Find companies:
Allstate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,165 reviews

Allstate Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work 8 hours on phone sales.
Direct Sales ALLSTATE Charlotte N C, Agent (Former Employee), Charlotte NCApril 21, 2014
Pros: great lunch aera.
Cons: short breaks
Hard sells on phone for 8 hours.Many products unable to sale in some states , at times made it hard on customer calling in for Quote for that product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist insureds with auto claim.
Claim Processor (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALApril 21, 2014
Provided the best customer service for insured as well as cliamants.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at the Allstate office
Allstate licensed producer (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COApril 21, 2014
My boss is very easy to work with. She let's you do the job you are here to do. My co-worker and I get along very well. We are a small office and we all work very well together. We have all been in different jobs and learn things from each other through those different experiences.

During the day we answer the phone and talk to clients about changes – more... in the policies and changes they may need to make. We work with clients, our agency advocates and claims throughout the day and week. We write new home, auto, motorcycle, boat, etc. policies

Hardest part of the job is when you have worked very hard to get a situation examined and repaired and it doesn't work out as it should have. Then you have to go back to the client and make sure that they understand all the efforts that were made to assist them in getting a situation resolved. Also sometimes hard to work with people who are upset about a lot of things. Just cannot take it personally, do the best you can in each situation.

Most enjoyable part is working with most of the clients, getting to know them and their situations. We are all in the same boat we are all customers and it is nice when they acknowledge that you are a worker bee just like they are and they are very grateful for your help.

Working with all the families during the fires was a very interesting experience. A very big learning experience working with folks who had lost everything. This was a very rewarding time, getting them back into homes and seeing how everything was going for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong work/Life Balance
Managing Director (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 19, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: slow to move
DC based non-profit. Bureaucratic nature makes it a challenge to get things done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good company
Retention Specialist and Insurance Producer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 18, 2014
A typical day is talking to numerous clients about the their policies. The hardest part is listening to everyone complain about their rates, The best part is when you can tell clients that Allstate will be there for them at time of loss and they are happy with claim service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and an ever changing work environment
Claims and Billing Department Representative (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 18, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: can be very stressful
A typical day at work includes taking inbound call as well as handling outbound contact tasks. The high turnover rate assures there are frequently new hires who need mentoring. The company often changes procedures making willingness to learn an essential part of the job. There is a comraderie amoung co-workers as job is often stressful as there are – more... always customers who are upset about having to file an insurance claim. Company does sponsor a number of small events to have co-workers bond and this helps with a sometimes difficult job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast-paced
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Canton, MIApril 18, 2014
Cons: health care and 401k
Telemarketing, cold calling. Your not an Allstate employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Coaching Partner/Management Support (Current Employee), Charlotte NCApril 17, 2014
Pros: upward mobility
Cons: n/a
The company was good to work for. It is a good stepping stone to better things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbearable Stress, outrage goals
Receptionist/Sales Producer/ Account Manager (Current Employee), houston txApril 17, 2014
I have learned that professionalism should be present at all times, a team player works and help others, but when it becomes a problem, the solution could indicate that I'm listed in the incorrect environment. Management and Structure is very important in a business to run smoothly, become productive, and have respect. When the strategy is absent or – more... wrongful instructed it becomes a unhealthy environment to work and stress becomes a problem.

I'm a team player, I also contribute to the ideas for production, and take in critical for improvement. The hardest part is dealing with the stress of being a producer 100%, when the help with staff is needed for retention. The goal given is a handful being part time employer and full time student.

