Almost Family Employee Reviews

Found 512 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRN is the way to go as you can request territory and caseload.
RN (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJuly 21, 2017
Overall reasonable experience with a few concerns. Extremely high rate of staff turnover including clinical managers, clinical team assistants, RN's, director, PTAs. PT's condescending and ruse to PTA's. Seems to be a lot of angry field staff. Lack of continuity of care as 'Agency' nurses often provide PRN coverage and illegible writing in patient home files.
Pros
Paper documentation without glitches and malfunctions!
Cons
Grumpy and condescending atmosphere past few years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company has gone downhill
RN visiting nurse (Former Employee) –  Clermont, FLJuly 20, 2017
Their computer program is horrible,takes several hours longer with each admission,longer works hours after switching from paperwork to computer,corporate poloitics,treat on call nurse like a slave for the day
Pros
none
Cons
long hours, much driving, no staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No communication and benefits
Home health aide (Former Employee) –  Marion, OHJuly 20, 2017
There is no communication between staff and workers, Office personnel do not go through with their word and promises are left empty. Not enough help and always wanting to work a lot more than initially stated on the schedule.
Pros
mileage
Cons
no benefits, allowances, ect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has been great for almost a decade
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  AnonymousJuly 17, 2017
Company is rapidly growing and continues to put patients first. There are over 30 different brands, so there are differences from branch to branch. Many of the reviews seem to have a problem/issue with one specific branch, but I don't think that's very common with all other employees. The company is stable and is spending a lot of time and money on new technology - HomeCare HomeBase, EVV, etc. Investing in your employees is important, and Almost Family is doing that. The people care about their patients and the families that they service. It doesn't get any better than that in a health care company.
Pros
Mission of the company, people you work with
Cons
Benefits cost is still high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a place to me
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 14, 2017
a typical day at work was helping my clients with their daily lives which was showering cooking washing clothes getting dressed shopping and any outtings they wanted to have
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours personal care
Registered Nurse Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Lake Katrine, NYJuly 13, 2017
self scheduling but long hours with lots of electronic paperwork you can get it done quick but then you loose valuable face to face time making your visit less personable and more robotic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanagement/Not enough training/orientation
CTA (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 10, 2017
(Apex Northside) Difficult working environment, leadership is constant micromanagement, drama, but doesn't allow for adequate time to learn all the necessary paperwork, protocols. Time with outgoing employee and at another office was insufficient for acclimating to job, especially when the employee is interrupted to do other things outside the job description. Big turnover in office staff, CTAs, Nurse managers. Co-workers were as helpful and patient as possible. Computer system slow and archaic, making speedy data entry difficult. Tracking MD orders tedious. There has to be a less complicated process to do billing & auditing of the charts, and doing payroll. Corporate visitors were helpful, but the bottom line is that what corporate says, goes. No room for initiative, or autonomy. Competitive (stressful) environment against other offices.
Best part of the job was being able to help the patients.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with negative leadership, micromanagement.
Pros
Salary is decent. Co-workers were really nice.
Cons
Supervisor needs leadership training, creates hostile working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no consistancy
Business office manager (Former Employee) –  Salem, NJJuly 6, 2017
lack of leadership, no training for jobs handed down when employees leave, lack of communication, changes being made and then not notifying employees in a resonable time frame to be successful
Pros
healthcoverage
Cons
caps on job description pay no
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My home office is great. Corporate, however, is like most places. We are just another name on a list.
Clinical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Danville, KYJune 23, 2017
I absolutely loved my home office. No complaints. Everyone worked as a team and helped each other when someone needed it. I have never had a better working environment. However, the corporate office treated us poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
CNA/HHA (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJune 22, 2017
nothing to say about the company. they had a lot of new people in and out of the office. not consistent with what they say. unorganized. i will never refer them to anyone or go back to work for them ever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The safe , patients , and environment was very well put together .
Companion/Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTJune 22, 2017
This facility help me with alot got me two jobs to three jobs . It was very friendly and welcoming the people were hard-working and genuine about their patients . They gave me the necessary training i needed to succeed .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to help others
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Sparta, TNJune 19, 2017
Most of my work days was enjoyable. How to really appreciate
The management was not what it should have been. The hardest was dealing with my Supervisor. Helping those that needed help.
Pros
Pdo, Insurance an Milage.
Cons
Superviosor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not ethical, just want the job done...don't care about your working conditions
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 17, 2017
I would not recommend this to anyone who has self respect. I love the people I work with (elderly) but the company has no morals.
I have great compassion for the clients, that's why I am here...
Pros
somewhat flexible hours
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Home Health Aid (Current Employee) –  Chillicothe, OHJune 6, 2017
Good place to be employed.
Good manament
good clients
good hours
benefits are good im sure for employees that are full time which i am not
i would still recommend the company to other people interested in health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Culture
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 1, 2017
Almost Family truly cares about their patients and their employees. They are always looking for ways to improve and lean on their employees for feedback. Great culture!
Pros
Lots of employee events - Louisville Bats' Games, Kentucky Kingdom, Ice Cream Social, Food trucks, etc.
Cons
Benefits for families could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence
Registered Nurse; Home Health (Current Employee) –  Emporia, VAJune 1, 2017
Professional supportive management, Excellence in Home Health Care, laid back work environment. Provide all and any in-services needed, respects and values the experience you have
Pros
professional, excellence in health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 cent raise For many years of quality service.No mileage. No benefits.
PCA Personal Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Middletown, NYMay 29, 2017
They keep you just under 40 hours, give excuses that there aren't hours to fill yet,always hiring.
Mileage was taken away when company changed hands.
$10.50 an hour is not livable.
Pros
Clients
Cons
No benefits, no mileage, no raise, no hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working for the patient
Sitter/Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Smithville, TNMay 27, 2017
Enjoy working with patients,cooking,cleaning anything they needed I would do for them,bathing, I would work on my own time, i assisted what ever a patient needed.
Pros
Getting to know the patients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK company, needs better communication
Patient Care Liaison (Former Employee) –  IndianaMay 25, 2017
The majority of my time at Almost Family was positive. The local office was excellent and performed at or above anyone's expectations, the issues arise when the state directors try to micro manage too many things at a time and then attempt to correct situations with "cookie cutter" fixes. There also seems to be a bit of a "my friend would do a better job" mentality as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi duties family oriented company
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Marinette, WIMay 24, 2017
Office coordinator for a home health agency.
Able to set own pace,
Able to set up own tickler system
Oriented staff
Preform in-services
back up scheduler
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
not enough hours in the day at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Almost Family. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 513 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

69%
150 ratings
Add your rating