Find companies:
Alro Steel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Alro Steel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is very good to its employess
Industrial steel Saw, (Former Employee), Clare, MIJuly 30, 2014
Pros: paid steel toe boots and college courses, good management all the way to corporate
Work in your department, doing your assigned jobs. Management will walk up to see what your day consists of and thats the only time you seem them, so in other words they do not breath down your throat as long as you do not give them a reason. The benefits and pay are fair, there is usually overtime and that is only if you want it, with that being said – more... weekends off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and Organized Facility and Equipment
Band Saw Operator (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 26, 2014
Pros: room for advancement
Cons: worked at night so never got any sleep.
nice people and excellent opportunities. the Expectations were high but that was only to see that the employees succeeded and did well at what they were doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for a better place to work.
manual miller (Current Employee), Aurora, ILJuly 14, 2014
Alro isnt a bad place to work but my commute is more then 90 miles round trip a day plus I see no room for advancement as millers are not allowed to bid on other jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace company
Laborer (Former Employee), Beech Grove, INJune 24, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, people
Cons: hours
the people and the management were the best part of this job! I learned to use every piece of equipment. Hardest part of the job was never knowing what time I was I was going to get off!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advacment
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Niles, MIMay 11, 2014
Pros: paid by the job
Cons: no breaks
Simple job Haul steel to customers fighting traffic and meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Warehousemen (Current Employee), Detroit, MIMarch 28, 2014
A good hard working competitive environment. Reat benefits and great work if your looking in that field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient workplace with decent care for employees.
Material Handler (Former Employee), University Park, ILMarch 14, 2014
Pros: free lunch one day of the week, decent pay, and great benefits.
Cons: too strict on new employees, not too many great supervisors at immediate level
A typical day was to get ready and put on safety gear, get to your post and see what is needed to be done, organize, prioritize, and get started. I learned a lot about metal (different types and grades), how to use heavy machinery, and to package. The higher management employees were really good people and good at what they do. The immediate supervisors – more... however are where the problem comes in. Some are better than the others, but the one I had was not so great. He did not like to do any work at all, and would not help in situations of need. He did not like my brothers (One was a competing supervisor for a position he wanted, and the other works under him). Therefore, he did not treat me well, even though most of the other coworkers did not like him either, due to poor treatment and lack of work ethic. The poor treatment, I believe, took part in why I was let go during my probation. No other management is ever on the floor to supervise the supervisors. They also will believe the supervisor over regular employees. Other than that, most of the coworkers were nice, I got along with them, and were all hard workers. The hardest part of the job was trying to balance the speed they wanted, with the safety, and perfection required in such a short time and lack of training. The most enjoyable parts were working with the other employees, using the heavy machinery, and the physical aspect of the job. I liked the overall job, but I was wrongfully let go. I am a hard worker and don't believe my performance was an issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 10, 2014
My boss here was a friend and he always was in a good mood which made the work despite the fact that it was the hottest summer on record.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace working environment
Material Handler/Sub Foreman (Current Employee), University Park, ILFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: buys us lunch once a week
Cons: management talks to you like you dont know whats going on
a typical day at work insists of starting at 10pm and working until 630am. I do my preshift inspections of the equipment assigned to me. Then I get right into loading and unloading semi trailers with steel. I learned how to take on my foreman duties for when he is sick and am always asking him what is new and what I should need to know so I don't get – more... stuck when he is not there. Co-workers are great we work well as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work here
Warehouse/Saw Operator/Truck Loading (Current Employee), Detroit, MIFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: decent pay, good benefits
Cons: everything else
Alro is the worst managed place I have ever worked for. Work ethic means nothing to these people. 80% of the employees are lazy and just skate by and are allowed to do so because of the so called "Union". And don't expect to move up in this company unless your daddy is the boss or your in real close with the higher ups. This place is such a joke
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GARBAGE
