of Vehicles etc.
• Developed SQL Queries and executed Triggers and Stored procedures to validate the database the back end of the application.
• Involved in testing the Property & Casualty application, which delivers the online Auto Insurance information related to the accidents.
• As Team Lead for Automation team (QTP) – standardized common library functions, object repository, function repository, regression scripts, smoke tests and test data.
• Used QTP for .Net applications and developed various VB Script functions to test the functionality of each component of the application.
• Mapped the custom objects to the standard objects where necessary, and inserted GUI, Bitmap and Text checkpoints where needed, to compare the current behavior of the application being tested to its behavior in the earlier version using QTP
• Performed data driven testing on QTP scripts - Parameterized the fixed values in checkpoint statements, created data tables for the parameters and wrote functions for the parameters to read new data from the table upon each iteration
• Responsible for setting up DB, BITMAP, XML Checkpoints to check the validity of the data.
• Used Test Director as repository for requirement analysis, design test cases, Execute test cases, Bug tracking and reporting.
• Based on the Critical Transactions generated Scripts using Load Runner VuGen (Virtual User Generator)
• Using VuGen enhanced the scripts and did Parameterization, Correlation to meet the requirements.
• Debugged the scripts by running in Stand-alone mode by using VuGen.
• Extensively used various Recording options in the VuGen depending on the requirement and the application.
• Performed tests using Load Runner Controller by creating 100, 200, 400 virtual users for load, stress and steady state test respectively. Performance Monitor was used to monitor and analyze the performance of the server by generating various reports for CPU utilization, Memory Usage etc.
• Recorded performance measurements before running the test in the Controller for UNIX, Oracle, Web sphere servers in Load Runner controller and monitored online transaction Response times, Web hits, TCP/IP Connections, Throughput, CPU, Memory, Heap sizes, Various Http requests etc. Identified bottlenecks rectified the same by changing configurations, adding Indexes etc.

Environment: Windows NT/2000, VB.Net, SQL Server 6.0, PL/SQL, MVS, Java/Swing, AS/400, QTP, Win Runner, Test Director, PVCS Tracker, LoadRunner, RUP, Rational Requisite Pro, UNIX
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Express Claims Centers - Any Location About the Same
Claims Processing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJuly 19, 2012
I worked at the Cheyenne Express Claims Center in WY, but I've talked with people in other Express centers and it's the same nationwide.

Do not take this job if you don't respond well to pressure - you'll be under constant scrutiny. They measure performance quarterly, monthly, weekly, daily, and (I'm not kidding) hourly.

Your advancement and salary/benefits will be contingent upon your performance on a daily basis.

The company philosophy is an exercise in doublethink - they stress customer centric, and everything you do as a customer service rep will be bent toward that end, every minute of every shift.

But ultimately their satisfaction is entirely out of your hands because most of the customer service is not claims related, their prices are too high, and they don't actually pay claims fairly according to the policies purchased.

There's a reason the CSRs have to try so desperately to please the customers - because the company itself won't. Their premiums are outrageously high compared to industry standard, and most of their customer service is non-existent because it's outsourced in India.

The only customer service aspect handled in the U.S. is claims handling, which is done almost entirely through Express centers. What they are are factories for moving employees in and out, for the purpose of not actually having trained claims adjusters. Years back they fired the majority of their licensed, trained claims adjusters, and found a way to skirt the law to do the work with unlicensed "claims processing specialists" - essentially CSRs using an automated claims adjustment system.
  more...

They're just as happy to lose an employee as they are to hire one, because the new employee starts at a wage way below the standard for the industry. You have to "earn" your way to a wage comparable to a claims adjuster in any other company through many years of very hard work with no mistakes.

Keep in mind you'll have a chance to interact with customers and try to assist them through very tough times, and for a while you'll feel like you're succeeding. But as you grasp Allstate's claims organization more thoroughly, you'll realize that it is all designed to result in the lowest possible payout and the least possible return for the customer on their premium investment.

There's very little you can do to avoid having the customer end up with a lowball offer for their car accident that leaves them high and dry.

And for property insurance (which you'll also handle) - forget it. Any possible excuse will be given to avoid paying property claims. They'll be lucky to even have an adjuster look at the damage. Average settlement is probably 1/2 or less of the actual cost of damages.

