Almost Family Employee Reviews

Found 502 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to help others
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Sparta, TNJune 19, 2017
Most of my work days was enjoyable. How to really appreciate
The management was not what it should have been. The hardest was dealing with my Supervisor. Helping those that needed help.
Pros
Pdo, Insurance an Milage.
Cons
Superviosor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not ethical, just want the job done...don't care about your working conditions
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 17, 2017
I would not recommend this to anyone who has self respect. I love the people I work with (elderly) but the company has no morals.
I have great compassion for the clients, that's why I am here...
Pros
somewhat flexible hours
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication between office & nurses in field
LPN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Madison, TNJune 8, 2017
Has picks , office will not stand up for nursing staff . Patient is always right , NO Matter how many other companies have refused treatment for them or terminated their care. Beware! If a patient complaint comes in , no matter how many nurses family has refused, than a complaint and verbally warning ⚠️ write up goes into your nursing file.
Great place to work if you're wanting your nursing license suspended in order to keep unruly families happy so that company can collect TN care Medicare
Pros
Zero
Cons
Zero
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Home Health Aid (Current Employee) –  Chillicothe, OHJune 6, 2017
Good place to be employed.
Good manament
good clients
good hours
benefits are good im sure for employees that are full time which i am not
i would still recommend the company to other people interested in health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Culture
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 1, 2017
Almost Family truly cares about their patients and their employees. They are always looking for ways to improve and lean on their employees for feedback. Great culture!
Pros
Lots of employee events - Louisville Bats' Games, Kentucky Kingdom, Ice Cream Social, Food trucks, etc.
Cons
Benefits for families could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence
Registered Nurse; Home Health (Current Employee) –  Emporia, VAJune 1, 2017
Professional supportive management, Excellence in Home Health Care, laid back work environment. Provide all and any in-services needed, respects and values the experience you have
Pros
professional, excellence in health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 cent raise For many years of quality service.No mileage. No benefits.
PCA Personal Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Middletown, NYMay 29, 2017
They keep you just under 40 hours, give excuses that there aren't hours to fill yet,always hiring.
Mileage was taken away when company changed hands.
$10.50 an hour is not livable.
Pros
Clients
Cons
No benefits, no mileage, no raise, no hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working for the patient
Sitter/Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Smithville, TNMay 27, 2017
Enjoy working with patients,cooking,cleaning anything they needed I would do for them,bathing, I would work on my own time, i assisted what ever a patient needed.
Pros
Getting to know the patients
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK company, needs better communication
Patient Care Liaison (Former Employee) –  IndianaMay 25, 2017
The majority of my time at Almost Family was positive. The local office was excellent and performed at or above anyone's expectations, the issues arise when the state directors try to micro manage too many things at a time and then attempt to correct situations with "cookie cutter" fixes. There also seems to be a bit of a "my friend would do a better job" mentality as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi duties family oriented company
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Marinette, WIMay 24, 2017
Office coordinator for a home health agency.
Able to set own pace,
Able to set up own tickler system
Oriented staff
Preform in-services
back up scheduler
Pros
Great co workers
Cons
not enough hours in the day at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor changed 3 times within 3 months
Nursing Home LPN (Former Employee) –  Smithville, TN 37166May 24, 2017
Was not taught things on computer like I thought I should have been taught. There was only 1 nurse that would teach me anything, and she only worked with me 1 night a week. Had to pass med on 2 halls nightly, which made it difficult to get the patients their meds on time.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Could not get patients' meds in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loveed working for this company
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMay 22, 2017
The typical at a clients hous e is to put up after there in there home, clean the bathroom , kitchen and bed room of were they are all the time in there home, sometimes on that day also would take them shopping or to a dr apt, or just talk and keep them company, There was no hard part about my job i loved working at this company
Pros
i like meeting new ppl
Cons
pay was not good
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not work there
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNMay 17, 2017
I have not worked for this company and can not give a proper review the company I worked for during this time was not almost family.. I don't know what else to say about this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work for!
Business Development Representative (Current Employee) –  Weatherford, TXMay 14, 2017
Almost Family bought CHS Home Health Division & nothing good came from the "joint venture".
Unqualified leadership, hostile work environment. They don't care about the patient; they only care about Medicare/PPS payers. They refuse patients that have commercial insurance saying they can't staff it but that isn't the truth. It doesn't help their bottom line so they decline them. There is no compassion for family or patient.
Don't work for any Almost Family/CHS agency in Texas. No matter what they tell you it isn't the truth.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learned a lot
Home Health Aide (HHA) (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NYMay 13, 2017
they taught me the most i know about home health care, they are very detailed when it comes to training's. in services were very detailed and helpful
Pros
mileage
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change in Owners
Co-Pilot (Home Health Aid) (Former Employee) –  Middletown, NYMay 11, 2017
I have never worked for this company. They purchased the company I worked for and changed everything. I worked for Willcare, which was a home health provider.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, works around your schedule
STNA (Current Employee) –  Beachwood, OHMay 8, 2017
Great work place. This company works around whatever schedule you have. Very understanding, company gives you a full time schedule if requested part time if requested as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to Almost Family
Sales Leader (Former Employee) –  Southern DistrictMay 7, 2017
Operation down organization with no concern for employees or patients other than medicare. inflated star ratings by altering results. Would not recommend to anyone with morals
Pros
pay
Cons
too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in home care youre usually busy which is a good thing
Home Health Aide (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTMay 5, 2017
always hands on preparing meals for the patient keeping their apartment clean making sure they always feel comfortable talk to them keep them interested
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very considerate people/value life of others
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Eau Claire, WI 54703April 28, 2017
Staff create a friendly/cohesive enviroment and are easy to work with and helpful
work was reviewed and concerns brought to me in professional matter
Humana has a good plan to help people in their home through Care Managers. It is a strong need for those coming out of a care facility to set goals and find direction for those goals
learned how to take care of a variety of clients and the illnesses that accompanied them
Pros
helpful staff
Cons
loosing a client to death
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Almost Family. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 503 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2