Find companies:
Ally Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
108 reviews

Ally Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a focus on the Customer
Account Services Representative (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 20, 2014
Pros: fun job, atmosphere
Cons: long drive from home
I enjoy my job at Ally. In my role as an Account Services Rep, I have met and worked with many good people--management and co-workers. I have learned an enhanced focus on the customer with a desire to fulfill their needs. Actually, the hardest part of the job is delivering the news that the customer's application has been declined by my company. However, – more... that is part of the business and I have learned to deliver that news with care and empathy. My typical day at work starts and ends with a total focus on the customer, which is what I like the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits/Work Life balance
HR Consultant (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARApril 25, 2014
Pros: competitive compensation
Cons: job security
Good work/life balance, the benefits are great also! However, the companies outlook/job security is not the greatest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summay
Financial Specialist (Former Employee), Roseville, MNApril 24, 2014
In ally Financial, I need to work in a team to collaborate in the bankruptcy filing(such as POC), My duty was manipulate and Analyzing the data was showing in the proof of claim. Post Bankruptcy and Active Agent will reviewed my work and communicate with the customer for the further information. The hardest part of the job is require strong carefulness. – more... So i need to review my work always to make sure i get everything right. The most enjoyable part was i can always challenge and learn new knowledge – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start to a new city.
Remarketing Specialist (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARMarch 31, 2014
Ally Financial really helped me get a great hold of my life when moving to a new city. friendly co-workers, great starting pay, excellent benefits, and just an overall great place to work.
The only downside is if routine isn't your thing, well strap in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blind leading the blind
Senior QA analyst-contractor (Current Employee), Troy MIMarch 29, 2014
Pros: pay is good
Cons: manager and senior manager have zero people skills and extremely lacking in qa knowledge
The so called QA manager in Troy office is completely blind when it comes to QA processes and procedures and the management and treatment of people. If it were not for a few of the skilled people on the UAT team telling him what and how to do things, the entire team would have failed since day 1.
The only good thing about working here is the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great tuition reimbursement opportunities.
Dealer Service Management Review Specialist (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMarch 19, 2014
A typical day for me consists of the review/audit of numerous funded contracts to ensure compliance with company and government guidelines, policies, and procedures. I have learned to hone in on my detail-oriented skills and triple check my work if necessary. The management for the most part is willing to assist you in doing your job well. I enjoy my – more... co-workers and their collective knowledge. The hardest part of the job is not second-guessing my judgment. The most enjoyable part of my job is the fact that I can make a difference for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company besides the recent challenges
Senior VSC Brand Manager (Current Employee), Southfield, MIMarch 3, 2014
Company has been downsizing due to government ownership and the need to do an initial public offering to pay back the governement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still struggling from bailout
Manager (Current Employee), DetroitFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: indecision of senior management team, downtown detroit location
Ally is going through a lot of changes right now (2/2014). Overall it's an okay place to work. The comp and benefits are above the market average. It can take forever to get decisions made at the upper level and subsequently it delays project deliverables. Recent resource reduction has increased the workload even more for many that already had "full – more... plates." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Environment
Loss Mitigation Rep (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 19, 2014
Laid back environment.
Managment could be little better as it relates to relaying information to reps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
IT Risk Management & IS Governance, Director (Current Employee), Troy, MIFebruary 18, 2014
I learned that change is not only good, it is a great opportunity to learn new things, meet new people and apply what you have to offer to the greater good of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY FROM THE ITASCA OFFICE
Claims Representative (Current Employee), Itasca, ILFebruary 1, 2014
Cons: everything you can think of
I am a current employe at the Itasca office, big waste of time. If you didn't come from SIU, you will be discriminated. The whole office is complaining about it, and it may escalate into a lawsuit. There is no advancement here and constant micromanaging to non SIU grads. If you see any good reviews for the Itasca office, it's probably from a fast tracker – more... SIU grad. Does not matter how good you are, your experience, or what you do above and beyond your quota, you are not going anywhere, unless your an SIU grad. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS PLACE, TRUST ME. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace that allows for growth of interns to take actions within the project
Project Coordinator - Internship (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 27, 2014
Working for Ally Financial was a wonderful challenge. I was encouraged to take charge regarding decision making. It gave me the experience and confidence to move forward toward bettering the company and myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambitious, dedicated and fun working environment.
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: free parking
I enjoyed working at Ally. It provided a perfect home/life balance. The salary was very competitive. The company provided a grassroots learning environment. My co-workers were all very nice and extremely helpful. My direct manager who was a senior management council officer was awesome and our communications was excellent which made for a very productive – more... working relationship. My typical day was to keep my manager on track with his calendar, also creating all meeting agendas. Domestic and international travel and expenses, on/off-boarding as necessary. Building relationships with his team and other senior management. Making sure deliverables were timely. Complete calendar control, management routine meetings. Created presentations and agendas on powerpoint. Excel spreadsheets as necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
EMC SAN Storage Engineer (Enterprise) (Contractor) (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no management one on one contact with all contractor employees
Its was a Laid back environment in general, but ITIL process needs to be in proactive more across all departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
sale (Former Employee), Little rock, ARJanuary 11, 2014
The job used to be of good interest but as management change so did the job perks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE PLACE TO WORK
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJanuary 8, 2014
Cons: terrible management, bad pay schedule, high turn over rate
I work in Dealer Services and have been there a year. This place has extremely bad management, how raises and bonuses are figured makes no sense. Pretty much if your a favorite, you'll get anything. The whole call center is backwards and the information source is all over the place. Nobody has the right answer to anything and all policies and procedures – more... on how to handle things are not implemented or nobody knows. Not even the supervisors. Everyone is not on the same page when it comes to the information source. One person says this and another person says something completely different. Then to top it off, the systems ALWAYS shut down but the supervisors bumbard you with 250 emails telling you to stay available. And if you move to a different department, you don't get compensated accordingly& you still have to take calls from the department you left. And the worst is that there is no attendance policy so they can fire you over attendance. That makes NO sense. That's why the turn over rate is SO high. All they care about is service level instead of the quality of care for our dealers.... That whole place needs to be rebuilt with new and better management and new systems. The pay is bad as well. All other call centers make way more than Ally. If you get a chance for an interview, find something else.