Only real upsides are that their benefits package (other than wages) is slightly better than industry standard and it's an office job so you're only going to be straining your mind not your back.

Also with all of the drama going on (other reviewers are not wrong when they tell you the micro-managing and competition between coworkers takes you back to high school) you can charitably say that "it's cheaper than a movie and there's free coffee."
  less
Pros
"it's cheaper than a movie and there's free coffee."
Cons
wages way below industry standard, mgmt micromanages, customers screwed over, corporate would rather lose than gain an employee, high pressure/stress environment
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1

Comment – August 2, 2012

AMEN!! AMEN!!! CIA { Central Investiagtors Of Allstate} always watching.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Average Call Center
Sales (Former Employee) –  Pocatello, IDSeptember 15, 2015
An average day at the Allstate call center is like any other call center, you take calls and that is about it. If you are a supervisor at the call center, then it is a great place to work because it involves being on the phones very seldom, you get to talk to other supervisors all day, walk around the center aimlessly, and if someone has a question you just tell them to check Rio and disappear. The management there seems to be great until you need help.

One of the things I learned is how valuable education is so that you can escape the high school drama, micromanagement, and spineless management of the call center.

The hardest part of the job was knowing that to the company you were merely one of a few hundred head of cattle and that is basically how you can expect to be treated. Another unpleasant part of working there was how often you were given generic and vague answers to specific questions (i.e. schedule changes, pay changes, policy changes. The usual answer was ‘things can change’) because the center lacks transparency to most employees due to corporate bureaucracy. Also frustrating was consistently being told how important it is to be there on the weekends, yet when you arrive at the center you will notice about only half the people there during the week are working on the weekend (some of this is due to training classes, but the optics of it are not good). You will also likely have your schedule set up so that you have split days off, one being Sunday, and as a result will not receive any differential pay for the weekend (weekend differential is 30-35% of
  more... additional pay for those two days), thus making it more frustrating to work during the weekend. You will also have a very difficult time using vacation days due to very limited availability.

The most enjoyable part of the job was logging off the phone every day to leave. By far, the happiest people there were the people not taking phone calls. Do not expect to be happy for long if you do not land a non-phone job. Some of the co-workers were awesome, but most have not matured since they turned 13.

There are some opportunities to advance in the company, but most are merely to other phone jobs such as sales, licensed service, or extra hands. I would say to not expect you will be off the phones in under a year or even two years. Most of the original hires from when the center opened have the good jobs at the call center. If you decide to move up to another position from unlicensed service do not stress about the licensing exam, it is basically a literacy test and easy to pass on the first attempt.

Overall, the pay is decent, but if you currently are in a job that pays $10 an hour or more and your hours are during the week, I would strongly recommend staying with your current employer. However, if you are making below that and need some funds, it’s a decent place to work while you are looking for opportunities elsewhere
  less
Pros
Pay, some co-workers, full time
Cons
Customers, non rotating days off, lack of transparency
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walk in with a bank roll in your pocket
Agent (Former Employee) –  MarylandMarch 18, 2013
As a mid-20-something-year-old, I entered this space, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, unjaded and hopeful, and ready to kick (something). It took no more than a year to become extremely jaded, suspicious and very stressed out, but I was naive. Don't get me wrong, if you walk in the right way, this is actually an awesome job. But you need to have experience and a plan.

First of all, if you don't have a decent amount of money to bankroll an Agency, don't even consider it. If you don't have previous insurance experience don't even consider it. This job is best suited for an individual that has all this and a plan. For example, there was an Agent in MD that had years of prior experience and had obviously researched the area he was looking to open his office. He had saved the money to make the move and he used to hire telemarketers and sales producers to supplement the office. It didn't him long to be one of the most successful Agents. But that is the plan you MUST follow or you will either struggle for years of frustration or quickly fail. I struggled. I then re-assessed my aptitudes and made a career change. It was the right thing for me.

The management here, quite honestly, are geared to "more sales" all the time, regardless of circumstance. A potential hiree should be aware of this. Unless you have a very agressive sales type of personality, this job is probably the wrong choice.