Having five years in the Insurance field, my knowledge is helpful to others and makes my job easier. I enjoy helping people, give the customers the service they need, offer them a better plan, and make sure they feel taken care off. I like socializing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee), New YorkApril 17, 2014
Pros: work life balance
Cons: pay, security, stress, overall poor environment
When I started it was a great company but with some of the Senior Management changes, from the CEO to the VP of HR, it is more about the profits and keeping the stockholders happy than about being what Allstate prided itself to be....a Family. They cut staff to the minimum possible, pay no more than the absolute bottom market value for jobs and then, – more... if they feel they are understaffed, hire new employees at the very bottom pay grade. (after letting go higher paid employees a year before). I do not recommend them anymore. 10 years ago, I would have no questions asked recommended them as a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck in the stone age
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee), Clarksburg, MDApril 16, 2014
Pros: plenty of personal days off
Cons: poor management, no overtime available, salary increases are minimal
Allstate has not embraced innovation and ideas the way other companies have. If you are a young person out of college, this may be a place to start your career, but not a place you want to finish your career. The company is not very open to new ways of doing business. They want good results via customer service expectations, but they do not want to – more... adjust thier way of doing business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and comfortable work place!
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee), Asheville, NCApril 16, 2014
Pros: hour lunches
Cons: was located in small non-productive town
Everybody in the office got along stupendously! We would be laughing all day and never had a dull moment!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Sr. Quality Control Analyst (Current Employee), Wyomissing, PAApril 15, 2014
Management could be better and Compensation could be better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work/life balance a joke
licensed CSR (Former Employee), Charlotte NCApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: work/life balance
The company seems to be a great place to work, but after 8 1/2 years of being scheduled for every Saturday, and then to be now 8 1/2 yrs later having to be scheduled for every Saturday and Sunday, does not fit into a work/life balance,
after being there for 8 1/2 years, I was able to get a Friday off in June and a Friday off in august,..keep in mind – more... I would have to work the week end,...no ability to take a vacation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Senior Claims Service Adjuster (Former Employee), Northbrook, ILApril 15, 2014
Pros: good environment with great people. good benefits.
Cons: duplicity. dishonesty. sweatshop.
I was very happily employed with great results from Allstate, but once catastrophes stopped regularly happening, they laid off 20% of the department, namely the people that were making the better salaries. My scores were very good at the time of the layoff, and I felt betrayed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Laid Back Atmosphpere
Media Relations Specialist (Former Employee), Northbrook, ILApril 15, 2014
Great company, great benefits. You work hard but you also play hard. Employees are rewarded and some locations have causal Fridays. Wearing jeans on Friday is a nice perk!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet office, most things done via fax or phone.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 14, 2014
Pros: staff, meeting new people
Cons: meeting quota every month
Anwering calls, insurance quotes and filing. Company paid for employees to be license in property and casualty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Supervisor/ Producer
Insurance Supervisor/ Producer (Former Employee), Mesa, AZApril 14, 2014
responsible for six insurance agents at a time.
l Conducting weekly one on one and monthly reviews.
l Maintained and monitored teams daily.
l Ensured that servicing existing customers cross selling and maintaining
a solid book of business is completed by all agents.
l Marketing and prospecting for new customers locally while still
04/2010 to 06/2011
providing – more... excellent customer service and insurance solutions for all
clients.
l Also responsible for maintaining individual and team goals while
utilizing sales techniques to close sales for P&C, Life & Financial products.
l Responsibilities include but not limited to payroll, compensation
calculations, team promotions and event planning, opening and closing
store, making deposits, taking payments, contacting underwriting,
sending out mailers and emailing cliental.
l Developed a set of metrics derived from raw company data to track
improvements in organizational efficiency.
l Mapped current processes and offered recommendations for
i m p r o v e m e n t .
l Developed executive presentations and reports to facilitate project
evaluation and process improvement – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Claim Service Specialist (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 14, 2014
Very good company to work with. Very good benefits and overall enviornment is wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best atmosphere
File Clerk (Former Employee), Geneva, ILApril 13, 2014
Learned a lot about clerical duties. responsible leaders.

1 2 3 4 5

About Allstate

Allstate celebrates creative problem solving, full engagement and working together to keep all people in Good Hands®. Rooted – Read more