Find companies:
Ally Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

Ally Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive- on and off the phones with dealers and customers
Dealer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 9, 2014
Productive- on and off the phones with dealers and customers .
I learned to be patience
Management- Professional
Your co-workers-team work
the hardest part of the job- Nothing
the most enjoyable part of the job-Good Mornings - and Smiles throughout the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the place
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARAugust 6, 2014
Pros: gret work place, and life long relationships developed.
Cons: the pay was not good at all.
i really enjoyed working here. if given the chance I would go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly People are their best asset
Sr. Business/Reporting Analyst (Current Employee), Detroit, MIJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free coffee, flexible based on manager
Cons: heavy on process, processes immature
Really good people and work. Interesting work that you own.
The hardest part is finding someone to back you up when out on vacation. Immature infrastructure onboarding processes. Culture evolving for the better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very people friendly work enviroment
Customer Care (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches, nice people, work/life balance
Cons: no part time for people that need to go part time
Management have an open door policy and will sit and listen. Lots of fun to make the job less stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a focus on the Customer
Account Services Representative (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 20, 2014
Pros: fun job, atmosphere
Cons: long drive from home
I enjoy my job at Ally. In my role as an Account Services Rep, I have met and worked with many good people--management and co-workers. I have learned an enhanced focus on the customer with a desire to fulfill their needs. Actually, the hardest part of the job is delivering the news that the customer's application has been declined by my company. However, – more... that is part of the business and I have learned to deliver that news with care and empathy. My typical day at work starts and ends with a total focus on the customer, which is what I like the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits/Work Life balance
HR Consultant (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARApril 25, 2014
Pros: competitive compensation
Cons: job security
Good work/life balance, the benefits are great also! However, the companies outlook/job security is not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summay
Financial Specialist (Former Employee), Roseville, MNApril 24, 2014
In ally Financial, I need to work in a team to collaborate in the bankruptcy filing(such as POC), My duty was manipulate and Analyzing the data was showing in the proof of claim. Post Bankruptcy and Active Agent will reviewed my work and communicate with the customer for the further information. The hardest part of the job is require strong carefulness. – more... So i need to review my work always to make sure i get everything right. The most enjoyable part was i can always challenge and learn new knowledge – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start to a new city.
Remarketing Specialist (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARMarch 31, 2014
Ally Financial really helped me get a great hold of my life when moving to a new city. friendly co-workers, great starting pay, excellent benefits, and just an overall great place to work.
The only downside is if routine isn't your thing, well strap in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blind leading the blind
Senior QA analyst-contractor (Current Employee), Troy MIMarch 29, 2014
Pros: pay is good
Cons: manager and senior manager have zero people skills and extremely lacking in qa knowledge
The so called QA manager in Troy office is completely blind when it comes to QA processes and procedures and the management and treatment of people. If it were not for a few of the skilled people on the UAT team telling him what and how to do things, the entire team would have failed since day 1.
The only good thing about working here is the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great tuition reimbursement opportunities.
Dealer Service Management Review Specialist (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 19, 2014
A typical day for me consists of the review/audit of numerous funded contracts to ensure compliance with company and government guidelines, policies, and procedures. I have learned to hone in on my detail-oriented skills and triple check my work if necessary. The management for the most part is willing to assist you in doing your job well. I enjoy my – more... co-workers and their collective knowledge. The hardest part of the job is not second-guessing my judgment. The most enjoyable part of my job is the fact that I can make a difference for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company besides the recent challenges
Senior VSC Brand Manager (Current Employee), Southfield, MIMarch 3, 2014
Company has been downsizing due to government ownership and the need to do an initial public offering to pay back the governement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still struggling from bailout
Manager (Current Employee), DetroitFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: indecision of senior management team, downtown detroit location
Ally is going through a lot of changes right now (2/2014). Overall it's an okay place to work. The comp and benefits are above the market average. It can take forever to get decisions made at the upper level and subsequently it delays project deliverables. Recent resource reduction has increased the workload even more for many that already had "full – more... plates." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Environment
Loss Mitigation Rep (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 19, 2014
Laid back environment.
Managment could be little better as it relates to relaying information to reps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
IT Risk Management & IS Governance, Director (Current Employee), Troy, MIFebruary 18, 2014
I learned that change is not only good, it is a great opportunity to learn new things, meet new people and apply what you have to offer to the greater good of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY FROM THE ITASCA OFFICE
Claims Representative (Current Employee), Itasca, ILFebruary 1, 2014
Cons: everything you can think of
I am a current employe at the Itasca office, big waste of time. If you didn't come from SIU, you will be discriminated. The whole office is complaining about it, and it may escalate into a lawsuit. There is no advancement here and constant micromanaging to non SIU grads. If you see any good reviews for the Itasca office, it's probably from a fast tracker – more... SIU grad. Does not matter how good you are, your experience, or what you do above and beyond your quota, you are not going anywhere, unless your an SIU grad. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS PLACE, TRUST ME. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that allows for growth of interns to take actions within the project
Project Coordinator - Internship (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 27, 2014
Working for Ally Financial was a wonderful challenge. I was encouraged to take charge regarding decision making. It gave me the experience and confidence to move forward toward bettering the company and myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambitious, dedicated and fun working environment.
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: free parking
I enjoyed working at Ally. It provided a perfect home/life balance. The salary was very competitive. The company provided a grassroots learning environment. My co-workers were all very nice and extremely helpful. My direct manager who was a senior management council officer was awesome and our communications was excellent which made for a very productive – more... working relationship. My typical day was to keep my manager on track with his calendar, also creating all meeting agendas. Domestic and international travel and expenses, on/off-boarding as necessary. Building relationships with his team and other senior management. Making sure deliverables were timely. Complete calendar control, management routine meetings. Created presentations and agendas on powerpoint. Excel spreadsheets as necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
EMC SAN Storage Engineer (Enterprise) (Contractor) (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no management one on one contact with all contractor employees
Its was a Laid back environment in general, but ITIL process needs to be in proactive more across all departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
sale (Former Employee), Little rock, ARJanuary 11, 2014
The job used to be of good interest but as management change so did the job perks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE PLACE TO WORK
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 8, 2014
Cons: terrible management, bad pay schedule, high turn over rate
I work in Dealer Services and have been there a year. This place has extremely bad management, how raises and bonuses are figured makes no sense. Pretty much if your a favorite, you'll get anything. The whole call center is backwards and the information source is all over the place. Nobody has the right answer to anything and all policies and procedures – more... on how to handle things are not implemented or nobody knows. Not even the supervisors. Everyone is not on the same page when it comes to the information source. One person says this and another person says something completely different. Then to top it off, the systems ALWAYS shut down but the supervisors bumbard you with 250 emails telling you to stay available. And if you move to a different department, you don't get compensated accordingly& you still have to take calls from the department you left. And the worst is that there is no attendance policy so they can fire you over attendance. That makes NO sense. That's why the turn over rate is SO high. All they care about is service level instead of the quality of care for our dealers.... That whole place needs to be rebuilt with new and better management and new systems. The pay is bad as well. All other call centers make way more than Ally. If you get a chance for an interview, find something else.

TRUST ME – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Ally Financial

“Ally Financial Inc. is a leading automotive financial services company powered by a top direct banking franchise. Ally's – Read more