With all of that said, the other consideration is what you will have to do once you've established yourself. The job then becomes managerial. Besides being a go get 'em sales person, you then will need
  more... to be a very competent business owner and personnel manager. In my case, the former hindered me somewhat from achieving the level I desired to work as the latter, which is why I changed careers.

This is not a job for the meek and it requires 100% dedication. If you can finance the business and you already have several years experience, and you have a plan, you will be far more likely to be successful. This is a career decision that should be mulled over and thought through VERY carefully before deciding. If you ARE the right type you'll never regret it for a moment, but if you aren't - even if you aren't quite, you'll either regret it, or be generally frustrated and not particularly happy for a large percentage of your time.
  less
Pros
for the right person compensation and ultimately a fair degree of autonomy
Cons
for the wrong person compensation and absolutely no autonomy and essentially no life
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented Company
Mainframe Storage Management Administrator (Former Employee) –  Hudson, OHMay 6, 2013
Analyzed mainframe transfer DASD space availability by Systems Managed Storage Complex (SMSPLEX) and by System Complex (SYSPLEX).
Analyzed transfer DASD storage connected across all Logical Partitions 15 (LPARs).
Analyzed and determined cause of mainframe transfer DASD space considerations.
Analyzed and recommended required SMS modifications.
Analyzed required mainframe ACS code modifications.
Monitor DASD and tape storage resources for performance and available space.
Ability to perform Mainframe SMS constructs modifications online using TSO logon and Interactive System Management Facility (ISMF).
Analyzed management class constructs defining retention requirements for data sets.
Analyzed Hierarchical Storage Management (HSM) parameter library members assigned to control execution.
Analyzed free space for the three control data sets of HSM.
Analyzed and perform the steps to reorganize control data sets.
Analyzed Migration on Level 2 tapes to ensure maximum tape density.
Support of Device Facility/Systems Managed Storage Automatic Class Selection (DF/SMS ACS).
Provided support of DF/SMShsm Aggregate Backup and Recovery System (ABARS).
Provided support upgrading Systems Managed Storage (SMS), Hierarchical Storage Manager (HSM) and of Device Facility Product (DFP).
Provided support of IBM Mainframe storage management disciplines utilizing DF/SMS ACS routines.
Reviewed Mainframe DASD/tape space availability by SMSPLEX and by SYSPLEX
Reviewed Mainframe DASD/tape storage thresholds to determine adequate space availability and provide resolution if required.
Analyzed and determined
  more... cause of DASD/tape space concerns.
Analyzed Mainframe DASD and tape storage usage availability.
Provided resolution for space shortages.
Collected and review SMF/RMF performance data.
Provided estimates and recommendation of DASD/tape and storage requirements.
Enhanced software to reduce operation time, add functionality, or improve efficiency.
Analyzed Mainframe SMS constructs.
Analyzed Mainframe SMS ACS logic.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for if you fit the culture already
Systems Analyst - Sr. Consultant (Current Employee) –  Northbrook, IllinoisAugust 14, 2013
No Free Coffee, I almost started looking for a new job right away.

Big companies move slowly and carefully. At Allstate I am the grey matter between System Architects, Developers, and Project Managers. Most of the functions that a software development type project would have to interact with are "enterprises", so they require a lot of planning to interact with. The technology is highly layered and there are a lot of various technologies at play here. What that gives you is a great place to work and grow, but a terrible maze of process and procedure to navigate. Work life balance is a joke. Good luck eating away from your desk or working up to 8 hours in one day.

My typical day starts between 4:30 am and 5:30 where I arrive at the office 5:30-6:30. I work on various documentation before others arrive at 7:30 and I meet with my manager to discuss my objectives and any potential issues. That's where I'm reminded of a handful of things I haven't considered and then my planned 10 hour day turns into a 14 hour day. I then attend 4-6, sometimes 8 meetings from 8am - 5pm and then I try to complete updates to some particular document. I hit the gym from 6-7pm at the office and then I either leave or if I haven't finished documentation or setting meetings, I stay and work to 9 pm. From there, I arrive home by10 pm. I eat anything I can find that is healthy enough, try to get some errands prepared in advance of the next day encase I can run an errand at lunch, and prepare for the next morning. I fall asleep between 11 and midnight.