TRUST ME – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work, constantly being micromanaged, no advancement
Claims specialist (Current Employee), Itasca, ILDecember 16, 2013
Pros: insurance package
Cons: everything else
I currently work in the Itasca office and this is the absolute worst place I have ever worked. The management is constantly micromanaging you from watching and recording every move you make to find the smallest fault to use against you. Ally has a feeder program for kids graduating from SIU and Ferris college, so they cater to them. These are the kids – more... that still live at home with mom and dad, and are the ones advancing in the company with promotions and raises. Like I said these are kids, just out of school with no background, no experience, and no responsibilities, but they are the ones going forward over the people that have several years experience and knowledge. It does not matter how much you go above and beyond your duties, you will not be looked at if you are not an SIU or Ferris graduate. There is constant discrimination of age, and your background. They will promise you advancement and bonuses when your interviewed, but will never receive anything unless your on the A list like I mentioned above. All the kids start out making more than you and receive a healthy bonus to work there, and of course will pass you up in promotions. I was passed up four times for promotions I applied for that I was more than qualified for by kids that still live at home with absolutely no experience or background in any field. You can't talk to anyone about your concerns they will just lie to you and make up stories. I questioned one of the operations managers about a promotion I was passed up for and more than qualified, and I was told I should look for another job if I wasn't happy. All the training goes to the kids so they are groomed for the positions they are promised and it's obvious. They do give you several PTO days when you start, but good luck trying to get any time off that you want, especially around any holiday. Don't even think about being sick, when you call in with the flu or something serious, you will get the third degree and they will try to convince you to come in even for half a day. When you are sick they force you to use a PTO day whether you want to or not, and then use that against you saying it was an unexcused absence. The only decent thing is the benefits, they are a little pricey but a lot less than you would have to pay on your own, and the coverage is great. That's the only thing keeping me from leaving until I can find a real career. There is so much more, and I can go on for hours about the negativity at this place. Apply at your own risk. If they promise you bonuses and quick advancement, think about this review. If you find something else, I would recommend to take the something else. – less

December 29, 2013

You couldn't have said it better. This review is so true. I am employed at Ally in the Itasca office, and I see everything this review talks about. The only good reviews you will read about Ally is going to be from the youngsters that are getting groomed for their promotions. They absolutely do discriminate against all the people that did not come from SIU or Ferris college. This place is only a fill in job, because you won't be advancing anytime soon.

January 20, 2014

This is the truth. I too currently work in the Itasca office, and is the most miserable job I have ever encountered. If you are not an SIU grad you are just a warm body to answer phones for them until they can replace you with an SIU grad. You will never receive a compliment, but you will always get criticized. The micromanaging is out of control. The management are constantly watching and recording you even from home when they are not in the office, trying to find something negative to put in your file. If you are an SIU grad, then this job is for you. Anyone else, STAY AWAY because you will not be going anywhere.

January 22, 2014

I am employed at the Itasca office for 17 years. This company was an ok place to work when GM owned it. Now that Ally owns this company, it went downhill. This review is 100% correct! you will go no where if your not an SIU grad. The only good reviews you will read about the Itasca office will be coming from the SIU kids because they advanced quickly in the company. The micromanaging is the worst you will ever encounter, and you will be criticized all the time. I would recommend to look elsewhere for work.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going in the wring direction
Director (Former Employee), Detroit, MIDecember 12, 2013
Pros: discount on gm cars.
Cons: dead end place to work
A monoline auto-finance company. Probably a takeover target by a big bank, or possible repurchase by GM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ally is a great company
Director, Database Marketing, CRM, Reporting (Former Employee), Fort Washington, PANovember 23, 2013
Ally is a great company that turned itself around. I am highly recommending Ally for prospective employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evolving the enterprise supply chain group
Manager Enterprise Sourcing (Current Employee), Erie, PANovember 1, 2013
Pros: compensation
Cons: poorly defined vision/mission for the supply chain division
Friendly with good team work, however recently rescinded all virtual work from home personnel in the Supply Chain Division.

About Ally Financial

“Ally Financial Inc. is a leading automotive financial services company powered by a top direct banking franchise. Ally's – Read more