Find companies:
Alltel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
220 reviews

Alltel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with mentally challenged patients
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gaylord, MIMarch 20, 2014
Pros: woking with people in a friendly environment
Cons: not much money to be made
I was mainly in charge of sales and customer service! My co-workers were fun and worked hard! Hardest part I would say was location we didn't do well in sales because of our location!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR II
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 20, 2014
There was nothing special about Alltel. Aside from the potential to bonus, it was classic call center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Windstream Communications, Inc. (Formerly Alltel), is the best company that I have worked for.
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee), Hudson, OHMarch 11, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Senior Software Developer - Participated on project teams tasked with designing and developing software solutions for operational support systems that track clients’ telephone equipment. Performed business analysis, software development, and project management as required to assess systems and operations; gather requirements and translate them into – more... technical specifications; establish scope, deliverables, milestones, and budgets; process change requests; assist with initial deployment and launch strategies; design and execute test cases; and oversee post-implementation support as part of SDLC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees, great company to work for
Sr. Wireless Representative (Former Employee), Newberry, SCFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: we made good money, and i got a chance to help people
Cons: the job was too far away from my home.
A typical day at Alltel consisted of opening the store through a system on the computer, counting the tills and the change fund, keeping the store clean, checking in, pricing, counting, and transferring inventory, and making sure the customers were taken care of. I had to take bill payments, troubleshoot cell phones, sale cell phones, cell accessories, – more... and making payment arrangements. I was number one in sales eighteen out of the twenty-four months I was there. I learned how to really help people on this job. The job is mainly about sailing, if you don't sale, the commission check don't be as big. I was one of the ones who helped regardless if I was making a sale or not. We were like family at this job. Everyone got along great. The hardest part of my job was when I had a customer and I had to let them wait for me to resolve their issues. I enjoyed my co-workers, and helping my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Business Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 24, 2014
Answers inbound calls and made follow up outbound calls to business customers pertaining to newly activated equipment and upgraded equipment. Recommended products and services to business customers to suit their company needs. Acted as liaison for business customers to place orders for wireless internet cards, cell phones and accessories. Analyzed accounts – more... to ensure customers were receiving full benefits as business customers. Met and exceeded Alltel sales goals. Assisted customers with assumption of liability, adding authorized users to accounts, address changes, basic tier 1 troubleshooting and billing issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast placed and great everyday challenges
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee), Springfield, MOFebruary 21, 2014
Plan, direct, or coordinate the actual distribution or movement of a product or service to the customer. Coordinate sales distribution by establishing sales territories, quotas, and goals and establish training programs for sales representatives. Analyze sales statistics gathered by staff to determine sales potential and inventory requirements and monitor – more... the preferences of customers. I learned better on delegation to get more jobs done faster and better. Better coaching and training of large employee staffing, how to better maximize potential in people through different motivational skills. I really enjoyed working with the public and bringing a new peace to peoples lives. Being able to provide new and approved services everyday to my customer base was very satisfying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales, Technical Support and Finacial services.
Business Solutions Representative (Former Employee), Tempe, AZFebruary 18, 2014
Great company to work for, excellent pay, hard working team. Co-workers a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, TXFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: employee appreication
Typical day would be making sure current brochures would be out for customers to have. Also making sure the store was clean and the phones and tablets were working properly and all pictures and texts were deleted from the live demos.

My co-workers were amazing and we all work together as a team to make sure we represented the company well. Teamwork – more... was the key to make sure everything ran smoothly. Our management team was very understanding and they make sure things ran smoothing.

The hardest part of the job was when we had customers that were violent and wanted to throw phones at the reps.

The most enjoyable part would be working with the customers. Seeing the customers happy with the service that we provided. Making sure we listen to their wants and needs and then we come up with solution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience in commissionable sales
Wireless Consultant (Former Employee), Bolivar, MOFebruary 7, 2014
Review customer rate plans. Insurance and warranty processing.
Equipment upgrades. Management great to work with. Good training program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIFebruary 6, 2014
Smaller mentality compared to other large corporations that cares about the employee and their best interests. Best company I ever worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst for employee used applications
Business Analyst I (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: team work, interaction with the client.
Cons: long commute to work.
Typical work day was 8-5 with rotating weekends. I learned a lot about customer service and how to troubleshoot and resolved issues via telephone as it was a Call Center environment.The management was support and helpful in training. My co-works and I formed a great team. The hardest part of the job was being rotated between application which required – more... learning of the application, although I enjoyed it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJanuary 30, 2014
CSR re. Handled multiple phone calls, with multiple customers. Very fast paced!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and always learning opportunity
Sales Action Center Team Lead (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: learn alot, the chance to build repore with peers and opportunity for growth
Cons: no commission opportuniy
Assist management team with escalated take overs at customers request. Conduct New Hire training. Regional sales activation for new hires.
Acting manager when Manager is out.
Conduct product training huddles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
post merge quality of company declined
Mailroom Clerk (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: benefits and my co-workers.
Cons: opressive work environment towards regular working class.
I didn't feel I was appreciated and that I was under-utilized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenge Employment
Wireless Consultant (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALJanuary 27, 2014
Maintained Sales Goals every month and increased sales goals by 75%-100%
Checked in inventory and transferred inventory
Verified money at end of shifts and created deposits
Train other sales representatives on new products
Open and closed store
Maintain and provide excellent customer service
Customer retention
Complete Cold Calls List
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work!
Sr. Level Employee (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good perks
Cons: the company was bought out
The company was bought out by a larger competitor. It was a great place to work for with great benefits!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable job.
Financial Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Matthews, NCJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, monthly bonus', great environment; awesome management.
Cons: i resigned.
I enjoyed all of my time working here at Alltel. I started as a CSR and worked and proved myself to become a supervisor. I enjoyed all the coaching i received as well as the positive feedback i was able to give other reps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good for the time
Business Sales Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, MOJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: good opportunity for growth in developmental stage of career
Cons: good ole boy network for promotion beyond sales manager
Was up and down on a daily basis due to evolving nature of industry
I learned to navigate the political nature of a Fortune 500 company
Hardest part was managing the highs and lows of a sales commission job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 13, 2014
A pleasant place to work. A typical day at work was very productive and busy. The hardest part of the job was dealing with a rude customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was serving the customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very flexible
B2B Sales Representative (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: consider a member rather and just an employee
Cons: experienced multiple merger and name changes.
managed multiple corporate account to maintain a high level of customer service.

1 2 3 4 5

About Alltel

Alltel is a customer-focused communications company with more than 15 million customers in 36 states and nearly $10 billion in – Read more