Alro Steel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILJanuary 6, 2018
Bolingbrook manages to somehow mess up what the other 60+ Alro branches got right.
They make you work up to 16 hours a day, weekend after weekend in a row. The place is chronically understaffed to the point where people quit over not getting help which perpetuates a cycle on massive turnover.
Pros
All the overtime you can want
Cons
Forced overtime, forced in on weekends, low raises, bad culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I Still Worked at Alro
PROFESSIONAL CLEANER (Former Employee) –  Tonawanda, NYDecember 14, 2017
I would still be employed there if a new company did not submit a lower bid and obtained the contract. It was a wonderful place to work and I truly miss being there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistently mismanaged
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, IL 60440December 5, 2017
Very little of the management staff actually has a grasp of the task at hand. Even fewer having the willingness to learn. Departments are consistently mismanaged and micromanaged. Company preaches a safety culture, yet constantly encourages corner cutting in order to increase productivity. Overtime is often mandated at the last minute(usual a half hour to 45 minutes prior to the end of the shift) without regards to employees' outside situations and obligations. They do offer a generous amount of paid time off, but will never approve it due to being consistently short staffed. Management is often very unprofessional, going so far as to cuss at employees, this includes the general plant manager. Management is also grossly negligent to the goings on of each department, as well as the general well being of the staff. The company has a ridiculously high employee turnover rate.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work if your single and don’t have a life
Material handler/saw operator (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, MIDecember 2, 2017
I worked at the Charlotte mi. Branch for 2 years it was okay good benefits steady work load for the most part my biggest problem with the place is you didn’t get anywhere in the place if you weren’t friends with the bosses definetly got the good ole boys club going and if you weren’t part of it better get used to where your at because it won’t change for a long time they say they are a seniority based but that’s a complete crock in my experience I was in the same department for the vast majority of the 2 years I was there and I watched people with less seniority and experience get moved into to better positions and shifts. So to wrap this up alro is and okay place to work when it comes to benefits and pay but only if you don’t mind being stuck in the same spot for most of your career
Pros
Benefits and pay coworkers
Cons
Little to no advancement no communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly politucal and drama filled atmosphere.
Tube Laser Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Clare, MINovember 12, 2017
It's a mostly political environment, you are evaluated more so on your political views than your work ethic and skill level. Yearly raises are capped and not even the base line cost of living raise one should expect. There's very little actual training, it's mostly rumors and clues.
Pros
Health insurance, 401k
Cons
Unsafe work environment, you get the feeling like they are out to get you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIOctober 27, 2017
Company wants you to put them first over your family. Pay could be better. Management has no consideration for their employees. The Milwaukee branch has a very high turn over rate. They treat their employees like slaves therefore employees tend to quit.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
No consideration for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 20, 2017
Alro steel isnt a job for everyone, its hard work but if you like a challenge go for it. It has really great benefits and 401k. Also payed time off and vacations. Alro has a great team and theres travel opportunity to different facilities.
Pros
Great pay, great benefits, and great team
Cons
No cons...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, great benefits, misleading expectations.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis County, MOOctober 17, 2017
Too often do exceptional workers get taken advantage of and lackadaisical, mistake-making prone employees are seen rising into advancement. Both demoralizing and stressful, I personally ended up bottle-necked into a position/shift where I am unable to climb out from regardless of seniority and job skills because management is fearful of the job not getting done if I am not there. Unfair work environment with some level of favoritism that has nothing to due with work ethic, rather just sucking up which seems to promote even more demoralization in the warehouse.
Pros
The benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waiting On The Reihire
Material Handler / Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILSeptember 30, 2017
I have not much to say about alro . Itis a great great great job and not just a job but a life .. Didnt know that until I left and I was too late >> hope it help somebody else >> great environment adn the workload is capable of being done by any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, decent pay
Truck Loader/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MISeptember 19, 2017
I worked third shift, but often worked 12 hours or more. I lost a lot of weight, it is not easy work. Most employees do not get along with each other, but if you keep your nose to yourself you'll be ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a happy place
Plate Laser Operator (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 30, 2017
bad management and poor company culture leads to an overall lack of morale which leads too a more difficult job for everyone. This is a good company but management is stuck in the dark ages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but stressful
Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INAugust 16, 2017
Alro is truly a great high performing company and in turn is stressful to work for. Career advancement is based on the more people you know at a higher level the more opportunities you will have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits good but unless you played Michigan football, promotion opportunities are slim
Sales (Former Employee) –  MichiganJune 8, 2017
The benefits are actually quite good and upper management provides the inventory to offer good customer service. Must be on time or 15 minutes early. One bad point is that your manager will oftentimes have less experience and skill than you but will have advanced to his position because he has either played football at Michigan or has caddied for the owner.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Good ol' boys
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63147May 11, 2017
Awesome place to work and a great company overall. Management is top notch as well as supervisors. One of my favorite places I've ever worked. Highly recommended.
Pros
free lunches and supervisors are top notch
Cons
high stress in inside sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Culture Strong Company
Inside Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 10, 2017
Built very well with solid foundation. Job security is excellent but no real room for advancement, and I performed well, above and beyond. Compensation could be better for the multitasking that needs to be done on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but very negative enviroment
Saw Operator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 28, 2017
Management sucks and it's a union shop but the union contract gives management more power then they should have. They don't appreciate their employee and they feel they should put work before anything in your life. the typical work day is very busy and mandatory overtime between 2-4 hours a day. They expect you to do a 2 or 3 person job by yourself. Benefits are excellent that's the only plus.
Pros
healthcare
Cons
management, work enviroment, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work for
Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis, MOMarch 6, 2017
it s only suits you if you have criminal record they hire car theifs one of them have a record of stealing 19 cars and drug dealers with criminal records and under probation
Cons
unproductive unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, Terrible co-workers
Plasma Table Operator (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 7, 2017
The co-workers are absolutely the worst, they don't care that they screw over the next guy as long as they can do as little work as possible. Other than that, the job itself is pretty simple and straightforward also enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice steady paced job with much room for advancement.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 17, 2017
A typical day of work was prepping up the saw in order to cut metal to the correct specifications. I learned thing suck as different types of saw blades to different types of metals. The co-workers and the managers we all friendly and great to work with. The hardest part of the job had to been the physical aspect from picking up heavy metals weighing up to 100 pounds.
Pros
Great room to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New machines
Material Handler/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILJanuary 7, 2017
They want you to do too much. It is unsafe as every week we shamed a individual for wrongdoing by watch the security footage. They have new equipment that was a plus
Pros
Rapid raises
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alro Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 92 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0