machine operator (Former Employee), bolingbrook ilOctober 21, 2013
Cons: everything
You want a decent place to work? Well look a little further then alro steel, Bolingbrook branch is among the worst managed facility quite possibly on the face of this planet. They think they can train new people there with people that have been there 6mo haha, they will expect you to be absolutely perfect in everything you do or else you WILL get a – more... q.i.r. and have to explain yourself to an idiot goofball in the office. The leader of the pack over there will fire you for his own personal reasons, I seen it happen twice. You will be treated like a roach there believe me, they have absolutely know idea whats going on over there. Heres what I say, SCREW BLUE!!!! GOOOO UNION!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dim place
WAREHOUSE (TEMP) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 24, 2013
Cons: everything about that place as a warehouse worker was completely horrible
There was zero communication from the supervisor to the warehouse employees. How things would work there is that the worker would go to the office and go through the printer and gather the orders for their jobs whether it be shearing, cutting, picking, shipping, or loading. The supervisor would also take over 2 hour lunch breaks. It wasn't a safe working – more... environment and had my foot crushed by a bundle of 40ft steel tubes, then was blamed for the accident when I wasn't controlling the crane, just guiding it, while the other person was the person who sat the bundle down on the ground for no reason at all. He was hired a full-time position after while I was let go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deplorable
maintenance supervisor (Former Employee), Detroit MichiganAugust 6, 2013
This is one of the most unprofessional environments I've ever worked in my life. be careful of the mission statement it says it all! "Alro and it's people" if your not one of managements favorites you won't advance based on merit! Detroit is one of three locations under a district manager that doesn't backup his Foreman and superintendents! I was an – more... employee for over ten years and was"phased out" due to stirring the pot by calling human resources on a supervisor for making inappropriate threats. Do not work here! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation, Poor managment
Order Puller (Former Employee), Potterville, MIJuly 9, 2013
Stressful, fast paced, unforgiving with deadlines, 110 degrees in the summer and 40 degrees in the winter(inside), employees were out numbered by management 3 to 1(Everyone was everyone else's boss. Very confusing). Co-workers worked as a team to get the job done, even though the job was hard we all got along very well. Best part of the job was finishing – more... for the day and knowing that we all worked our hardest to get there. Extremely gratifying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company core values, success culture is very important to Alro
Inside Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJune 23, 2013
I was not as admin and clerical minded as I had hoped to thrive as an inside sales rep. unfortunately, there were no outside sales reps either available or soon opening. I wanted to better myself and grow more as a manager of a territory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Plate Processor/CAD Operator (Current Employee), Beech Grove, INMay 22, 2013
Alro steel is a great place to work at with a friendly atmosphere. When you come into work, you have orders to be processed for customers and other branches. Everyone who works here is willing to help everyone else out to exceed the customers expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job, but not the career for me
Warehouseman (Process Team Leader) (Current Employee), Detroit, MIApril 22, 2013
Pros: the benefits are very good; vacation, medical, dental, optical, 401k, paid holidays, and a regular work schedule.
Cons: cross-training is weak there, it's a union job so everyone (the lazy and the diligent workers) is rewarded the same, not much room for growth unless you're willing to stick it out for many years or relocate
I have never done warehouse work before, but I've learned that I'm not really cut out for it.

Overall, management is good, and the coworkers are usually helpful in the team environment.

It's a good place to learn warehouse work, and there's no threat of job loss if you show up and do your job. The pay is good for a job that doesn't require any higher – more... education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work here
Anything warehouse (Former Employee), St. Louis MoApril 5, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: dangerous environment, childish behavior by co workers as well as managment
Typical day consist of working for a supervisor that was once found guilty of manslaughter and has no clue as to what he is doing. Favoritism by management. If you do no fit in they will force you out. No professionalism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 6, 2013
Pros: insurance
Cons: no chance for advancement, you have to "fit in" or conform to have any chance to advance
great core values, but you have to be someone to get anywhere in company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Welder (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 8, 2013
Great benefits. Reasonable hours. Steady work all year long.

About Alro Steel

Alro Steel runs its service centers like a grocery store for metals, keeping what customers need in easy reach. The service center – Read more