This is a great company with a lot to learn, but you
  more... have to dedicate a good portion of your life to it. Perhaps it's worth asking, if you have to spend so long learning, then is the knowledge worth having?  less
Pros
technology to learn about and develop with.
Cons
no time to use the benefits without cutting into pto, managers threaten employees, no free coffee, long commute, long hours, no great mentoring or learning curve shortcuts, life suck.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was great, but I was looking for something different.
Compliance Processor (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 16, 2013
I worked for Allstate for many years. My Job duties included:
- Performed Internal Control requirements for five states.
- Completed, maintained, and provided manual and field claim payment checks distribution.
- Designed and implemented a contract regarding a new check distribution process.
- Maintained check logs including planning, tracking and coordination with the field employees.
- Ordered checks from the supplier as well as confirmed receipt of the supply of checks needed on a quarterly basis.
- Ensured that all check stock is located in a secured location.
- Generated operational reports for internal quality control audits.
- Addressed internal and external customer concerns and provided help to resolve issues.
- Reviewed, documented, and investigated prepaid/duplicate payments that were issued by employees.
- Granted system access to employees for five states in accordance with established procedures to ensure compliance requirements.
- Assisted with file reviews: reviewed content and documentation to verify regulatory compliance to non-complex state and federal guidelines.
- Entered data and information found during claim compliance reviews as well as reported and addressed trends identified.
- Developed and maintained new training materials, tools, and manuals as required.
- Researched reports sent from accounting regarding stale dated checks (checks which have not cashed in 365 days).
- Transferred incoming inquiry calls from Allstate customers and agents to the correct destination.
- Back up on ordering supplies for five states.
- Back up on incoming/outgoing mail
  more... duties for five states.
- Back up on filing, pulling, and searching for misplaced files.
  less
Pros
benefits and vacation
Cons
my job brought a lot of stress, not enough back up people to work my job when i was on vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging work environment that creates small town business feel for clients.
Property and Casualty Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXApril 25, 2014
A typical day at the office with Allstate consisted of calling leads and prospects with the offer to review their current policies with them to make sure they are properly insured and find out if I am able to save them any money, quoting and writing new policies, review policies and billing with current customers to find ways to help them save more money and help resolve billing issues, process changes and endorsements for current policy holders and assist in reporting/processing claims.
I learned the importance of developing and nurturing relationships with clients, the importance of running a highly ethical business environment and that you gain more respect and business in the long run by being straightforward and honest with people, rather than just saying what they want to hear to close a sale. I learned to look for ways to overcome objections. I learned how to identify a persons actual insurance needs and help them prioritize those.
My management was my mentor. Teaching me and helping me to grow as a professional, as an individual, as a parent and as a woman. They encouraged me, built me and rewarded me. I am forever indebted to my Allstate management for all that they did.
My co-workers were few, but lovely. Intelligent, knowledgeable, caring and professional, we always worked as a team. We encouraged each other. We were friends.
The hardest part of the job was deciphering between soft leads and hot leads, billing complaints and flood insurance.
The most enjoyable part of the job was interaction with clients and being able to help people.
Pros
salary plus comission, family friendly employer, paid vacation and sick time
Cons
no employer provided health insurance, life insurance, dental/vision insurance. no 401-k or retirement plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no Motivation and very poor Management but friendly working enviroment helpful co workers.
Producer (Current Employee) –  Hurst, TXJune 13, 2012
I am a peoples person I like helping customers when I get to meet new people at my work I make them feel as if I already know them very well and i serve them best as much as i can. My typical day at work is all about serving my clients need and selling the product educating them with the product knowledge so they can make their own choices while buying the product and also sometimes lestening to their problems even though if its not job related, they appreciate that a lot. As a manager at Texas Insurance Advisors, I increased the sales by selling the product according to the clients need and help other coworkers to sell more and take care of existing clients by letting the clients know ahead of time if their policy were late or going to get cancelled or if they had any concern either regarding their bills or in their financial hard ship worked with them in their difficult time waiving their late fees talking to the insurance company. So far I have had a great and very friendly working enviroment and when my coworkers needed my helpi was always there for them and vice versa. Sometimes my job can be very demanding, though apart from job i am a mother too sometimes i wouldn't be able to attend my kids special functions or sometimes i would be late to pick up my kids from school because i had to stay longer at the office serving clients by issuing new policies or serving them with existing policies, i find this very challenging but at the same time makes me feel good about myself as i was able to serve my clients and they appreciate that.
The most enjoyable part of my job is when
  more... i am able to help my clients with the best i can and bring the smile to their face and also create and friendly and professional enviroment at the office.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you want something steady that pays ok.
Bilingual Insurance Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 30, 2012
When I applied I was excited to work for a company with a big name as Allstate. Paid training with benefits starting right away is great! They pay for your licensing and have a very good welcoming and spirited team. The training is way too long...and by the time your on the phones you forget half of it. You then must sell a certain amount of items per day to graduate which is fine, but you get about 1 call per hour and half of them are transfers and the other half of the people you're quoting dont qualify. So your sales ability and charisma are somewhat hindered by the process. It's more of a game of luck than anything. A typical day at work is again about a call an hour...you're sitting in a cubicle all day and just waiting. You'll get a bit of a rush but since I've been on the phones...it's been EXTREMELY slow. I have though learned a lot during this down time because they do provide tons of material to educate yourself, I will give them that! Management is good...no complaints. The people I work with are nice, and the enviroment is relaxed and fun. I'ts a great job for someone just getting started, needs a job, or someone who is maybe getting close to retiring. You're not going to make a lot of money, even if your a top producer. Then again a lot to me is $60,000 and above but maybe 2% of people including management make that. The commission structure is really weak. You have to literally sell more than half your calls and get multiple items to make decent money. I recommend this place for single people with no family or kids, and people looking to break in to the Insurance  more... industry.  less
Pros
paid licensing, good benefits, fun enviroment
Cons
extremely slow for a call center, too long of a training process, commission structure isn't as good as most places
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allstate Review
Assistant Segment Leader (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 22, 2014
One major component of any successful business is a well-trained, competent work force. I believe that the quality and preparedness of an organization’s employees is a critical factor that ultimately leads to the success or failure of that organization. To excel in the modern business world, one must be equipped with the tools and knowledge to not only embrace this, but successfully manage the constant change and challenging environments inherent in the world economy.

As I have assumed higher levels of responsibility as a Senior Associate and Assistant Manager with Allstate Insurance, I have participated in the interviewing and training of fellow employees and have mentored them as they have developed their skills. I have also monitored their performance and enjoy sharing my knowledge and expertise with them and take pride in their development.

My time with my current company has provided me with numerous training programs and seminars that have cultivated my skills pertaining to Human Resources. I have assumed multiple roles with my current company including that of trainer, mentor, recruiter and Organizational Development liaison. I currently serve on the Advisory Council with Allstate. This council is currently working to incorporate Human Resources and Organizational Development initiatives in our regional offices in order to increase the efficiency and productivity of these offices. I have also completed multiple diversity training seminars that have emphasized the importance of working in a diverse environment where the ability to interact and work with a multitude of
  more... different individuals is truly a reward in itself.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with opportunity for advancement, great salary and benefits
FIELD SALES LEADER/Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 28, 2014
 Successful in increasing agent’s sales, commitments and retention levels within highly competitive markets
 Responsible for coaching and mentoring a team of agents on how to market insurance utilizing verticals, form alliances and partnerships with business owners
 Responsible for consulting and training agents on developing new business opportunities by prospecting, telemarketing, utilizing referrals, product knowledge and increased compensation.
 Consistent in increasing commercial results by growth, marketing initiatives, development, facilitating meetings and leading a team of successful agents
 Responsible for recruiting and maintaining a profitable team of commercial producing agencies.
Accomplishments:
Qualified for Agency Rewards Performance Award
REGIONAL SALES MANAGER
 Responsible for recruiting, training and supervising benefit specialists and agents to produce in the workplace/payroll and group voluntary benefits marketplace
 Conducts agent/client seminars on service plans which maximizes account expansion, retention and satisfaction
 Assisted agents and benefit specialists with opening/closing employer accounts
 Procures the addition of new accounts and maintains existing accounts, which results in meeting or exceeding sales quota
 Exemplifies strong leadership and negotiating skills while developing territory throughout Tennessee and Arkansas
Accomplishments:
Regional Champions Qualifier - 2008
Leader’s Conference-Honors Club Qualifier - 2009
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bring yourself to work.....
Claims Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYMay 26, 2015
Bring yourself to work but only if your overall positive to the point where it hurts. With that said I did enjoy the people I worked with. I formed a great bond with people from my training class, and with other members on my team.

Working with the team leads was a different story. Filing claims we are supposed to do what is right for the customer. One call is to take care of a great deal of the problems. However it is a call center and one of the biggest issues is call volume. The problem here is you can't do you both and you're held accountable either way. Have a high time your away from the phone trying to get a manager, trying to assist a customer, or agent? Doesn't matter, that time was spent where you could have taken another call. Resolving calls too fast or meeting your numbers? Well, your in trouble there because you may not have resolved the call.

When the team leads would come to talk to me and other team members, they were extremely condescending and rude. Again, it was that exaggerated positive attitude which came off offensive. I understand how businesses work but I should have known something was up when I learned two things. The first was they had a theme song. Second, it was Everything is Awesome from the Lego Movie. It's a fun song, but it's meaning is about being a conformist isn't work place appropriate. Even more so when the company culture is about bringing ourselves to work, and that each individual person matters at Allstate.
Pros
Good team members.
Cons
Team leads are very rude, no chance for promotion, and duplicitous actions
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast paced, with amazing people
Roadside Assistance Advisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 28, 2015
A typical day at Allstate Roadside Services involved answering calls and dispatching contracted, roadside assistance providers for General Motors customers. Troubleshooting and problem solving skills were key to ensuring that the correct services were dispatched.
Throughout my time at ARS, I learned about roadside issues and how to solve them.

The management was top notch. Team supervisors, performance coaches, and trainers truly cared about the people in their charge, and ensured that every person became the best roadside specialist they could be. Every person I worked with was unique, had a wonderful sense of humor, and enjoyed their job. We were truly a team, and supported each other through good days and bad.

The hardest part of my job, was leaving it. The company decided to reorganize the roadside department, and they downsized over 60 people, myself included. Leaving this wonderful group of people was heart-wrenching, but I also enjoyed the job. I was told time and again that I was one of their top performers, and I took pride in my performance.

The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I was helping people in need. Being able to calm a crying mother that was stranded on the side of the highway, with her children in the car was very rewarding. I knew that the service I was providing was important.
Pros
great people, providing an important service, team oriented
Cons
short lunch, call flow was unpredictable, temp to hire with no guarantee of being made permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at the Allstate office
Allstate licensed producer (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COApril 21, 2014
My boss is very easy to work with. She let's you do the job you are here to do. My co-worker and I get along very well. We are a small office and we all work very well together. We have all been in different jobs and learn things from each other through those different experiences.

During the day we answer the phone and talk to clients about changes in the policies and changes they may need to make. We work with clients, our agency advocates and claims throughout the day and week. We write new home, auto, motorcycle, boat, etc. policies

Hardest part of the job is when you have worked very hard to get a situation examined and repaired and it doesn't work out as it should have. Then you have to go back to the client and make sure that they understand all the efforts that were made to assist them in getting a situation resolved. Also sometimes hard to work with people who are upset about a lot of things. Just cannot take it personally, do the best you can in each situation.

Most enjoyable part is working with most of the clients, getting to know them and their situations. We are all in the same boat we are all customers and it is nice when they acknowledge that you are a worker bee just like they are and they are very grateful for your help.

Working with all the families during the fires was a very interesting experience. A very big learning experience working with folks who had lost everything. This was a very rewarding time, getting them back into homes and seeing how everything was going for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I received an outstanding education in claims from Allstate
Senior Staff Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMMay 24, 2012
My day usually started with review of all information on established claims. Returning customers, attorneys, other insurance companies calls. New claims were reviewed, the goal was to contact the insured or the claimant with 24hours and settling the claims with a specific period of time. Detailed documenting all claims and conversations. Learning is a daily occurrance with research and investigation of claims, good faith handling, knowledge of legal aspects of the claim handling. I was priviledge to work with outstanding co-workers. We created a outstanding network of working together to complete all claims through teamwork.
The hardest part of the job was the emotional upset of the customer and trying to give the customer emotional support while going over the necessary information about the claims, the investigation of the accidents and the coverages on their policies.
The employees of our office were like another family, there was continual support in work, community service, office projects. The job as a claim adjuster and the investigation aspects were very interesting. I was never bored and there was never a time that I did not have work. Working in the insurance claims feild is very busy and can be stressful. I enjoyed the work and enjoyed the feeling of helping people when they are faced with a loss or accident.
Pros
the people i worked with, salary was average for the industry
Cons
long hours, working holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work however; the volume and requirements were difficult to manage to be successful.
Staff Claim Service Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMarch 20, 2014
This is a very fast-paced, high volume environment. Customer service was our primary focus in addition to having extensive product knowledge, excellent communications skills in telephones and any written correspondence. My experience was mostly involving automobile accidents and injury claims. Over the 25 years I worked there; I learned a great deal about auto insurance, accident investigations, evaluating, negotiating and settlement of claims. I worked with the insurance industry for OR, WA, ID, HI and AK concerning the different laws and statutes that applied to each state. Building rapport with our customers could be challenging at times however, I was very good at this as I enjoyed helping our customers. As you could imagine, with that length of time with one employer that I would see management changes regularly. That included my immediate supervisor especially. I dealt with many personality styles but managed to work well with them all because of my respect for their position. I believe I have had more supervisors than most due to changes with the company, the industry as well as the economy. We did have a ping pong table and Foosball but not everyone had the time to make use of these toys because of the workload and the time management required to be successful at the job.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
workload was intentionally more than a challenge the entire time i was employed with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and pleasant work environment, but also like a family
Technical Support CSR (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 6, 2014
I did enjoy working for Allstate Insurance for almost 10 years. I was laid off due to down sizing and out sourcing our department.
In a typical day, I would take inbound calls from Allstate employees and perform technical support such as troubleshooting networking connectivity issues, operating system error messages, hardware failures, and escalating to another department or dispatching out Network Support Specialists to go onsite and repair the problem.

But this was just a piece of my day. As the years went on I took on more responsibility such as Administrative Assistant duties, Marketing projects, and assisting with other various departments and issues as they arose. I assisted in supervising and managing various tasks as assigned.
I enjoyed working with my department for many reasons. Most of my coworkers when I started this position in 2002, had been Allstate employees for 5yrs or even 15yrs. The department I was hired into, was the Deerbrook Insurance group which is state specific to Texas only. We handled Auto and Home Owner's insurance policies using the Allstate Business Tool software program.
In Deerbrook Insurance group we took calls primarily about this business software tool from Allstate Agents.
Pros
wonderful coworkers, managers, and allstate agents to work with.
Cons
some times stressful as with any corporate position but still worth working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced problem solving, working with data, programs and systems
Business and Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILMarch 23, 2015
I worked as a data and systems analyst, identifying errors in programming. New programs were uploaded weekly and errors were identified and researched. Programs were updated for the next week upload. I worked with 20 million policies, all agents countrywide. I logged onto 9 different mainframes and researched hundreds of programs on multiple platforms. When I started, there was a team of 16 analysts working on 16,000 errors per day. After several years I was the remaining analyst with an average of 300 errors per day. I was fortunate to have an amazing mentor who, if he didn't have an answer, could point me in the right direction. I worked with brilliant programmers and developers, and served as a subject matter expert for the National Support Center. I also taught program/developer new hires in the 'Allstate University,' guiding them through programs and systems and providing a solid base for further education. I enjoyed working at home three days a week, roaming through the systems and finding the source of problems. I often would find myself working until the systems started updating at 10PM, not realizing I had worked straight through 14 hours. The team was relocated to Ireland, but I could not move because of my school-age children. I opted to take the Voluntary Retirement Package and start a new career in healthcare.
Pros
fascinating, absorbing work
Cons
negligible
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,082 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture